We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Meson Castellano

Meson Castellano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Been here a couple of times, service efficient and swift, drink and bread in the blink of an eye. There is no menu but than that's half the fun. I love the Serrano ham, paella, meat, fish, proper Spanish restaurant. Will def revisit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escapingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    337
    114
    71
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super place for a 'Special Occasion'”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Decor and ambience is wonderful. Lots of waiters and fast service. Food was very good. Sea bass was excellent. Lamb was also good. House wine is good quality and great value for money. Just slightly more expensive to eat here but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this Traditional Spanish Restaurant”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

An interesting restaurant, with a few nice surprising. Service was good, but we were surprised when we had to ask for a menu. The outcome is they do not have menus, you choose from the counter of fresh meat or fish.

We started with some tapas and then had fresh local fish and hake. They were accompanied with a large salad and Canarian potatoes and a number of pesto type sauces.

This was a great restaurant, very busy and full of Spanish people. The cost of the meal was good value for money and we would definitely be going back next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big disapointment”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went to the restaurant after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor. It was nothing like the reviews. The only thing resembling Tapas in the served set tapas menu was the jamon. The rest felt like it came from a can. After receiving the last "tapas" we received no attention so when we after 30 minutes finally got some attention we decided to have the bill(instead of a potential dessert/avec). Paying 68 euros for two people (including one bottle of wine) and leaving feeling queasy and not full at all was not how we pictured the evening.

Bad food, bad service. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrik_STO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish food in the heart of Las Americas”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went here on the advice of a waiter at our hotel, as we were bed & breakfast.
He didn't mention that there was no menu but the waiter asked what types of meat we didn't enjoy and which we particularly liked and tapered the food to come as such.
We ordered the tapas, which was about 6 courses of varying traditional dishes but we were so full after course 5, that we stopped. We didn't ask the price but it was very reasonable.
The wine list was spectacular! That particular night I wasn't feeling really in the mood (due to a little too much the previous night) but as a lover of red wine, under normal circumstances, we would've chosen one of the many reservas and pushed the boat out.
Mainly Spanish patrons in this restaurant, so you know it's good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J3KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Castellano also viewed

 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Los Cristianos, Arona
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Meson Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing