We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roma

Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bishopton
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We ate here in July as a family and I also returned with just my wife - this restaurant is excellent
and cannot be rated highly enough. Very friendly and the food is very fresh and great portions. The pasta is fresh and the Gipsy steak in particular is excellent. Try it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CallmeStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    163
    47
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Try hard to please.......”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very popular grill restaurant upstairs at the Safari Centre. Usual grilled meats like kebabs, pork etc, all well cooked and to your preference. Be aware that there is a high emphasis on presentation of the dish, so you may have to order side dishes if you are hungry. We had to wait for a table but as soon as the previous diners had left the table was cleared and re-laid in a jiffy. Staff very attentive without being in-your-face. Not particularly expensive, nor cheap, probably about right. Two pints of beer, two glasses of wine, 3 Cokes, garlic bread for starters, 4 main courses for around €80. Nothing to complain about. Tried to go back but fully booked.

Helpful?
Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Ticks the important boxes”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Italian restaurant upstairs in the Safari Centre, designed to be reminiscent of Rome and the Emperors, but not really succeeding in that respect. However that really doesn't tater. What's important is the menu, the food quality, the service, the price and location.
In terms of location, the Domus rubs shoulders with many other Trip Advisor top ranking restaurants such as Thai Botanico and Hacienda Miranda. The menu is extensive and contains all the usual suspects such as pizza, pastas, grilled meats, chicken, fish etc. What is a little different is that the plated presentation is really nice without being haute cuisine fancy. Food quality is, in my opinion, very good and, had it not been for the fact that there are so many places to try, I would ave gone back. Comfy outside seating area and nice inside area too. Prices on a par with other restaurants in the area, 2 pints, 2 glasses of wine, 2 large cokes, garlic bread for starters, 4 mains, came to just over €80. In general whilst drinking in Playa can be really cheap, eating out tends not to be.
Finally, we found the staff to be welcoming (in fact perhaps a bit pushy to get you in there) and friendly, and the service was prompt and efficient. On the way out the staff made you feel that they had valued your custom, something other restaurants fail to do.

Helpful?
Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hasn't got better”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having been to this restaurant a few times and last time not being overly impressed we decided to give it another go. It has moved position in Safari and we thought this was going to be a good sign, unfortunately it wasn’t. Service was still ok but could be better (that’s a shame as they have one female waitress that is so good but the others don’t match up).
The food was just average if that, not over warm, meat was tough and not much flavour to the sauce.
The thing that annoyed me the most is they give you bread rolls as you sit down and then give you to the menus where you read that they are extra and if you don’t want them to tell the waiter – too late if you have handled them – we did want ours but it’s the way they sell them that I don’t like! I think we have learnt our lesson and won’t be returning – there are far better Steak Restaurants that are better value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkerb349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Poor food, chaotic service. As with the majority of restuartnts in the Safari Center they offer loads but fail to deliver. If you want proper steaks pay a few more euro and eat at La Marina.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing