We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Tai-Pan

Imperial Tai-Pan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $41
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Chinese, Sushi & Japanese
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food was brilliant as was the service. Decent price aswell and in a good location. Nicest meal we had all week. Menu is set out good with a choice of rice sauce and main ingredient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    316
    79
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Used to be a favourite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We didnt have a reservation and there was a big deal made out of this. We were rushed to a table and were barely given enough time to digest each course before the next one came out. While we were there, we noticed 7 empty tables which were still empty when we left . From the time we sat down we were under pressure to order and then eat as fast as we could. From when we ordered to when we left was 35 mins! This is unacceptable. We have been to this restaurant many times and the standards have slipped dramatically. They will not be seeing us again unless Thai Botanico and Bianco close down!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky086Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentureRestaura... T, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Tai-Pan, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. We always aim to offer great service and never wish to make any of our customers feel rushed at any time. We do always recommend reserving a table as being quite a popular restaurant we do fill up very quickly most nights. We always honor the reservations we receive either via our website or by phone. If there are sometimes empty tables it is because they are already reserved for later on in the night, and therefore can´t seat you at these tables as we don´t want you to have to rush your meal. Once again we offer our apologies for your disappointing evening and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. Kind Regards Imperial Tai-Pan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We visit Las Americas every year and will always eat here at least once, this time we were very disappointed as the experience was not good at all, first off if you don't have a reservation they make a big deal of squeezing you in when you can see numerous empty tables and non of the other restaurants in Safari require bookings, secondly we found the staff this time were very aloof and we felt like an inconvieniece to them and lastly while the food was of high quality it didn't have much flavour. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomer087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tepenyaki at its best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We opted for Tepenyaki set menu, and had our own chef and a very amusing waiter to attend to our every requirement. The food, wine and service were all exceptional. We were the last to leave, 30 mins after closing, and at no point did any of the staff try to hurry us.

The chef put on a real show and it was enjoyed by our whole group.

When we return to the island we'll be paying Imperial Tai-pan another visit - sushi next time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoneme007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our 4th visit and still as good as the first time. Once again we went for the set Imperial Banquet menu which although it’s a course less than it was last time it’s still excellent value and plenty of food. Next time we must try something else!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkerb349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Tai-Pan also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Imperial Tai-Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing