We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mona and Bo Carlson”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After our fifth stay at this beutiful place we can just give our recomendations to chose Gran Oasis
Resort when you like to spend your holiday at Playa Las Americas/Los Christianos. We prefer not
be right in the middle of the city during the days and nights, however a walk is perfect and takes 20-30 min or you take the free bus down to the shopping/beaches. Taxi appr. EUR 5-6:-.

All the stuff is extremly friendly and it starts in the reception. The service is very good and it is clean and nice. The flats are very nice and the kitchen is well equipped. We coocked ourselfs
some days, took 3 days "all inclusive" and the rest at restaurants in the town. For families and
"a little older people" Gran Oasis Resort is exellent with very nice pool-areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,306 - 2,312 of 3,459 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here 2 weeks in January 2013 and it's one of the best holidays we've had, thanks to this wonderful hotel. We were 3 adults, 1 teenager and we lived in an apartment with two bedrooms and a roof terrace. We all had all inclusive both weeks. The night we arrived we didn't have to carry our heavy luggages up many stairs because the hotel has own "roads" where you can go with your luggage and we found that very useful and it made everything easier. The all inclusive meals were all perfect and we would never go hungry. There was something for everyone at breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks and you could just eat and eat much as you would like of all the lovely food all day. The food was always good and we were pleased with it both weeks. At breakfast there was even a machine that makes freshly pressed orange juice and it was delicious and VERY popular but the staff always came with new oranges so there was orange juice for everyone! The staff were also incredible friendly and helpful, one of the best staffs we've ever seen. The room we had was perfect, the living room and kitchen was perfect in size and so were the two bedrooms and the bathroom. The cleaning lady was amazing and she'd clean your room everyday besides a couple of days but we didn't need her to clean EVERY day when she cleaned so nicely. We had a balcony out from our apartment and to get to the roof terrace you had to leave your room and go up some stairs but that worked out really nice. The roof terrace was really big, had sunbeds and even a little shed. The view was AMAZING! we didn't really expect a huge, beautiful view so we were very surprised by this. You could see everything, the pool area, the ocean, the city and you could even spot La Gomera from our balcony. You could also see boats on the ocean and air planes coming in for landing. We definitely would recommend the apartment with a roof terrace. The hotel is placed a bit far away from everything but I don't think people should complain about this because it's pretty obvious that it is a bit far from things and if you wanted a hotel in the middle of the city you wouldn't stay on this one. And if you wanted to go to the city, the Jungle Park, Siam Park, the Monkey Park or Loro Parque you could just get on a bus or take a taxi without that being too expensive. There was also a footpath behind the hotel where you could walk to the city in around 30 minutes. After a long day in the city or in one of the parks it's incredibly nice to come back to this cool and relaxing hotel were you can just relax and eat. The entertainment was also good every night, there's something for both kids, teens and adults. The entertainment staff were full of energy and there was something to do all day, every day. The night time entertainment was different everyday and really nice. Nothing to complain about at this hotel. Would definitely go back to this hotel, could stay there for months! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jorunn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at Gran Oasis .
Lovely clean hotel.
Great pool area
Entertainment staff friendly and excellent at their job
Large rooms on 2 levels -upstairs lounge area and kitchen
Downstairs bedroom and bathroom and outside balcony
All the hotel staff were very polite and friendly
Great drinks not watered down like on some Ai's
If I could make one very minor complaint it is that the food could sometimes have been a little warmer although to be fair the choice and variety was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phil2latics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Doesn't really feel like you're staying at a hotel, feels more like you're staying in a little village. The hotel isn't too far away from the airport, so it's not a long journey to get there. Great staff, all really nice. Even those who spoke little English still always said hello and smiled. Reception staff were fantastic and very helpful if we had any questions. Also the reception area was very peaceful, with seating areas with little birds in cages chirping away. The swimming pools were very clean and looked lovely lit up at night! Sometimes it got slippy on the tiles around the pool area but what do you expect, you just have to be careful. The lady that did water aerobics when we stayed was very fun and friendly and made sure to get everyone she could involved! She was full of energy which I think made it more fun for everyone else. The apartment we had was lovely, very clean and having 2 bathrooms in it made it very helpful for us when we were all trying to shower and get ready. Our microwave in our apartment didn't work but as soon as we phoned and told them at reception, a repair man was there replacing it. One problem with the apartment was that in one of the rooms the fan was quite noisy so had to be turned off at night as we couldn't sleep, and it did get quite hot during the night but all the other fans in the apartment were fine so maybe this one was just faulty. We had a balcony that had a great view down to the pool, and looking down onto las americas and los cristianos. We also had a roof top terrace which was excellent for those who love the sun, as it had direct sun light all day long. On the terrace it had a table and chairs, and plenty of sun loungers. We were self catering so didn't eat at the hotel. We went to the entertainment and the nights we did go it was good, other nights we would usually go a walk down to either las aericas or los cristianos, it was quite a walk but there is so much to look at you don't notice how far you've walked. If you're not one for walking, a taxi is only 4 euros to get down there from the hotel, which I think is very reasonable. Overall I think this place is amazing! I would recommend it to everyone and I can't wait to go back again this year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. We would definitely return. The staff cant do enough for you, they were amazing, from the reception team to the restaurant team to the entertainment team, all first class and all work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. The food was better than most AI, and themed nights give variety, which is often lacking. The freshly squeezed orange juice machine was a bonus in the mornings too, I cannot imagine how many oranges they get through!. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, and always kept very clean. Only 20 mins from Airport, so perfect location. My only criticism is that they charge 20 euros deposit for each towel you hire and if you want it washed they charge 2.50 for it, take your own especially if you are with a large family as this will tie up a lot of your holiday cash!

Room Tip: All rooms are only 2 floors, some are up lots of steps, so ask for a low level if you are travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Deldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff,3 pools 1 heated,food was ok,the 1 downside to this hotel was the dining area which was a bit tired.apartment was ok,entertainment on a night is for the under 10s,reception area lobby is a nice place to sit and relax with a drink,best thing about this holiday was the sun 25 degrees everyday in january 8th to 15th wished we had a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've just came back from here, i went on new years day for 2 weeks we paid 1600, for 2 people sharing. its located between playa las america and Los christianos.. on a HUGE hill, we found that the more we walked down hill the hotter it became.. the resort itself was clean, and so pretty, our rooms were always tended to, and maids were pleasant. pool and dining areas were also clean and staff very pleasant..apart from a blonde barmaid on the poolbar with a BAD attitude problem.. we were ALL INCLUSIVE in our stay here, drinks were never limited, you could order as much as you liked, until 11pm which by then all the 'ENTERTAINMENT' was well and truly finished anyway, entertainment was shocking, even the kids got bored.. bingo everynight again boring a few shows which we eneded up seeing some of them twice..only one bar so you have no different choice there was however wide variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available, so no problem in that department, but the food was shocking, i must add breakfast was amazing.. cannot fault them, and also day time snacks (but they were just hotdogs pizza and burgers) cant really go wrong, dinners were appauling, hardly any choice one night it was chinese themed night, they didnt even serve any curries? food was always cold.. or limited as never enough out. if you hate walking be prepared to fork out for taxis as you are up in the mountains.. away from any bar or restaurant, nearest supermarket is about 10-12 minute walk.. they have one on complex but the till nver works.. nearest bar is in playa las americas approx 20-25 min walk.. taxi fare in to los christianos or playa is approx 8-10euros each way.. its a striaght walk down the hill across and dirt track.. its signed pretty well so you wont get lost, i didnt mind walking down but its not so nice going back up...especially after a few bevvys! nightlife? PLAYA las americas... i found so many club reps offering deals to drag you in the bars worked out 10x cheaper, Los christianos? i found quite posh, and less looky looky men around nice for dinner... if you walk along the beach front from playa las americas you will come in to adeje! in about 5-8 minute walk.. i found this place the best more lively great pubs, clubs restaurants..cheaper trips and watersports..and a beautiful beach the rest were rocky! we had friends staying in the Be Live La Nina - would reccomend that hotel to anyone

had an amazing time, but this time i am going back in may and will be staying in the Be Live La Nina :) happy holidays!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazytraveller446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#8 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,787 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,051 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $132 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing