We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week In Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Week In Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

From the minute we arrived at the Gran Oasis resort we could tell w would be in for a great week. The reception was warm & welcome and we were quickly equipped with our all inclusive bands and our room keys in under 15 minutes (seven of us.) A short five minute trip took us to our appartments in which we got the view the appartments around us and the pool on the way. The appartments are very spacey with up & down stairs. The above consisted of living room with TV and a fully fitted kitchen equipped with oven, hobs, pots, pans & fridge freezer. Below consisted of double bedroom with fitted wardrobes and the WC in prime condition and completely spotless. Then there was the veranda's, there was two available as it was upstairs and downstairs appartments, downstairs was tiled and upstairs had a sort of astro turf feel flooring and table & chairs for relaxing in the sun shine.

The food was magnificent, each night brought a different theme from BBQ night, to Mexican, Italian and Chinese. Breakfast, Lunch Dinner & Dessert available from 8:30am right through to 9:30pm. And pool bar which served as the entertainment section also catered meals available from 11:00am. Light snacks such as hot dogs were on offer as well as ice cream and soft drinks for the kids. All the staff served you with a smile and a thank you.

The entertainment was magnificent also, Again each night brought a different theme of entertainment suck as the snake show, Brazilian show, miss election show. These were all fantastic. During the day there was quite a refreshing aqua aerobics workout on offer by the lovely Rowetta and competitions for killer pool and water polo.

Games room was well equipped with PC's for internet browsing and PC gaming to keep the kids occupied (and myself). There was a range of five pool tables, one table tennis offering and a load of arcade games.

I would recommend The Gran Oasis Resort to anyone i speak to and most definetely will be going back in future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    889
    320
    86
    59
See reviews for
1,845
630
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel last week. The entertainment at night was very boring, everyone was playing cards at their own table every night. The entertainers did their best but there definitely needs to be more. There was lots of choice for food but it was tasteless. The pool side view is brilliant. I would suggest that this holiday is only for people who want a very very relaxing holiday with not much to do or watch. Beware of drunken golfers that drink as much as they can on an all inclusive and are sick in the bushes! I stayed in an apartment one floor from the top and there were 64 stairs to climb if this helps anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey27Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Ok,have followed the reviews on here for the last 6 months and must say that my family were looking forward to this holiday...I have watched this hotel go from 20 out of 75 all the way down to 3rd best hotels to stay in so this listing and good reviews = excellent place to stay :( no i was wrong.

1. Pool area. When walking around the pool area walk at a snails pace,then go slower. Im not joking,when we were ther a man fell right next to my children and broke his arm in 2 places,really badly,blood,bones sticking out you get the picture. 3 other children also fell down and injured them selfs, i also snubbed a toe. The pool is very slippery even if it does not look it be very very very carefull. The staff are not botherd and just flog you off. you have been warned.

3. Lifegaurd. There i 1 life gaurd to look after 3 pools,yes 3. He walks up and down stairs so when he is at the main one he cannot see the other 2. There is a stool in the middle so he can sit and look at the 2 main pools but never seen him stay there. When we were there 10.30am at the main pool a little boy 3 or so jumped in when his mum was not looking, myself and another man had to jump in because the boy was drowning,no lifegaurd to be seen 15mins later comes out from back office at a snails pace (must no about the sliipery floor). Were also told by another family that in the top pool the same thing happend to a little spanish boy and no life gaurd to be seen. If he stays in his place then he would have seen both incidents. Pools,in the morning nice and clean by 2.00pm you cannot see the bottom in the main pool,i did not see anyone shower befor they got in so this does not help, 3 out of 4 of us had ear infections and are on meds now,i think they should use more cleaning stuff at night as the docter said it was the pool water and it is a common problem this time of year,also we did not go in the sea.

3. Food. Well its the normal AL to be honest except less chicken and more veal,not that hot but edible and a choice. Themed nights which made a change,they were good, italian and grill night our favourite. You get a set half hour to turn up, for example 8 to 30am for breakfast to go for your food the times available are 8-10.30am breakfast,Lunch is 1-3.00pm and dinner is 6.30-9.00pm. I would reccomend if you plan to stay in the hotel for the evening then go for the 6.30pm seating if you can as you wont get a seat to see the poor entertainment. Snacks,you can get snacks at set times in the day but this is only poor cheese and ham sandwich or a hotdog,you cannot get a snack after 6.30pm so when you or the kids want something at the end of the night there is no food,no shop open on site, shuts at 9.00pm nearest one 20min walk to it.

4. Entertainment.. Ok for small kids for a hour but very poor for adults. No children clubs as such,only enterainment team did not see them much in day time and they were only 19 and still in training,they go back to holland in october so cant have a go at them. Went out after dinner every other night to kill off the monotonous of the evenings.

5. Room. This was the best thing here,spacious and clean also a great view. TV paid for bbc1,bbc2 sky1 and movies and other foreign channels,hit and miss if you got any-kept going off and after 6.00pm you do not get any bbc1 or 2or movies. They do not tell you this at the time and when you complain make you feal as if there free,I paid extra money for it so i expect them!!..WI FI, it says free wifi again 9 days we were were there still no free wi fi,as above flogged off and not bothered. 2 Euro for ten mins on there computer for internet,see where im going...1 Euro in the town for 1 HOUR! Take a walk we did.

OK ,weve been honest as we can its not bad but after a build up on this site we felt let down,i would not go again because of the enterainment and location spent 100 Euro on taxis going to main resort for something to do,yes some staff are very polite like anika and the man in charge of the restaurant and bars,the rest well wont go out there way to say hello to you lets say. Sort out the above points and if you dont mind being a little bit out and this could be worth being 3rd out of 75 hotels in tenerife,at the moment then they should of stayed at 20. I wish the hotel to take note as this is not only the poor review recently and at this rate will be back to 20 in no time. Good luck in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I know that people are more likely to write a review when they have something bad to say, so wanted to make sure I posted this review. I stayed at this hotel during the beginning of September, and had a great time.

Location - the hotel, as clearly advertised, is up on the mountains, about a 20 minute walk from the beaches. This is exactly what we had expected so we were pleased that this is what we got - we were away from the hustle of the clubs and pubs by the beach, but it was a quick free bus ride/5euro taxi ride/20 minute walk if you fancied a day/evening out. We chose to walk down to the beach one of the days, and it was a lovely walk, you get to see a lot more than you would in a bus. It's all downhill and not at all tiring. The reception staff were really helpful and gave us a map and directions of the best way to get to the beaches. Las Americas was aimed very much at English tourists, with McDonalds, Burger King etc. But as you walk along the coast to Los Christianos and beyond, it is beautiful.

Apartment - we had a one bedroom apartment, and were lucky enough to get one just 5 minutes from the pools/restaurant (although we took a walk round the whole resort and didn't find the steps/slopes as bad as made out in some of these reviews - if you are a moderately fit person, you shouldn't have a problem). The apartment was very spacious and had a balcony on each floor, and was very quiet.

Food - the food was great. There was a different theme each evening - Canaries, International, Chinese, Grill etc . Each breakfast, lunch & dinner there would be chefs cooking what was on offer fresh in front of you (omelettes at breakfast, meats in the evening, etc.) so you could have it exactly how you like - this was great, as so often the food is just precooked and left to go cold.

There was a big variety, I rarely ate the same thing, so I am surprised at the recent reviews - saying that, the amount of adults who would each day fill their plate with chips and nuggets, or something just as unimaginative, from the kids buffet was shocking.

General - the entertainment was fairly repetitive, but we did enjoy the bingo in the evenings. The staff, particularly at reception, were incredibly helpful and always had a smile, which always helps. The one complaint I have is that on the day of arrival (sunday) our towels were clearly dirty (not great for first impressions) - I told reception and the sent someone round within a couple of hours to replace them. Aside from this the resort was kept to a good standard.

We took a day trip to Siam Park, taking advantage of the packed lunch that the resort provide (remember to order the day before), and this was a really great day. There is something for everyone at Siam Park, from a massive artificial beach (almost as good as the real thing) and a nice variety of water rides. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone going to Tenerife.

I would recommend this resort to anyone who want a relaxing holiday away from the centre of town, and I would also suggest to go All Inclusive, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

We travelled as two adults with one 4 month old baby. The apartment was excellent and perfectly suitable for looking after the young one. Seperate Kitchen and Living Room upstairs from the bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen had all expected facilities, including large fridge freezer, oven, hob, microwave and kettle. If the all inclusive meals had been as poor as some moaning guests have indicated then the fall back position of a little cooking for yourself and eating on one of your two apartment balconies would have been an option, but it never was, because the food was varied and excellent. Yes, the obligatory chips, meatballs, pizza or hot dog sausages were availabe for those without the ability to see beyond their own ready made processed lives, but if you wanted every morning at breakfast you had a choice of freshly pressed fruit juice, unlimitted glasses of Carva, full British (which was not bad), omlettes cooked in front of you to order, continental, etc etc etc. Other meals were freshly cooked in front of you, including roast joints, rump steak, seafood dishes including shelled mussels, prawns and salmon. There was always variety and quality if you could see past the junk food the some Brits seem to demand. As far as comments about Spaniards getting better treatment, this is also rubbish. We found that by talking NICELY to hotel staff you could have food cooked/amended to suit your personal needs.

Reception staff were excellent. One thing that lets the resort down is the lack of air-con in the rooms. At the start of the stay we were in the middle of a heat-wave and the room temperature hit 30 degrees. However, there are excellent portable air-con units available from a local "English" company for 70 Euros for the fortnight. We hired one through reception, and found that the same company also hire childs buggies, baby sterylisers and other equipment at a reasonable rate, so don't go taking all these extras for young kids as we did.

Reception also sorted out reasonable priced car hire, which I would recommend as it is half the price of the coach tours, and you get to see the likes of Tiede and the National Park at your own pace.

The steps. Not a problem, even with a baby in tow. There were ramps to almost every location apart from the bottom pool and bar. That said there were again a number of Brits in the morbidly obese bracket with skiny little unused legs who moaned about the fact that they had to walk.

On the subject of walking. Save your five Euro taxi fair, and enjoy either a picturesque 15 minute walk down the side of the golf course into Las Americas (seedy and full of Brits) or the less picturesque walk down the dual carriage-way into Los Christianos, where at the harbour you can book reasonably priced boat trips from freindly agents (half the price of those sold by First Choice). Good Italian and Spamish Restaurants here.

Yes the entertainment was a hit or a miss, and the Elvis impersonator was entertainingly awful, but again the behaviour of some uncouth, abusive, racist, bullying scum from the UK proved more of an issue. The staff were excellent and I take my hat off to their patience.

In summary, an excellent place to mix that all-inclusive holiday experience with getting out and about and seeing real Tenerife (and by that I do not mean captive whales and water parks). If you wanted to go to a Zoo, you could have saved your money and only had to sit by the pool, from where you could watch the embarrassment that is a large minority of our great British nation behave like the scum they are.

Without this sad intrusion, taking into account the affordability of the resort, the quality of the accomodation and food, I would have graded the resort as 5 star for the average working family with young children.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooster1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Not at all impressed , entertaiment really a hit and miss small kids seemed to enjoy ,Renae (think thats her name does try exremely hard and does well most nights ) but really needs some proffessional acts to entertain .
Pool area extremely slippy not great if you have children witnessed lots of slips and falls management and reps dont seem to concerned when approched .
Rooms are nice and maids clean reguarly , bar staff always pleasent and courteous ,food was usuall all inclusive standard a bit repetitive but ok (apparently if you are spanish you can get VIP treatment ) so i was told by numerous british guests who witnessed this , all in all a bit disapointed after the good reviews i read beforehand ,could be a really good resort if they sort out the entertaiment and safety around the pool .apparently this hotel was better last year as first choice provided kids clubs etc none of this stuff was supplied by first choice or thomas cook.
If you thimk you getting family holiday village type thing think again not that organised and young teenagers etc unless you like bingo etc not for young clubbers and defo not in las americas as some companies advertising and beach quite a trek to walk but only 5 euros in a taxi (again depending on the driver )

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Just returned two days ago from the Gran Oasis and the better reviews on this ste are definatetly not to be believed! Whilst I am aware that all inclusive buffets tend to be a bit "tiresome" I didnt bank on being so bored to tears of the food that by day 5 could not face the restaurant - do not touch the chips!.

On the plus side the resort is very clean and well maintained.

Entertainment is totally awful - if you experience the karoake you will know what I mean - really really poor - someone with have a ounce of sense could organise this much better. Everything was always very very late and this was a big problem with small children.

The activities in the day were so hit and miss and depended on who was working what shift - never refer to the timetables as it doesnt happen. Was supposed to be a kids treasure hunt was left waiting for an hour and a half to be ushered away to another part of the complex to hunt for lollies for 5 mins - poor poor show - certainly not a 4 year olds dream come true.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#24 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Property: Gran Oasis Resort
Address: C/ Meandro 3 | Golf Las Americas, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing