We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from Gran Oasis Resort and quite honestly say the hotel was great, the accommodation was lovely but most of all, the staff made the holiday, Luis and his team in the resturant, tessa and colleagues (sorry forgotten names) in reception, Renate and the animation team, bar staff, cleaners etc were all incredible and each one of you really made our holiday special! Staff would take five minutes each day just to go out of their way to speak with you and help with our very limited Spanish. We stayed in suite Uno Tres Ocho and it was truly beautiful. We were fortunate and stayed during the week when there was a special pool party to potentially launch a new act in the entertainment, the General Manager was their on the evening and he also took time out to spend speaking with us, I have been on really good holidays but can honestly say I have never left a holiday with a lasting impression of so many staff. Thank You! Ignore the reviews about people complaining about the food, the food was top notch and always catered for all tastes. If you get the chance to see Top Hat and Heels I would definitely recommend seeing it, it was fantastic!! I am looking forward to my return visit next time.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking a suite, they are lovely, there was only three of us on this occasion howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, hotel manager and all the staff want to thank you very much for sharing your holidays with us and for writing this very kind comments about your experience in our resort.

It is gorgeous to know that you found all the staff very nice and attentive, the hotel beautiful and your suit uno tres ocho lovely.

It is fantastic at the same time reading how much fun did you have the night of the summer party. Really it was very ejoyable and all the guests did congratulate our team and manager for organizing such party.

We can´t wait to see you again, so we do hope you are planing to come back very very soon

Kindest Regards
BE HAPPY

Lydia Rguez
Reception Deaprtment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,174 - 2,180 of 3,486 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from the Gran Oasis Resort having travelled with my wife, daughter aged 3 and son 11 and stayed for 10 nights. The holiday was booked very last minute with First Choice and I was absolutely delighted with the quality of the Gran Oasis after we arrived and checked in.

On our arrival getting there about 9.45pm the receptionist arranged for us to get a late meal and feed the kids at the restaurant then afterwards booked us in! This was greatly appreciated and helped get the holiday to a great start.

Upon entering the apartments for the first time I was genuinely impressed with the quality of the apartments. I even told the kids to stay still for 5 mins while I got photographs of the room before they got their hands on it :-)

After a nights sleep we then got off to breakfast and headed for the pool? That was the first problem? Trying to get a decent spot close to pool so you can keep close to kids who were magnetised to the pool as soon as they laid eyes on it! In the end I had to resort to early AM wake ups just to bag a couple of decent sunbeds? But it had to be done as its obvious some folks just bag a bed just for the sake of it and don't use them all day without consideration for families or parents who would like to be close to hand to helping their wee ones about the pool.

Special appreciation however must go to all the staff who work at the Gran Oasis. To their credit they work very hard and keep the appearance of the resort in top shape but you wonder why some folks can't be bothered finding a bin to dispose of their rubbish?

Aplauso Aplauso Aplauso to the Animation team of Tina, Renata and Enzo!! You were fantastic and the magnificent pool party right on our last night was superb and featured Top Hat and Heels one of the islands greatest drag acts. It was a fabulous night and rounded of our holiday quite nicely. This animation team are a credit to the hotel and hopefully the management will keep them for a long time!

Food was great and I had no issues finding something to eat. Always plenty available and sometimes happy to wait a couple of minutes for the hot dish to be grilled and served up fresh. I have to confess though the hot dogs at the poolside bar was my guilty pleasure for a mid-afternoon snack!

All in all the Gran Oasis was a great resort to stay in and both my kids had a ball and a lot of fun. We also went to Aqualand and went to town a couple of times but the Gran Oasis had everything you needed it was all good for the younger ones. Also the Thomas Cook Kids Club was based there & for a small fee we dropped our daughter for some sessions even although we went with FC and she was well looked after by them.

I never had any issues with the service at Gran Oasis and I certainly would love to go back next year :-) I will keep watching out for you Gran Oasis so keep up the good work and 'Be Happy'. We stayed in room 189 for 10 nights which was really nice and quite, towards the bottom level of the complex, with good easy access and no stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Department at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Family,

Gran Oasis Resort management and all the staff, want to thank you very much for sharing your holidays here with us.

It is great to know your opinion. Thank you very much for taking your time to write in this site too.
We feel very HAPPY as you have spent a great time here, the staff has been very felpful and you have enjoyed so much with Renate and her Animation team.

We do really hope that finally you are planning your next year holidays to spend them again in Gran Oasis. For us it would be a big present to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Aplauzo for you too and BE HAPPY

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been to the gran oasis 3 times every thing is great but this time round the food was bland, boring, not cooked properly and not to the same standards it has been previously, this has now put us in a position to look for some where different next year

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thornton-powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We do want to thank you very much for sharing your holidays with us and for writing your sincere opinon on this site.

I have taken note about your comment regarding food and i will pass the review to the chef and general manager.

For us it would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you would give us another opportunity. I am sure that we can improve our food service and we can surprise you with the same quality that we did offer you on your first and second visit.

For anything you could need, you know that you can contact us at any time.

Best Wishes

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Currently staying here . Lovely room 186. Reception staff excellent nothing a problem danny and tessa. Waiters and bar staff super and heads of restaurant are super, they r 2 lovely managers. All staff at this hotel are happy great with the kids and woek very hard. The cleaner's keep the place spotless and the food is excellent. Only grumble is the animation and professional shows not up to standard of such a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank argyll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear guest,

It is fantastic to know that you are still spending a very nice holidays in our resort,

We do want to thank you very much for choosing us and as well for taking your time during the holidays to write this very kind comments about the service received.

You know that for anything you should need, all the staff is here, very pleased to help you.

Best regards
Lydia Rguez

Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently returned from a family holiday in Gran oasis resort, most impressive was the quality and care shown towards customers from ALL staff in the hotel from reception, to the dining room welcome every day, including all animation teams especially katie, zoe, sarah Thomas Cook Reps, who were above and beyond call of duty after my mother was urgently admitted to hospital in Las americas, staff even gave me fruit to take in ( we were on an all inc basis) then on return back to the hotel all greeted her like along lost relative with hugs and kisses, even from the lifeguard who helped her into the ambulance to the guy who brought the car up to her room, (which made her day).

Food was lovely but after 2 weeks all inc. does get repetitive but quality excellent . no rude people pushing you out of the way to get to their toast! very civilised and relaxed.

Entertainment on an evening not my cup of tea but tribute bands were really good some very bad ie Neil Diamond but comedy value priceless think he got paid off! Would have liked an area for adults with proper glasses, not plastic cups gin n tonic not the same out of plastic but understand at poolside health and safety issues.

Overall would recommend this hotel good value for money staff, first class weather perfect!

Accommodation everthing you need and very clean BUT lots of steps to our accommodation 86 steps up we didint mind but hard for elderly relatives. A ramp around the complex available for cases etc.

Room Tip: any mobility issues, i would advise to book a room prior to going near reception as not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear family,

We do want to thank you very much for sharing your holidays with us and for your very nice comments about your experience in our resort.

It is great to know that after all you have spent a very nice holidays and we do hope that now once you are back at home, you are planning your next visit to Tenerife and to Gran Oasis Resort

For us it would be a big present to welcome you again

THank you very much for everything and if you decide to come back, for anything you should need before, please feel free to contact us

Best Wishes
Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent a week ere end of June an as soon as we got home we was looking to go back next year,lovely room,food was nice something for every 1,staff was very helpful & very friendly.Will defo be going back :-)

Room Tip: We was in room 19 which was up quite a lot of stairs from the pools so would recommend room round po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Gran Oasis wants to thank you very much for spending your holidays with us and for taking your time once back at home to write this very nice comments about your experience in our resort.

It is great to know that you found the staff very helpfull and attentive and that is the most important reazon to come back

We do hope to welcome you again very very soon

Best Regards
BE HAPPY

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in room 146. First of all went with jet2 who were very good, highly organised, met at airports by reps, everything seamless. Gran Oasis excellent, spotlessly clean, friendly helpful staff. Duplex apartment spacious and spotless, air-con in downstairs bedroom, 2 balconies, nice kitchen. Maid service 5 days a week. Food wonderful! This is a major strong point of this resort, we were all inclusive with 2 kids and everyone was thrilled with huge variety and quality of the cuisine.Well done Oasis kitchen staff! We would return for the food alone! Gorgeous beer and wine. Elsewhere, pools beautifully maintained, animation team great with small kids and good continuation from them into the evening entertainment, which was generally of a good standard, shutting down around 11pm. Special mention for Daniel on reception, an excellent administrator. Weather beautiful of course. We will return to this resort. Thankyou Gran Oasis for a wonderful family holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear family,

Gran Oasis Resort has not got words enough to thank you for sharing your very deserved family holidays and for taking your time once back at home to write this very kind comments about us.

It is really gorgeous to know that you find the hotel comfortable, well cleaned and maintained, room spacious and beautiful, food very tasty and what is really one of the most important things for us, a helpful, friendly and attentive staff.

I will pass your comments to all the departments, kitchen, bars, animation, cleaning, maintenance and of course to reception too, where Daniel is doing a lovely job day by day.

We do thank you very much once again for everything and we do really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards from all the team and hotel management
BE HAPPY

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,800 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,086 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
616 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $126 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing