We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky escape”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 2, 2007

My family and I were due to visit the Oasis Golf 3rd Aug paid several thousand for AI but after reading the reviews over the past few weeks we decided to change our hotel. Because we originally booked in Feb the prices of similar AI have risen by about 1K for a family of 4, I could not raise additional funds so we have down scaled to HB staying at the Iberostar Torviscas in Costa Adeje.

To put it simply I refused to take the chance I'd rather pay for a bit of lunch and the days drinks then risk food poisoning and having to pay extra to eat elsewhere for a fortnight.

Funny thing was the travel agent said when we originally booked it that the hotel had received really good reviews, not sure where she was reading from (Mars probably)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Relieved07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,415)
There are newer reviews for Gran Oasis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,989 - 2,995 of 3,415 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2007

We have just returned from an "all inclusive" holiday at this resort. Myself, wife and two children stayed there. We had a split level apartment, which was not mentioned in the brochure and was very dangerous if you have small children. We had 59 steps from our apartment down to the pool/reception area. The all inclusive was a joke. The so called snacks were provided from 11.30-12.30 and consisted of curled up bread and meat/cheese and afternoon snacks were 4.30-5.30 and was a very small paper bag filled with crisps. My children were refused a second bag! The remainder of the food was in the restaurant. The children had a choice of chicken nuggets and chips every night, sometimes chicken nuggets were put out for BREAKFAST!! The remainder of the choice was appauling, no vegetarian choices at all. The entertainment didn't exist and when we approached the Manager asking where his mini-club was as advertised on the board outside reception. He said there is no mini-club. Unbelieveable. Please do not stay here you will not get value for money and there is nothing around the complex you can walk to.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WoodiesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We arrived the 23rd of June where the taxi took us to the hotel for 20 euros’ even though the meter read 15.50ish and you can’t argue because we can’t speak Spanish. a bit cheeky. Got to the reception which seemed very nice and clean. Got told where our room was and a map with other instructions on times to eat etc..
We then found out everything about the stairs is so true. 45 minutes later we actually got up to our room... ok well it was more like 10 but it was had work carrying out suitcases up hundreds of stairs. If only we knew that there were ramps on the far right side.

Food... ok well.. We didn’t mind it. However we totally get what people mean. Its true chicken nuggets and chips every night. The food for adults did vary. There are only 4 main dishes at night and to be honest we was shocked at how small the food hall was. It didn’t seem to get to busy however people pushing in did annoy me. Damn British! hehe

Entertainment is awful. If you going there to stay in the resort for entertainment then bring an ipod. It’s awful. We were meant to have bingo at least twice and they cancelled it both times for a pub quiz, to which we didn’t even get a pen.
They seemed short staffed but realistically we don’t think they were. At night 9 times out of 10 was always a huge queue to wait for drinks; however thee was only one person on the bar. He was quick but it wasn’t enough staff. But are they doing it so they don’t get through as many drinks? Was quite bad as we were all inclusive and didn’t expect to wait ages every time we wanted a drink. There is a lady who works there in green and boy is she slow. I swear she did it on purpose.

For the TV - u had to pay to use it - however we think u only needed to pay for the remote. Were not sure but we turned the TV on a couple of times and pressed the buttons that they've taken out and it did work and didn’t get charged so your choice...

Pool.. We never saw anyone clean it. It wasn’t awful... but there was settled dirt at the bottom at night and morning which to me says it wasn’t cleaned on a regular basis.
They do clean the tiles at night making it very slippy.
It would have made sense to put antislip tiles round the pool but this isn’t the case but again if you’re careful you’ll be fine.

Cleaners.. Well.. The odd thing was they said they didn’t go round on a wed and sun yet they had made our bed on the wed.. Little odd and yet didn’t really any other day. They missed us out a few times despite seeing them a few doors up from us. Little odd.

their tap water had a distinct smell to it - as well as when we ran a bath the water didn’t seem to stay hot for very long. When I had a hot shower.. My boyfriend then had to have a cold one. Lucky him. not good though when you've paid for a hotel.. You expect hot water long enough for 2. we did end up sharing most of the time.

Trips.... don’t book through the hotel. it seems they slap a 10euro charge on any trip. at the airport grab all the leaflets you can because we picked up a map of the island which came in handy. as well as a direct excursions leaflet. When trying to call direct excursions on the hotel telephones it wouldn’t let us. They had blocked that number so we had to go out of the hotel to ring to book our trip. Direct excursions was doing mount teidi (volcano trip) for 14 euros where as the hotel was doing it for 24euros. big difference.
The mount teidi trip was ok.. Not brilliant. you had to pay on top of the 14euros an extra 22euos just to go to the top of the volcano. it was very cold up on top so defo bring a jacket if you go. The trip to get there though was very entertaining.
we also went to aqua land. Which is a water park. 23 ish Euro for an adult. which I thought was quite alot. There wasn’t many slides and you even had to pay on top of the 23euros for a locker which was 4euros and a sun bed which was 3.5euros. so expensive it should of been included. However at 1 they did a dolphin show - which was absolutely amazing. Was really good. so with that in mind it made the money worth it. aqua land does have a free bus there but not one coming back however we walked it under an hour. That’s where your maps come in handy.

Walking distance.. I’m 19 and my boyfriend is 24... so were not exactly slow coaches, it did take 25 minutes to get to princes decil so it took about 35 minutes to the coast. when cutting through it still took about 25 minutes.
we found that the nearest shop was 15 minutes away on route to pinces decil.

When coming back the taxi totally ripped us off. The meter said 18.76 however he pushed a button and appeared to say 21.56 - i watched that mete go up and it was definitely 18.76 however we couldn’t argue as once again we cant talk Spanish so agree a price before you get in a taxi.

Over all the hotel was good in places and not in others. There is a huge chess board which we enjoyed playing. But entertainment wise it definitely needs alot of work. However the magic show is worth seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank estebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I went to Oasis Golf Resort 17th June and returned 24th June, and i was more than happy to leave! I was very worried after seeing the reviews on the Internet about the hotel, but did read some good ones,
so took the risk. I thought maybe the people complaining were just
'moaners' but i was wrong. Very wrong!

We arrived around 7.15pm and got a taxi to the complex, which was fine. The outside of the complex looks stunning, and i was impressed at this point. We then met our friends who also staying there, and they showed us round the pool. Everything looked great, two pools, pool bar, golf course to over look.ect.

But don't judge a book by it's cover- this was the best example i've come accross so far.

We went to the room, which is very spacious, two balconys, an upstairs and downstairs, kitchen, bathroom, living area, and bedroom.

If you have children though i would ask for a one floor based room upon arrival, as they don't provide baby gates, and rooms have steep marble stairs.

The next day i woke up, went to get my clothes on, to find an infestation of ants in the wardrobe, and all over the side's. My clothes and shoes were covered. I was not happy. I called reception and told them, and their responce at the time was 'oh right'. Later that day they left an spray in my room, for myself to get rid of. I sprayed it numerous times, which smelled awfull! When i left a week later the ants were still there, i got sick of phoning reception to get rid of them, so i just lived out of my suitcase for the time i was there.

The food was terrible. We payed for all inclusive, and ate out most of the time. The combinations are wierd, if not disgusting., The only
food they have for kids is chicken nuggetts and chips, other than that they starve. One night for dinner was fish, but fish everything,
sauces the lot!!! Too bad if your allergic to fish!!! They just don't
cater for the people they have there at all. Awfull!

The stairs all round the complex which are very steep are the biggest
suicide attempt i've ever seen. Steep, usually slippy, and lots of them too. In the space of a week i saw two children, and two adults fall down them. One of which had to be took off in an ambulance on a stretcher as she couldn't get back up. The other little boy looked like he had broke his ankle. It is seriously dangerous!

Later that week i had an infestation of cockroaches, not that the stupid spray they give you was going to get rid of them. Plus when you kill them, the egg's release, which just produce another ten. I had them climbing up the walls in the kitchen/lounge, in the bedroom,
in the bath, and floor of bathroom. Their huge things aswell!

The maid came in, and made the bed only i think. She blatently left the dead cockroaches all over the appartment, never bothered to get rid of them.

This holiday was the worst thing i have ever been on, and never would
i recommend the place. It's dirty, dangerous, and horrible. Many people i spoke to said the same thing, they won't be going back.
Trust me, book elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank truthBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed, all inclusive, at the resort from the 15th-22nd of June and were really surprised at the quality of the hotel after reading such appalling reviews!
The apartment was spotlessly clean and really spacious and it was nice to have a fridge/freezer to keep our post 11pm bevvies in depsipte being ai, we had clean towels everyday the maids were working, not Sun & Wed and a fresh toilet roll was left too!
I imagine the steps could be a nuisance with buggies but there are ramps to all levels just a bit of a longer way round.
The pool was a bit slippery but with all pools anywhere just take a little more care, there were plenty of sunloungers available too.
We really enjoyed the food and were surprised at the quality considering what we'd read! fish, veal, pasta, chicken, massive salad selection, beef and veggies and yes...chicken nuggets and chips! all I'll say on that is if thats all your kids will eat then thats all there is so go self catering! otherwise fantastic!
It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the beach and Los Christianos and tou can walk along the sea front to Las Americas, it is a bit much on the way back but taxis are cheap enough.
We didn't really stay in much in the evening but from what we heard the entertainment was ok and the drinks are poured strong so be careful if you're on the spirits!
There's a supermarket 10 mins down the road which is cheaper than the on site one.
Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and had no compaints about the hotel at all, we would recommend it for most people except fussy eaters!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racheyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

please read my review this was a holiday from hell wee arrived 1st of june and departed the 15th i tried to get flytes home 3 days into the holiday my partner got food poison from the food is it was always raw , health&safety came in to the cmplex and the staff imediately dumped the food so there was no evidence, when wee arrived wee had a dead cockroch under the bed and by the 11th day the cockroch was still there after many complaints nothing had been done wee had 2 linen changes and 1 towel change in the 2 weeks wee where there the complex is not adviseable for familys with young children as there is many hazards and unless you want to put them off chicken nuggets as this is all they provide for kids, there was many accidents at the pool sides as there was no antislip surfaces. it was all tiled. there was poo in the pool and they scooped it out with a fishnet and did not clean the pool out . there is no kids club available all there is table with paper and crayons there. the only night entertainment for kids is mini disco from 8 til half past 8 the whole holiday was a complete joke and since on arrival home wee have been to firstchoice about this and now awaiting an outcome for our inconvience. also this is just not my complaint there was a qeue of people waiting to see the rep almost everday as they all felt the same way about the holiday, the complex looks lovely bt definately not advisable unless self catering with no children. angela& gavin

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prittiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Me,my partner and brother stayed at the oasis golf for a week s/c on the 8th of may 07..I was worried about some of the bad reviews i had read after we booked,but i have to say there were no probs at all...it is a beautiful hotel,real luxury..very clean and well matained.the rooms are lovely and clean and have everything u need..all the staff was very helpfull,but we didnt need to bother them much,our pull out bed wasnt there when we arrived but when we told reception it was brought to us within 15 mins.It is a little out the way but there is always taxis out the front or there is a free bus every hr.we didnt eat there much so cant really comment on the food or entertainment..the hotel is great for kids and we have booked to take ours in november..honestly dont have any worries about this hotel...its perfect

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ami~lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#8 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
504 reviews
2.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $132 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing