We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag for us.”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My Girlfriend and our 5 and 6 years son and daughter have just returned from the Gran Oasis Resort. Overall we had a really good time but the hotel did have some faults. So here goes....

Hotel - Excellent
Pool areas - Excellent
Staff - Excellent, Friendly and really worked hard. (more staff were needed at times though and most seemed overworked)
Rooms - Excellent, spacious, clean and flexible.

All inclusive drinks - you can serve your self with wine and beer and soft drinks and they don't question how many you get each time, local spirits are served at the bar and again you don't get asked or questioned even if you double up YES! .You can also upgrade to get all well known brands.

Now for the mixed bag

Food - I agree with what some people have said on here, the food isn't too bad but it could be warmer and the overall service could be better, far too many times things ran out and no one was available to refresh certain foods, especially the more popular ones. The variety is good, and there were some nice dishes but most things were bland and tasteless. The choice for children was also a little limited at times. The choice at lunch time was more limited, but it was better taste wise, warmer and more flexible for children. Breakfast was about the best for us.

Entertainment - The entertainment wasn't good at all, and on some nights it was that bad only a handful of people were left, not surprising when your dishing up parrot shows, eagle shows (both of these were more interested in making money for photos) and dodgy local singers. The kids disco wasn't brilliant and the location of the disco is a bit ropey, they all dance on the edge of a staircase down to the pool.... a health and safety nightmare. I would like to think the entertainment gets better as the season roles on.

Daytime kids entertainment - Not bad, always something to do but a maybe a little more creativity needed.

Location - The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from Las Americas, and the same down to Los Cristianos or a free bus....Siam Park is a free short bus ride away. There is also a beautiful Golf Course connected to the resort.

Considering we only paid just over £250 each for a week, I would say that this is great value for money. I have stayed at better hotels and much worse and even though there were some issues its worth a visit, but only if you can get a good deal, I honestly think if you pay too much you will be disappointed.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: if you want to be away from the disco rooms 198 - 209 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hilda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 3,504 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This resort is fantastic for families with kids under 10 . You will get everything which you want.It has also an all inclusive option which is good only for days that you want to spend in hotel. If you want to go to other attractions in Tenerife you can do something else. The shows and other facilities are best for children under 10 and the rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all types of kitchen equipments, You can make food and manage your money .They have a good supermarket there and you can buy everything which you want .They have service bus to many places in Tenerife and the personnel are very happy and helpful. They don't have room service on Wednesday and Saturday and this was a negative point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sorena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

spent 1 week at this resort with my husband 11yr old son & his friend, we had a fantastic time, good clean standard throughout, apartments were very impressive cleaned 4 out of the 7 days, lots of space, well equipped, comfiest bed I've ever slept in. the resort had plenty to do, staff were excellent nothing was any trouble, I had a problem with travel to an excursion & they were very good at helping me call the company. only problem we had was with the bar, we were not all inclusive & did not want a bill at the end of the week so opted out of the hotel card, the bar till did not have money in it so every time we wanted a drink a member of staff had to go to reception for our change which always took approx. 10 mins. Be careful of the taxi drivers, the majority are honest but the resort is a good 15/20 mins walk into Los Christianos & although they have meters 1 evening a taxi driver took 7.50 euro, it should not be any more than 4 euro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, well worth the current trip advisor rating.

We got a taxi from the hotel - be careful the driver claimed he had "no change" for the 30 euros we gave him - eventually we got the 5 euros we were due back..nice try !!!!

We stayed in room 205, mid March, at the rear of the complex, nice and quiet. The downstairs had the bedroom and bathroom, really comfortable bed with a large "put me up" for our 6 year old.

Upstairs all you would expect from a self catering apartment with a balcony which had the sun all afternoon

The pool area was good, the main pool warm and the children's pool great

The Children's entertainer was great both during the day and for the mini disco at 7.30 each night, really tried hard to look after the children

We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on this but the drinks were well priced, all areas were spotless and cleaned every night

We got a taxi each night into the "safari" area were the best restaurants are - 5 euros each way. Try the Chinese Teppanyaki and Gran Reserva opposite

We went to Aqualand by taxi 7 euros rather than Siam due to having a 6 year old, good move loads of rides for her and plenty for adults, included in the price is the dolphin show which is superb. As it was out of season we didn't have to wait for a single ride. We got the courtesy bus park to the nearest hotel which is about a 10 minute walk to the rear of the golf course

All in all a great place, would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: room 205 out of the way and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markwHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Apartment fine did have to borrow a gate from reception as we have a 1 year old and the apartment on 2 levels and very dangers steps if my child fell down them. Food was very basic nothing to write home about at all and was never hot. Children disco was ok always late starting and didn't last long and they danced write by some steep steps which is a bit scary if your child got carried away. All in all can't see us going back!!!

Room Tip: We paid for deluke with a/c on booking not much more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed one week, 19-26th March, Weather was excellent very hot, hotel was good all round, rooms were fine and clean, two levels, kitchen lounge upstairs, bedroom toilet downstairs, both had patio doors out to a sitting area with chairs.

Beds are not very comfy.

No air conditioning unless you upgrade to delux room.

Pool area was fine, some days were very busy and not enough loungers to go round other than that it was fine.

Food was OK, salads didn't have cold meats, usual pizza and chips, all a bit normal for all inclusive, sometimes food temp a bit cold by the time you got sat down, lunch much the same, we ate out four nights, that was our choice though.

If eating out try Michelangelos, just at the start of Las Americas, it is Fab, really good service and the food is ACE.

The hotel is a fair walk away from Americas with a couple of long hills on the way back.

No Gym at this hotel, I used the Marylanza for 10 Euro per day, it is a really good gym.

Hotel staff were very helpful, and always smiling.

A taxi from Las Americas area to hotel is around 5-6 Euro.

Overall our stay was fine, weather spot on, I wouldn't go back to this hotel due to the location, I prefer the Americas or Adeje areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Gran Oasis 15th-22nd March i emailed the Hotel a few weeks prior to our visit asking for an apartment in a quiet area of the complex ...we got one directly above the busy top swimming pool !!!Good start.The Thomas Cook rep did offer to speak to management for a move but as we were only there a week we decided to stay put.The apartments are nicely decorated and spacious with full kitchen facilities for self catering,the whole complex was spotless and clean.The staff at the Hotel from reception,barstaff, restaurant, cleaners etc were all extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.The nightime entertainment was a bit dour and the complex seemed to shut down after 10pm, The walk to Playa de las Americas is a lot longer than the 20mins some folk seem to think it takes,but taxis are cheap about 5euros and reception will ring and order one and are at hotel in a couple of mins. Los christianos is a bit rundown and boring compared to the smart commercial areas of Americas,it was our first visit to Tenerife but we enjoyed it and after what we saw it wont be our last.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,220 reviews
1 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $134 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing