We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for a cheap getaway”
Review of Marola Portosin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marola Portosin
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find for a cheap getaway”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just home from a 7 night stay at marola portosin. Had a one bedroom apartment-rooms basic but clean and huge balcony which overlooked pool. Location is perfect, just a 5 minute walk to some lovely restaurants (upstairs in safari centre) and also the new Hard Rock Cafe. The best part being the staff, reception staff couldn't do enough to help you from the moment we checked in, also the guy at the pool bar was pleasant and provided a good atmosphere around the pool area (wish I remembered names). Overall, I would definately go back especially for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolamcsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
thank you for uor review we hope to see you again at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    199
    38
    3
    9
See reviews for
176
314
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Marola is lovely, clean , great pool etc. Staff very friendly and cleaners daily with fresh towels etc. Apartments are spacious and easily fit 6 with 2 seperate bedrooms.
Negativrsis definately the road noise. You would need the window open to cool the rooms but being right beside the dumpster pickup point was awake at 5.30-6.30 every single morning. We would consider not staying again just for this reason but otherwise a great place to.stay and we were very happy.
The location is a little remote if you wanted to be in the centre of things but it only takes 15 mins to get to the shops etc.. there is also nice eateries dctly beside marola.
Suggestions for management is to invest in better sound proofing windows and also a laundry self service facility would be ideal

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberrys28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank for sharing your kind reviews with us . We have take note of your comments which are very valuable to us in trying to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Yes wonderful place to stay. I always check the revues on Trip Advisor to make sure the place is clean and if there are any negatives which I take conservatively because I know some people can be very negative even though there are a lot of positives for a place.
It is a basic apartment but has a fridge, toaster, kettle and hob for cooking. A hair dryer in the bathroom and a TV which only has BBC world news but some English speaking film channels with Arabic sub tittles which isn't to bad to be honest. No air conditioning in the rooms. Nice little poolside bar which is quite cheap serving food. It' s got a café feel to it. The staff through out are all faultless which was nice to see. I hope my tips below help.

Room Tip: Because the way the apartment bloke is situated with another apartment block opposite the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaun747england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank You for your kind review we have taken note of them. Hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

just back from our second visit to marola portosin and must say it was wonderful again,
staff all very friendly, Andrea at the bar very helpful with advice on good shops and bars, she went out of her way to help us. she was very polite and funny,
hotel very clean just like first trip
wifi free in recepción área
pool área quite big and clean
pool bar makes the place special, wonderful couple Andrea and tom
manager seemed grumpy to recepción staff
all in all a great Little hotel, hope it doesnt change for our planed 3rd visit..

Room Tip: pool view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Just back on holiday from Tenerife,been there 8 times now and by far marola portison was the best,rooms are basic but clean,I personally think that's all that's needed.tom from the bar was fantastic he really made our stay perfect.he gets everyone laughing make the people all happy around.we are definitely going to book again for this place would recommend to anyone.missing it already.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotlandtartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for chosing us for your holidays in Tenerife, we are pleased the hotel was up to your standard. We hoope see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just came back from marola portosin a quick 4 day break and will definitely be returning again!!! On arriving place was very very clean and tidy, staff were great and very helpful. Tommy the bar man is lovely very cheery and helpful. Always smiling and provides a great service. Rooms were great very spacious and clean. Could not fault anything at all. Easily accessible to siam park €6 in taxi. Lovely shops right outside and 5 minutes walk from lots of other shops, 10 minutes walk from beach and strip. If going highly recommend the corner bar 5 minute walk and great nights entertainment. All water sports near to in Porto colon €8 in taxi highly recommend jet skiing safari!! Amazing place to stay overall we stayed in hotel along with another 2 couples pool view in room and pool was great too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnigirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your holidays with us. We hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I currently still have 2 days to go on this trip.
So what everyone said previous to this review is basically spot on. The apartment is fine. You get coffee maker, kettle, microwave, electric hob, toaster and TV. So everything you need really. The only downside to the apartment is the fact they don't do double beds at all according to the guy on reception when I asked why we had 2 single beds. Putting them together solves most of the problems
Just a heads up

The bar has 2 sides. 1 good and 1 bad and it's all down to who is behind the bar. Tom or tommy, whatever he wants to be called that day is a good laugh. Always smiling and joking with the guests.
The woman (not sure of her name) is proper miserable. Happy hour is 4-5 and she refuses point blank to cook food during it.
She constant over charges too. On the menu a purple rain cocktail is €3.50 yet on her first shift I was there she charged €4. The 2nd time I saw her we ordered another purple rain drink thinking maybe she just made a mistake last time, yet this time she charged €4.50 ( I didn't find out about this till half way through drinking it when my girlfriend told me) after that I just stayed away from the bar when she is working. Plenty of places around that charge what's on display and still have a smile on their face. She basically ruined what I classed as a good bar and dropped this review to 4 star.

My only other gripe is the fact the staff on site don't actively enforce their own rules. Your not supposed to have drinks in the pool or by the pool yet I see people doing it constantly. Also your not supposed to be allowed to reserve sun loungers yet everyday by 09:30 every longer has a towel on it and most people are no where to be seen. 1 time when we were by the pool all day I didn't see some people actually show up till after 12:30.

For the money this is a great place to stay though

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marola Portosin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marola Portosin, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reviews, we are so glad the hotel was everything you expected
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,903 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marola Portosin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marola Portosin

Property: Marola Portosin
Address: Avenida Antonio Dominguez 20 | Tenerife, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marola Portosin 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This apartment complex is located just a short stroll from the beach in Playa de las Americas, in the south of the island of Tenerife. Spend the day in Apartamentos Marola-Portosin relaxing by the large outdoor swimming pool.You can sunbathe on one of the sun loungers surrounding the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marola Portosin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marola Portosin Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marola Portosin Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing