We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Gran Oasis. Firstly the staff are all lovely, nothing is too much trouble for any of them (a special mention to Luis manager of the restaurant)
All hotel areas are spotlessly clean, rooms are spacious and cleaned 5 days out of 7, however they are on 2 levels and this may cause problems for families with toddlers and small children.
In my opinion it is too far to walk into Playa de las Americas from the hotel and you would definitely need to know where you are going if you want to do so, however the hotel runs a free bus and taxis are approx. 5 euros one way. There is plenty to eat throughout the day in either the restaurant or pool bar, although found the restaurant to be a little crowded at times with not much room to move once you are at your table although this is a minor niggle, and the food could be a little warmer. We would certainly return to this hotel as we found it a lovely, friendly resort.
Do go to Siam Water Park as it is the best we have ever been to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YvonneB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, RECEPCION at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinions about the resort. We have passed your good reviews about Luis and he is very proud of it.
The two levels in the one bedroom apartments is something clients must know in advance, before booking the Gran Oasis Resort. It is very good that you mentioned because, unfortunately, most of guests are not aware of that.
Thank you again for your contribution and see you next time.
Eva Postigo
Recepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,310 - 2,316 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the gran oasis in the easter holiday.
The hotel is spotless and the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them!
You are given a time slot for your meals however a lot of people choose to ignore this and in turn this creates lots of queues for the buffet, there has been lots of reviews that the food is cold however the kitchen staff do there best as people take no notice of the booking system.
The pool grounds are spotless and cleaned every evening.
The rooms are really nice and well equiped.
The entertaiment on the evening is fab for kids and the mini disco in particular was a great hot for my kids!!
Siam park and Lora Park are must sees but when you book these make sure you also book travel to them as lora park is 90 mins away and cost us an addtional £60.
However these are well worth the money

All in all a brillaint familly holiday and i would most certainly return to the resort and the hotel!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a steep hill with lots of steps so maybe older guests and people with children need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, RECECPTION at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your good comments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and in Tenerife.
It is also very important for us to know that you followed the times given to use the Restaurant and that you did notice the importance of that to have seats available.
Thank you again and, of course, we hope to see you soon.

Eva Postigo
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent resort, really really good! Food was great choice, all staff were happy and helpful, location was a bit far from the town but there is a free coach service there. Very clean everywhere, big rooms with huge tv's. Free WiFi around the whole resort. Entertainment was great - Tina & Renate worked so very hard & they were great. But they could do with an extra pair of hands as they work their socks off with ridiculously long hours! The entertainment is really fun once you get involved. Water polo was exciting in the day, water aerobics was interesting as well & the evening entertainment was super! Bring your own pillow though as they are the shape of a sausage dog and are quite hard. That was the only negative, so that resort was super! Love Team Tuna!!!!!!!!!!! xxxxxxx

Room Tip: If you cannot walk uphill/far then ask for a lower room, if you don't want the noise and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, RECECPTION at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

It is very nice to read your opinions. The hotel would like to thank you for your reviews.
We are also taking notice of your good advises. See you next time.

Eva Postigo
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After reading many reviews on the Gran Oasis we went with an open mind and we are so glad we stayed here . Firstly the staff are so friendly, happy, courteous and helpful they make for a happy holiday . The accomodation is quaint, spacious, clean, and all round excellent . The pools are perfect, one for very small children, then up a size and one that mostly adults would use and maybe a few older children, we went as a couple but the hotel would suit everyone, it was remarkably quiet for sleeping in the evening and would maybe be a little busier in high season,although we were told the hotel was full even in March, but dont be mistaken that i mean there was no entertainment because there was. The food was excellent so much to choose from and varied as much as possible when you are catering for so many people on mass, all meals were great, loved the champagne breakfasts,we ate out a couple of lunches and our last evening but only as we made our last night special and we were out and about so not at the hotel a couple of times for lunch .We absolutely thoroughly enjoyed our stay here the only thing i would say on reading the reviews yes Gran Oasis is up a very steep hill and there is only one way in but it didnt and wouldnt put me off, we found it a great way to get some exercise each day going for a walk to work off some of the plentiful food we had eaten, so unless you are not able at all to manage the hill dont be put off we had a holiday to remember .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, RECEPTION at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are very proud to know that your stay at the Gran Oasis Resort was a holiday to remember. How beautiful is the expression to describe your feelings after staying in our hotel. Thank you very much for your opinions and we would be very happy to see you soon.
Eva Postigo
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is a fantastic place to stay. It is so clean and pleasing to the eye. The staff throughout the complex are friendly, polite and very helpful. The pool areas are cleaned regularly throughout the day and there is a lot going on during the day with kids activities and some for the adults too. We were regularly entertained with a fashion show or the inflatable slide being put into the larger pool. Plenty of sunbeds available, while we were there the beds were being swapped over for newer ones. The shop is value for money and the snacks during the day are plentiful and well presented. Our one bedroom apartment was very good, my daughter had the top floor to herself with a put up bed, but it with two beds it may feel cramped in the room as there is a lot of furniture in the living room area. The bedroom, downstairs, is lovely and cool although our bed was very hard. Bathroom is adequate and the shower is powerful. The room was cleaned to a high standard every time. The restaurant is clean and inviting although it is on the small side. Although the food was diverse and lots on offer, it was not very hot. The layout needs to be reconsidered as they have sweets and savoury foods all over the place. The location of the hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Los Cristianos downhill. We walked in to the town a couple of times and got taxis back about 3-6 euros. Fanabe market is good for a bag etc.. On Saturdays and Thursdays.
A lovely holiday, great weather - just needs rethinking in the food department.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel with a request for a pool view room prior to our visit and we had a room right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpedder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepcion G, RECEPTION at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

The hotel wants to thank you for the good comments about the Gran Oasis Resort. We do also take very much into consideration your opinions regarding the temperature and the layout of the food. Thank you again for your advices and we should see you next time.

Eva Postigo
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in September , the hotel is very nice , lovely pools and good food , great for family's with lots of activities for kids, hotel is a good 30mins walk from the main resort downhill , are room was overlooking the golf course and over two levels, bedroom and bathroom downstairs , lovely kitchen and great sized living area with balcony overlooking golf course, all things said its a nice hotel that represents good value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just returned from the Gran Oasis resort in Tenerife. We read the reviews on trip advisor and some of them were spot on.

You can't fault the staff or cleanliness. The motto of the resort is "Be Happy" and the staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean as were the pool areas and everywhere else.

Some negative points though.

The beds - ours were just not comfortable. Our children were on put up beds which we moved into the main bedroom as they were not happy about being upstairs on their own. Everytime they moved the beds made such a noise that I don't think I slept for most of the 6 nights we were there.

The evening entertainment - it just wasn't great. We were most annoyed on the night of the snake show which our children wanted to see and when they wanted to charge 20 euros for a photograph and made my husband delete those he had already taken.

The food - although there was something different every night, it generally wasn't hot and some nights we struggled to find something we liked. The salad bar was pretty much the same each night. Breakfast was good with lots of variety and we enjoyed having lunch at the pool bar rather than going to the main restaurant.

Other positive points. The daytime entertainment was good. We really enjoyed the Monday welcoming from the resort staff. The pool bar is great our children enjoyed being able to help themselves to drinks and snacks throughout the day.

All in all we had an enjoyable holiday but there are definitely areas where there could be some improvements made to make it even better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KNBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,220 reviews
1 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $132 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing