We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Marola Portosin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marola Portosin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of July and I don't know If we just had a lucky experience when I look at other reviews but I cannot fault a thing. We had a street view but had no problems saw no bugs and noise wasn't too bad only the cars going past, the view was actually very nice. Rooms are clean and the maids are very friendly, bar staff lovely and so are reception who will go out of their way to help you however they can! Pool area great plenty of loungers and beach is just round the corner, a bit far from veronicas but very cheap for a taxi and means you are away from all the noise. We had a great time at marola and met some lovely people would definately recommend and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidaymakero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Marola Portosin the first week of July and thoroughly enjoyed it. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Wifi free in reception area and can pay to have it in rooms, Our room was spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool as all other rooms have, all kitchen utensils needed, flat screen tv and safe included in room. The cleaners also very friendly offered to clean rooms 6 days of the 7 and did a great job replacing towels and bed sheets. The location of Marola is a 2 minute walk to resteraunts,bars and also the Macedona supermarket and around 5-10 min stroll to the beach. The pool area was relaxing with 2 pools, plenty of sunbeds with the option of shade, pool tables and table tennis also available for use. The pool bar offered a number of drinks, snacks and hot food for a reasonable price. Happy hour between 4-5 with drinks being buy one get one free. We enjoyed our stay a lot and would highly recommend staying at Marola Portosin and looking into returning next year ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathanw93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel very clean and inviting. The staff were friendly and always helpful, the cleaners were polite and very thorough when cleaning our rooms but I would advise that you leave your key in the door when your in bed otherwise they just walk in on you. The internet was 3 Euro for 12 minutes which was suffice to leave a message or whatever but would be costly for extended browsing. The pool area was really busy and was very noisy from 9am onwards. The bar was very cheap at 1.80 a pint and drinks were 2-4-1 during happy hour at 4pm, uit's just a shame the bar closes around 8pm. Tommy the barman was a great lad, always smiling and the breakfast's he prepares are very tasty. Room safe was 15 Euro + 10 Euro deposit plus it's 30 Euro deposit pp upon arrival. There is a 24 hour supermarket round the corner and a couple of bars outside the hotel which can also get noisy up until the early hours. It was also a little far from the main strip and beach but it's between 4 and 6 Euro in a taxi. Overall we enjoyed our stay it's just a shame that the noise from some of the other guests was very annoying at times. PS. HIRE A FAN!!! (Because it's very humid at night)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view for the sun, but be prepared for a lot of noise up until about 3 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlally1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent two weeks at the Mar Ola Portosin from 22 June to 6 July 2013. Room on the third floor was an apartment with a pool view. It was spacious and well equipped. The hotel is 5 minutes stroll from the bars and the same from the beach. There are restaurants and cafes closer. Found everyone very friendly from housekeeping up to the manager. The pool bar was like a local and we met some fantastic people. Tommy and Kitch are top people who look after everyone. Be warned about the happy hour where they seek to get everyone as drunk as possible. Think everyone woke up with a sore head at some point.
The pool area is excellent and vet clean. Always sunbeds so we didn't need to get up and reserve beds etc.
We had a great time and would not hesitate to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHILSTEVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of June in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Rooms were very spacious and had a pool view. The rooms were cleaned most days and we also were given clean towels everyday.
Pool area was brill, there are plenty of sunbeds with parasols if you are wanting to sit in the shade.
The pool bar is brill serving drinks and snacks throughout the day.The bar man Tommy makes everyone feel welcome and he does happy hour everyday 4 till 5.
The location is good. About a steady 15 minutes walk to bars and restaurants.
We will definitely return to this hotel just cant believe some of the bad reviews as we loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sami6890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the first time at the beginning of July and loved every second of it. Our room was very spacious and clean and all of the rooms had a balcony with a pool view. Although there wasn't a restaurant the pool bar served lovely food and gave great customer service. There were plenty of sun loungers around the pool, some of which in the shade if necessary. The hotel is in a good location with lots of places to eat and only a short walk to the beach. I would definitely recommend staying at Marola.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

when we first arrived it was a very warm welcoming with a very friendly receptionist.
we went up to the hotel and were pleased with the outlook of the room everything was going smoothly with the pool being the main thing we loved about the hotel, very comfy sun beds with plenty free at any time of the day so there is no rush in the morning to put your towels on to reserve them.
on our 2nd last night we invited friends over to have some drinks on the balcony (they had been coming over the past 5 nights previous) we had arrived about 10 minutes when the 3 balconies next to us had a falling out and were screaming at each other, one of the guys from the argument asked us to stand up for them asking if we thought they were noisy, dragging us into something we didn't want to get involved in, the receptionist seen we had 2 friends in our apartment and started saying get out get out (he wasn't a very nice man) we tried to explain we had nothing to do with the other balconies but he just kept walking away from us and ignoring us which angered me, he said no guests after 8 but for the past 5 nights our friends would go to the reception and ask to go up to our room 314 and were completely fine with it until that night. this put a dampener on the last couple of days on our holiday and we certainly will not be going back anytime soon which is a shame as everything was going fine until then.
also our friends booked this hotel at the same time as us and they got asked to go to a different hotel as they over booked which shows they don't have very good organisation skills!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebekasekulowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
575 reviews
0 mi away
Marola Park
Marola Park
#2 of 37 in Playa de las Americas
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marola Portosin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marola Portosin

Address: Avenida Antonio Dominguez 20 | Tenerife, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $57 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marola Portosin 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This apartment complex is located just a short stroll from the beach in Playa de las Americas, in the south of the island of Tenerife. Spend the day in Apartamentos Marola-Portosin relaxing by the large outdoor swimming pool.You can sunbathe on one of the sun loungers surrounding the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marola Portosin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marola Portosin Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marola Portosin Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing