We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holiday”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2008

we have recently stayed ay the oasis golf resort and we found it to be one of the nicest,cleanest places we have ever stayed in.i cannot honestly understand why people have complained about this resort,the staff were fantastic,the room was massive and clean,the pool was great apart from the mad dash for sunbeds which some people reserved early morning but didn't end up using them till later in the day.the food wasn't fantastic but it was edible and we must have saved a fortune on drinks,my 12 year old son just helped himself all day long.we would definitly recommend this resort and would even consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboophalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,974 - 2,980 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2008

We would have rated this hotel as okay were it not for the two thefts we had of our property from our 'safe' at reception. There was no forced entry and the only other keys were kept by the staff. We reported the thefts to staff but they were not interested, telling me it could not happen. With both of us being police officers, we know when our property has been stolen!
We informed the local police who are currently looking into it.

When we first arrived, our overall impressions were good, although the bathroom was manky and in need of a good scrub but were alarmed by the number of locks on the patio doors of the apartments and warnings by staff of recent robberies in the area. Now we know by who!!

There are safes in each apartment but they are all 'broken' and guests have to hire (among everything else) a safe in what can only be described as a 'sweat box' next to the reception desk. This is not helped by the fact there is no air con anywhere in the hotel. The best you get is a noisy, rattly fan in the bedroom.

The light-fingered night porter has obviously ample opportunity to lock him or herself in the safe room and help themselves to a 10 or 20 euro note from guests' safes, probably without anyone being aware. They got greedy and took 100 and 420 from our safe during their grubby little thefts, whilst disturbing other property of ours, alerting us right away.

Our complaint to the management fell on deaf ears and it makes me wonder if they know about it as after I reported the theft to them, the CCTV camera above reception was moved away from covering the safe room door. They also refused to check the CCTV, claiming it was the job of the police to do that!

If you are seriously considering going to this hotel even after looking at all the other reviews, then good luck.

To everyone else, avoid like the plague as this type of theft is very hard to stop and will continue unless the staff get very careless.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-j-e-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisGolfResort, Xamala Guffens, Public Relations Manager at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2008

We would like to inform you, our point of view from the hotel Oasis Golf Resort.
The whole week we didn’t receive any complaints from this family. The last day with checking out, they asked if it was possible to have a late check out. We told them that it was possible, but because the late check out is an extra service from the hotel, they had to pay for it. They refused to pay for it and from that moment on the complaints started to come.

We were informed the last day of there stay, that there were couple of days earlier, 2 thefts. We have safes in the rooms, there not broken but we don’t activate them because of safety reasons. We have now all the safes next to reception, because the reception is 24 hours open and there is a CCTV camera pointed on the safes. This is all for safety reasons. You can only open these safes with your own key. The only person, who has a copy of this key, is the reception manager. This key is always in a safe from the hotel, where no staff can come. That means the night porter could never have taken money from the safes or any of the other staff.

As soon when we heard there were 2 thefts, we contact the police. The police checked all the tapes from the camera and spoke also with the family.
Our procedure to follow is this;
1. Inform to the guests that they have to make an official report with the police by phone or directly at the police station. ( we did )
2. Inform to the management what happened. ( we did )
3. The police came to the hotel, to get information about the situation and to take all the tapes from the CCTV Camera.

We just want to make clear our side of the story and how we responded to this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed at this resort on the 19th August 2008 never again!!! We picked the resort for the accomodation as we have 2 X17yr olds and a 10yr old and needed the space. The 2 bedroom apartments we very good size and had a camp bed in the lounge area. They had a lovely kitchen and 2 bathrooms but we had to climb 102 steps to get to the apartment nightmare so you could not forget anything when you are going to the pool. We were all inclusive but the food was absolutely terrible and we have tried alot of all inclusive and this is the worst we have ever eaten!! The food is always cold, hardley any choice and a very small dinning area so they give a time slot to eat breakfast and dinner. As for the snacks it is cheese and ham sandwiches every day which they have a toasting machine to use but very dangerous as they let very small children use them!! With this you get a choice of 3 cakes the same every day revolting, fruit and icecream and that is it every day!! The drinks are so watered down you could never get drunk unless you wanted to pay for the real stuff. Sunbeds are chained up and you have to start queuing at 8.30 and then there is a mad rush to get them and put them out yourself!! While you are doing this they are just starting to wash down the pool area straight into the pool!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LindseyGravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

The Rooms
The rooms in this hotel are very spacious! If you like a nice view then they are not for you. Unfortunately, we had the misfortune of staying in room 34, which if you like a nice hike up 70+ steps to gain access to your room this will be just the ticket for you. Our daughter (9 yr old) fell down the marble staircase in the room as it is very slippy and ended up with a black bruise on her back. The view is of the roofs of the apartments below....lovely.

The Pool
They think it's the Germans.....it's not
As being a hard working person who has to leave the house for 7.30am every day to go to work i look forward to a nice leisurely start to the day when on holiday....Not here! You have to be down at the pool side by 8.30 am, towels in hand (my husband said it was like a scene from far and away, trying to put your stake in the land) ready for when the sunbends were unchained. A few of the days it was a bit of a free for all in the morning, partucularly when the georgie man lost his temper and starting tring to pull the beds free from the chains which he didn't succeed at (when he did put get his bed he managed to secure 6 beds poolside and didn't return to site on it until 2.55pm) much to his distress! In my opinion the pool area was very nice but simply overcrowded. I have seen it said on here about how slippy it was, but it has to be seen to be believed! The kids were like bambi poolside!!!!

The Staff
The staff here all work really hard to provide for the guests, i can't praise enough how pleasant and hard working they are. Ana on the bar was lovely all the times! She was a credit to the hotel.

The Food
Let me begin by saying that we read all the reviews about this hotel before we went and were apprehensive but as i come from a family of non fussy eaters we were sure that we would be fine..Sadly not. I read the reviews re if you want 5 star food then go to a five star hotel etc. and i was in agreement but come on there are standards!
Same meals lunchtime...every day.
Same sandwiches snacktime...every day.
The lamb stew meal was lovely...thats it!
If you like salad and bread rolls for every meal you will love it here as that is about all you can eat.
One day i opted for the pork which was freshly cut by a member of staff (to order) which when i sat down to eat was warm ham which was half fat which i had to cut away.
Maybe we are fussy and moaners as mentioned in previous reviews but come on people we are hard working and pay our way and deserved better than this.

The Fly's
We all expect fly's when going to warmer countries but the fly's around this place were ridiculous...My husband said it was the 'Kung Fu Panda' effect at mealtime as every time you lifted your arm to eat you were throwing it out to dispell fly's. This started off as a novelty but by the end of two weeks it was frustrating and very annoying.

The Drinks
The drinks were fine...locally produced rip off's...Balu etc instead of Malibu. No complaints here.. could have been more bar staff serving but that's about all i can say. Self serve beer and soft drink (except i am sure that the coke and diet coke were Rola Cola) which was quick to get.

The Free Bus
We decided one day to get the 'free bus' down to town. We were aware of the bus scehdule and did not know how busy it would be so we decided to get there early (11.45am) for the 12 o'clock bus. We waited until 12.10 and went to reception to ask when the bus would be arriving... The man on reception said that the traffic was bad and due to this the bus would not be coming (another 6 euro's in a taxi) as that was the last bus until late afternoon.

Listen, were not moaners we are hard working people who have to save all year for a family holiday... we don't want or expect the ritz, just what we pay for which we did not get at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENNIWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We returned a week ago from 2 weeks AI at this hotel. We were very worried after we booked in January and then read the reviews on Trip Advisor, to the extent we even tried to change hotels!

However, since we booked in January the reviews definitely improved and I have to say, we all had a really lovely time here.

There were four people in our party, 2 adults and 2 children (aged 5 and 4) and everyone seemed to work very hard. The apartments are lovely and had a separate bedroom and two balconies. We had loads of space which with two young children was much appreciated!

We mainly steered clear of swimming in the pools, however, because, as mentioned by a previous holidaymaker, the ear infections are still prevelant!! We spoke to several people (both adults and children) who had been on 5 days' worth of antibiotics! However, the toddler pool was not affected by these infections and both my children had great fun splashing in this without catching anything awful!

The sun bed problem exists. However, my husband is not one to be deterred by a few towels on sunbeds and just moved a few sunbeds around to make space for us. This created great amusement (on our part!) when people finally came to sit on their sunbeds (around midday!) only to find they had been separated from the rest of their party as we were slap bang in the middle of them! But did anyone dare complain? - No!! We actually found the Spanish were the worst culprits, but that isn't to say that the English were entirely guilt free!

However, we preferred the beach and the one at Los Christianos (Las Vistas) is very nice and we got the hotel bus there and back most days. We had a picnic from the hotel and spent most of our days away from the hotel. We had more space on the beach, no arguments with sunbeds and it was less frenetic. We just went back to the kids pool for an hour late afternoon so the kids could play in the pool. This seemed to work very well for us.

The hotel bus runs every day except Sundays. However, on our last day there (18 August) it actually broke down and apparently needed a new gearbox, so I hope it is up and running again now!! Beware, the bus leaves on time so don't be late. Very friendly driver and the bus also serves the Green Golf Resort which is this hotel's sister hotel very nearby. It is a full-sized coach and even at peak times there were always plenty of seats. The first bus leaves the hotel at 10am, then 11am and 12 noon. After the siesta, the bus leaves the hotel at 4pm and then 5pm. The return pick-up times from Playa de las Americas to the hotel are 10.25am, 11.25am, 12.25pm, 4.25pm and 5.25pm. No evening services.

We all enjoyed the food on offer and my children ate three healthy meals a day (we didn't allow them chips all the time) and they never complained once. There were only a couple of occasions I felt a bit stuck for something to have but I found something I fancied and enjoyed every meal. My kids loved being able to have the free little tubs of Nestle ice-cream throughout the day - this was a firm favourite! The range of free drinks on AI is fantastic. Most international brands seemed to be free which I think is quite unusual, and the measures you get are huge! Every time I asked for a Baileys I was given half a cup full! (and they weren't small cups either!!). The same with Tia Maria, Bacardi and all similiar drinks like that. The measures were very generous! My husband said the local beer was nice so he was happy! Free soft drinks include Coke, diet coke, fanta (lemon and orange) and Sprite. These were all self-service which meant no queuing which was great. Free fruit juice was also available but you had to get this from the bar (except for meal times when it was self-service).

The taxis cost around 5.5 euros to get into Los Christianos/Playa de las Americas and are more expensive on a Sunday. However, my husband speaks Spanish and we found that if you chatted away to the driver in his native tongue they would knock a few euros off the price! Worth trying if you can speak Spanish!!

My only grumble was the maid service. Our apartment was lovely and clean when we arrived and we couldn't have been more impressed. However, towels were only changed when requested (everytime I saw the maid!) and in the two weeks we were there our bed linen was only changed twice. Strangely enough though, by the end of our 2 weeks, we had enough toilet rolls to sink a ship!! So figure that out!! There is no maid service at all on Wednesdays and Sundays (although the lady in charge of the maids is there for emergencies) which I didn't think was in keeping with a 3 star hotel. There was another day, a Tuesday, when for some reason the maid couldn't be bothered to do our room and I had to complain. In fairness, the lady in charge came up with clean towels and bed linen within half an hour so my complaint was at least dealt with efficiently. I will say, though, that this is the first time I have been on holiday and not left the maid a tip!! Other people we spoke to at the hotel were happy with their maid, so I really do think it depended what maid you had as to what service you got. We were obviously one of the unlucky lot!!

With the exception of a couple of nights, the entertainment was dire. However, this didn't really bother us as very often we went out for a walk in the evening.

Overall, I would rate the apartments at 4 star but probably the rest of the hotel is a 3 star but as that is what we paid for we thought this was very reasonable. I would stay in this hotel again if it could be moved somewhere a little nearer a resort - and not at the top of a hill! However, my fitness levels have improved greatly since the start of our holiday so this cannot be a bad thing!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenRNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Having read some of the reviews we were slightly worried! We travelled as a family with children aged 10 and 8.

Only 20 minutes from airport.

We had a duplex apartment ( two floors)which was lovely and spacious. We had a fully working kitchen including fridge and freezer even though we were all inclusive so this was a bonus. Apartment great for us but would be difficult with young children. Apartment was very clean and maids very helpfull.

Three pools which cater for everyone. Loads of sunbeds but must be there by 9am to get best spots.

Entertainment going on all day. Kids club good for our ages (maybe not very small children). Pool and darts and water polo etc for teenagers and adults run all day.

Evening entertainment your average 3* hotel entertainment including Queen tribute and Abba tribute (both very good) and Spanish dancing (so bad it was funny!).

We were all inclusive - water, soft drinks and beer on tap and you help yourself (great!) Sometimes a queue at the bar for wine or spirits.

Food - pool snacks of sandwiches rolls and cakes etc through the day at set times.

For main meals you are allocated a half an hour time slot which you have to arrive in (if you miss it they moan a bit but do let you in!) You can change your timeslots to suit you. Once in the restaurant no rush.

Breakfast - fruit juice, tea, coffee, bacon, sausages, fried/scrambeled egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast and preserves, cereal, rolls, meat and cheese, croissants- all this choice every day!

Lunch/Dinner - Different choice every day pasta, rice, potatoes (mash not great) jacket potates, roast potatoes, lamb stew, chicken, lots of fish, roast pork, hamburgers, sausages, beef stew, spag bologanse, chips, rolls, variety of salad. Lots of puddings inc cake and fruit.

Food was all very fresh they are continually bringing out fresh food. They have a fresh grill where they do chicken, steak etc and cook to order.

Some people thought the food was repetative and it was if you had chips every day! we had different food every day. Children can eat from the childrens or adult buffet so could have chips or be more adventuras.

This is a beautiful setting and we are already looking at bookng next year!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank izzywizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

well what can i say. myself my wife and 15 year old son spent 2 weeks all inclusive here. what utter rubbish.felt very ripped off.lack of staff all the time,the food was great if you liked the same rubbish every day,an afternoon snack compromised of a ham and cheese sandwich or a salami roll.thats all that was on offer.according to holiday web site it has a a-la-carte restaurant. we never saw it.we ate out all the time at more expense. the alcohol i think is less than 1 per cent as i could not get merry on the beer.the pool was cleaned after complaints to the manager,the pool area is very slippery,the sunbeds and tables were never cleaned after a day of being covered in soft drinks and alcohol so hence the next day you use the same dirty furniture and spend all day getting rid of flies,YUK.this place has one restaurant and is too small. we were told on arrival that as they were so busy we could only use the restaurant at certain times!!!!. JUST NOT BIG ENOUGH.entertainment is geared at young kids,nothing for adults to do in evening as you need to eat early to get a space at the stage,yet again too small.good luck with the sticky table cloths.if you like good food,a leisurely meal,good service,cleanliness.THEN GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.THIS PLACE IS VERY VERY POOR. this is the fifth all inclusive holiday, second most expensive, and the WORST by a long long way.THEY ARE JUST NOT GEARED UP FOR ALL INCLUSIVE. every body we spoke to was of the same opinion and were all going to complain when they got home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tessmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,800 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,084 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
614 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $128 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing