We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic restaurant with superb food and service!”

Restaurante La Martina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Martina is an authentic Argentine grill where you can enjoy the best meats imported directly from Argentina, roast, steak wide, involved, ... prepared the traditional style, using natural coals and firewood.It features a wine glass with wines from the best names Argentine wineries and national origin, ideal for pairing with grilled meat.The gastronomic quality along with the friendly staff, makes La Martina a nice and cosy restaurant. A place where you can enjoy in the Cocktail Bar, live music every day and a show full of colorful and authentic Argentine folklore and Tango, weekends, from 21:00.***
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a fantastic restaurant with superb food and service!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Mediterranean Palace across the road from the complex where La Martina is situated. My husband is an avid steak fan, we have visited Gaucho and Maze Grill. This restaurant is a gem and certainly comparable.
The Maitre D is a suave George Clooney type who is happy to discuss the types of beef available and talks about the meat as if it were his child!
The excellent somellier - Thomas - was very knowledgeable and we were delighted with his choices on the two visits we made. He is a credit to the restaurant.
I cannot fault this restaurant. If you are going to Tenerife on holiday and like steak, please visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotte32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    227
    97
    81
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came upon this place by accident and were happy we did! Our meal (we had the mixed grill for 2) was perfectly cooked and more than we could have possibly eaten. Service was wonderful and Thoma made sure that our wine glasses stayed full with the best wine we had during our entire trip to Spain. We had only planned to stop in for a quick and casual meal, but stayed all evening, enjoying the wine and the beautiful weather in the open-air seating area. If we hadn't found this place at the end of our trip, we would have gone back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Value and Entertainment”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited several restaurants in Las Playas, Tenerife; we selected La Martina on the basis that it had a Tango show. As you might imagine being an Argentinian restaurant the menu has plenty of meat dishes and is what they call a charcoal grill. A display case lets you choose from the selected cuts of meat, which I assumed were either Spanish and/or of Argentine origin which is then cooked on a large barbecue, visible to all. My partner and I selected salads as starters which were quite a plateful. For the main course my partner ordered a skewered Kebab while I chose a T-Bone steak. When my steak turned up I was dumbstruck. It was enormous. At least an inch thick and not far short of 12 inches long and 6 inches wide. Needless to say eating it was a struggle. I noted on a table nearby a diner who also chose a T-Bone steak. He ended up giving most of it away to his dining companions. We ended the evening with desserts while watching the Tango show. I found the staff helpful, congenial and quick with the orders. I liked the interior of the restaurant and the atmosphere. The only slow part was when I asked for the bill. It took ages to arrive. The total for the evening was Euros 81, but as my partner commented we felt we had had a proper evening out and were not just there for the meal. While I'd recommend it be aware such large plates of meat take some eating. Go there starving so you can get through your main dish if it is meat you order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“IT is ok but don't go if you are hungry”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Got pulled into the restaurant never again, we got our drinks ordered our food my boyfriend ordered a mixed kebab and only got 4 bits of meat for 20 euros and i got a chewy and undercooked pork escalope. basically if you are not too hungry go for it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenMcflyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality food and nice staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

During our 12 days holiday, this restaurant was far out the best we discovered You could see the fresh meat in the counter and they also have an open kitchen, so you see what you get!And this for a reasonable price. They also have a real wine waiter with is happy to provide you with a lot of suggestions. You surely need to try their specialty 'la Miranda', which is nice plate of different kinds of meat. The enthousiastic staff is an extra plus for this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Martina also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante La Martina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing