We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meson Castellano the Best in Tenerife”
Review of Meson Castellano

Meson Castellano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
“Meson Castellano the Best in Tenerife”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent food,very very good serving and kind personal,the owner is present,this means a very good quality of food and care for a great meal.Recomend for everybody to try :) Try also the desserts which are uncomparable the whole island :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    319
    111
    70
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food&wine”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found the place following the trip advisor tip. It is 15 minutes walking from the beach. There is no menu, but I asked for mussels and octopus + white wine at waiter's choice. Everything was super fresh and great match. Those 2 dishes, bottle of wine, 2 creama catalana, 2 coffee cost 60 euros. I would advise this restaurant to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anabelswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here 3 times in the last 12 days, the food quality is excellent, our friends who have travelled extensively on business said the meal was one of the best in the world. The decor is typically Spanish, there is an outside covered patio with smoking area which is popular although we chose inside tables as we enjoy the decor with the stuffed animals on the wall and hams hanging from the ceiling. The service is excellent, most of the waiters speak a limited amount of english. Most of the diners are Spanish so this is not a tourist restaurant. There is no menu, you are asked to choose from tapas, meat or fish. They then tell you what they have that day. There is a cover charge 97 cents per person which gives you big chunks freshly baked bread and a large packet of crackers. We have enjoyed every dish we have had. For starters today we had garlic mushrooms and goats cheese. There was so much cheese (9 euros) we took it home for lunch next day. Fillet steak cooked to perfection was 19 euros, turbot fish with canarian potaoes and mojo sauces was 17 euros, and roast lamb with onions and saute potatoes 17 euros. The portions are huge and so three of us struggled to finish one portion of home made Tiramasui. The House wine at 12 euros was enjoyable. With water and coffee, the meal worked out at 32 euros per head. Booking although not essential, is recommended as it was full on all 3 nights we were there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creme de la creme”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just back from a week of some fantastic meals in Tenerife, this was by far my favourite. No prices but I knew that after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, and I am so glad I did. Three courses, wine and beer and bottled water, extremely good value. Will definitely make this a regular restaurant to visit, couldn't fault it, great food and good service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee-Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Easily The best restaurant in las Americas /Los Cristianos”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for the last 6 years as we visit Tenerife every year and we have yet to have a disappointing meal. The staff are attentive and the food varied and is absolute class.

Although no menu and price list please trust the waiters. The prices are extremely competive with a wide and reasonable wine list.The Serrano ham is exceptional, also the stews.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Castellano also viewed

 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Meson Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing