We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff...”
Review of Marola Portosin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marola Portosin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our second vacation at the Marola Portosin.

The first time we chose to stay there because of the very popular trip advisor reviews. We returned because the reviews are right.. The hotel is great value and very clean... but every hotel should be. We all work hard to pay for a holiday and we should get a decent hotel for our money.

What makes this hotel special is the great people that it employs.. The cleaners, the reception staff and the bartenders all make everybody feel welcome.

Pepe, Wilman and Ivan are great guys who will always try and ensure you enjoy your holiday. The night porter was also a lovely guy.

Andrea at the bar is a treasure and is very funny. The famous Tom deserves all of the praise he gets. He is a legend and a gentleman. It is a shame that injury ended his basketball career but the world of pool bars gained a superstar when he retired from shooting hoops.

The Easter Scandinavian crowd was a lot less lively than the more English clientele we met during the summer and we met some good people both times we went there. This is the thing with the Marola Portosin.. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the party areas but it is in a nice quiet area so everyone gets a restful holiday. It is live and let live.. Don't go there if you want a crazy hotel. It is the quiet hotel where you chill out after a crazy night..

We decided to go for half board and this was excellent value. Breakfast was at the hotel and we had a choice of 3 restaurants for the evening meal. We tried each restaurant and La Gomera and La Tasca were fine. Most nights we went to Little Italy though. It has a great reputation and we had a excellent meal every time we went there. 3 courses of very good food.

I would recommend the half board option.

Easter Sunday was a treat meal at La Martina which is an Argentinean steakhouse. This was another excellent meal.. Try the ribeye on the bone (bife ancho) if you like steak. Mmmmm-mmmmmmmmmmmm! It is but cheap but the food is top notch and there is a show if you like that sort of thing.. To be honest, I was focusing on the steak.

20 seconds walk from the hotel is a minimarket serving everything you would need. Luis the bossman and the beautiful Shakira are good people. Another 3 minutes walk is the Mercadona supermarket. (Basically.. You can have a cheap one!)

Free wifi in reception.. It should be free everywhere. That is my only criticism.

Thank you, Marola Portosin.. Another great holiday..







  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoulFood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 768 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I just stayed here for 8 nights with my girlfriend, we enjoyed it and would recommend it. in summery we found,

Positives,

Very friendly and helpful staff
Nice location, close to beach/shops etc
Quite area, no problems sleeping
Nice pool area, plenty of space and a nice pool
Good bar, nice barman, cheap drinks
Pool tables and table tennis
Good size room with everything we needed
Supermarket 3 minute walk


Negatives

Two single beds not great for couple, pushed together they were not comfortable to lie on together.
Tv mostly in Spanish
Had to pay deposit + tv remote deposit + safe deposit + charge for safe + wifi charge.
Wifi didnt work in our room (Youre paying for it to work in your room and bar) Also had some problems with the username/password using it, was a bit of a pain.
Can be hard to park near the hotel if you rent a car.
The average age of people staying were quite old, may not always be like this but there were not many people our age to interact with.

Overall for us the positives outweighed the negatives and we would reccomend for anyone to stay though if i was going back to Tenerife i would more likley stay in Peurto de la cruz where there is a bit more culture than the resort areas. This place is certainly good value for money and i would think if you want somewhere simple and relaxing its a good choice.

The restaurant Little Italy just up the road is nice, certainly the best we tried within a 1 min walk.
A room with a balcony overlooking the pool would be better.
The restaurant La Gomera right beside the hotel is best avoided.
There is a supermarket called Mercadonna 2 min away that has anything you would need for food etc.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowanhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we go on a holiday we like to make sure that we stay somewhere that is clean safe friendly a good standard of facilities and good value for money. We usually spend about 2 weeks researching before we book anywhere. For our 8 days in Tenerife we decided on the Marola Portosin and we were not disappointed.

The area around the hotel is nice and quiet but only a few minutes walk from the bars and restaurants so you get a good nights sleep while still being near the action. There is a supermarket 3 minutes walk away and a 24 hour shop around the corner. The walk to the beautiful playa de las vistas is about 5 minutes. There is a bus stop almost outside the door which has a route (450) to and from the airport for about 3euro each or a taxi is approx 20 euro.

The rooms are lovely and clean, the small kitchen suits basic cooking and the balcony is a lovely size. My only criticism would be that the option of a double bed for couples would be nice and I woild advise a pool room view to make the most of the sun.

The pool is lovely. There are plenty of sun beds and space. There are two pool tables, a giant chess game and table tennis. The bar serves food and low cost drinks and the atmosphere is lovely.

While the hotel was wonderful what topped the trip off for us was the staff. Hanging around the hotel was a pleasure as you always had a friendly smile from everyone and someone to chat to. Iban on the desk was full of advise for us and eager to know of our experiences in the area so he could help future travellers. Tommy on the bar is a real character. A lovely genuine guy who goes out of his way to make you feel welcomed and relaxed and also makes a point of introducing you to fellow guests so that you have a wonderful week with people who become friends.

All in all I would recommend this for a relaxing week by the pool and the beach. We some lovely restaurants and bars around to keep you entertained.

Room Tip: A pool view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeicetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place was cheap and great quality. I went with a group of friends and we had a great time. It is located within awing distance to Playa de las Americas and Las Vistas. The accommodation was basic but clean and spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was nicely heated and the food at the pool bar was great. Happy hour was great value. We did have some problems because our rooms were held on booking.com but before we went we checked the reservation and the hotel hadn't received it but luckily sorted it out also our booking information said that there was a €30 deposit per room but when we got there they demanded that we pay €30 deposit each.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here way back in 2011 and I plan on going again this summer. The reception staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way, I still keep in touch with them now through Facebook! I went with 4 girls (aged 21) and the hotel was a mix of familys/ our age and it worked well as noone was a nuisance. Sunbeds were easy to get think only one day we didnt manage but it was about 3pm that we got back and it was when the hotel was full. It is a 10 minute walk to the strip in playa de las americas and a 10 minute walk into los crisitanos where the beaches are nice, it was a nice combo. The bar by the pool did sandwiches chips crisps and drinks etc which were nice although the room had full kitchen facilities so we did go to the supermarket down the road. Overall a perfect hotel, out of all the chaos on the strip but only 10 minute walk to there and also to the calmer los cristianos. Will definately be staying again.

Room Tip: We were over looking the pool on the first floor and had a huge balcony. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah91x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Marola Portosin,
Ok first things first please don't get the Morola Portosin mixed up with Morola Park. I and my girlfriend stayed at the Portosin September last year, this is our second time back now and we're planning our third already.
Ok so the hotel when u first book it's show that its a one/two key apartments, well I would easily give it three going on four. The hotel reception is stunning with old wooden furniture and the staff are so friendly, there are always on hand 24/7 and if u need help there willing to without any complaints.

The rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean. The Morola Portosin can easily pass for a 3/4* hotel. Rooms are clean everyday, by way of weeping, moping and the beds are made and cleaned. The shower and bath room is large and very clean. All rooms have a balcony which if you get the right room it massive. I do recommend that you get a room where the bedroom is facing the pool as the road can be a little loud in the mornings and when ppl come home from nights out.

Now the pool and bar area, firstly Tommy the Yorkie bar table football legend is what make the holiday around the pool so much better to the point your not sunbathing but having such a laugh and good time the bathing goes out the window lol. There is a happy hour between 4-5 where certain drinks are 241. The pool is perfect it's big enough for a good swim or relax and chill. There are enough sun beds for everyone. I totally recommend the hotel by far and looking to book again this September.

Some general recommendations

These restaurants are among our favourites because of their atmosphere and different choice of menus and also value for money. They are all located in Los christanos except Bollywood.

Bollywood Indian Restaurant – Located in Playa de las Americas (Next to Jersey Cow)
Newly opened restaurant, they have an extensive menu! However we went for the set menu of 12.95 Euros each. This included a choice of 3 or 4 four starters, popadoms and the main meal was anything of the menu except fish. The service was perfect, good location, cleanliness was fantastic and quality of food was really really tasty. The restaurant was full each time we passed which is always a good sign.

Chiilout restaurant - Beach front
Located on the beach front just before the tunnel at playa vista ( you can’t miss it as it’s the last and first restaurant at the tunnel depending on which direction you walk in and has lots of fancy lighting going on ! Again lots of choice, beautifully presented and good price. The quality of food was very high too and always busy. They have a couple of sofa at the front so even if you don’t want to eat you can just have a coffee or glass of wine.
Little Italy - Opposite hotel
This is literally on the door step of the hotel if you aren’t in the mood for a walk and just want a nice relaxing meal. It’s on the opposite side of the hotel just past Maison Castillano, the house wine is very good as is the pasta defiantly would recommend. Nice atmosphere and not ram packed but still busy. Most dishes are around 8/9 Euros.
Sisha Habibi – Top road behind the beach leading into Christanos
This is a Moroccan themed restaurant and again great for just having a drink or cocktail lazing on the brightly coloured sofas. Would defiantly recommend eating on the veranda out the back with stunning views over the bay and watching the sun set. Moroccan music playing in the background and the food is out of this world! You could almost be in Marrakesh, My favourite place so far!!

Playa Vista Beach
As always this beach still remains to be impeccably maintained. The sun beds were 4 Euros each and an umbrella is also 4 Euros, so if there are two of you for the day on the beach set aside 12 Euros. There are plenty of restaurants and bars behind the beach for luck or breakfast and your belongings are perfectly safe left there (obviously not cameras etc, although I felt they would still be safe there but personal choice) If anyone in your party has disability the town council should be commended for the effort and achievement on how they have adapted part of the beach for people with disabilities. There are ramps everywhere which lead onto wooden decking making access to the beach a little easier. One section of the beach has been decked on quite a big scale so after coming down on the ramps and decking you come straight to the decked area where the wheel chair of frames can remain under your own umbrella and room for others in your party. They also have water buggies that are available for people in wheelchairs to be taken into the sea. This area has been built right in front of the lifeguard station. There are plenty of toilets on the beach also.

Time Tunnel Photo studio
If you are looking for a different gift or for yourself visit this shop in the parquet Santiago shopping centre (downstairs from holiday apartments Parque Santiago about a 5 min walk from the Mare Nostre Hotel) You can have various different pictures taken or 3d photos embedded in crystal cubes they are pretty amazing, so maybe take a couple of pictures with you from home in case you want it done. Its 15 Euros for the picture then you pay for what size crystal cube you want, they start from 30euros up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eamespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have just returned from weeks stay at these apartments, the staff were absolutely the best I have encountered (and have done a lot of travel) that is with the exception of the manager who was rather unpleasant when we had a complaint about the safe we had paid for. Unfortunately it constantly wouldn't either open or close and on 4 occasions we had to wait for engineers to arrive to fix it. There is a beautiful pool area, towels and loungers are provided free of charge, the pool bar is just the best fun, the happy hour from 4-5pm is a real laugh which is definitely down to the bar man Tommy, he was such a nice guy and made everyone feel welcome. We also met Andrea who also works in the bar, she was great fun as well but she wasn't on shift during our stay during the happy hour. We would definitely stay at these apartments again, good location as easy walking distance to center of town and Los Cristianos, next time we would however ask for pool view. Great week which was partly down to the staff, pity the manager wasn't as good. The only thing missing is air con as our visit was during February although warm it wasn't a problem not to have, not sure if it would be so comfortable in the height of summer not to have it.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diner030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marola Park
Marola Park
#4 of 37 in Playa de las Americas
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marola Portosin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marola Portosin

Address: Avenida Antonio Dominguez 20 | Tenerife, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $56 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marola Portosin 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This apartment complex is located just a short stroll from the beach in Playa de las Americas, in the south of the island of Tenerife. Spend the day in Apartamentos Marola-Portosin relaxing by the large outdoor swimming pool.You can sunbathe on one of the sun loungers surrounding the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marola Portosin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marola Portosin Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Marola Portosin Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing