We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the All Inclusive Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponderosa Apart Hotel
Wrexham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the All Inclusive Package”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Service was very poor,only a couple of friendly staff members others were rude and unhelpfull. It took two days of asking to eventually get extra pillows.I don't know how many cleaning staff they had but we didn't see any.Room cleaned on day 5 of holiday,bed linen and towels changed on day 6 even though we asked on day 4 and 5.Room was spacious and reasonably quiet,needs fair amount of refurbishment as bath had a lot of rust around it. No Air-Con or ceiling fans so hot and stuffy.Further away from the beach than advertised,close to busy main roads but not noisy.Ten minute walk to various bars which was handy as the entertainment was a spanish singer on a keyboard singing somewhere out of sight.The food selection was terrible a choice of two things the same every day and desserts vertually non-existant breakfasts were good, I mentioned this to the rep who said "what did you expect for 3star",and told me where we could go for nice food and dessrets (HELLO,we're All-inc').We have stayed in many 3star accomodations and they have been brilliant but this experience has forced me to place a review.The pool areas were clean and plenty of sun loungers. A good selection of drinks at the bar,some bar staff miserable and only one on duty cleaning tables and having to serve so could be slow service.We have been to Tenerife over a dozen times and know the Island well so location was quite good for visiting friends and places we know.Hygiene e.g. room cleaning/towels and bedding change extremely bad and when you requested anything they didn't want to know.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynn477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    125
    198
    108
    266
See reviews for
159
264
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

Myself and partner(age 28-32) stayed at the ponderosa on a self catering package for a week. We found the room and equpiment to be very basic. 2 ceramic rings and a sink. the cleanliness of the room left a bit to be desired. But on a postive side we only used the room as a base so bacon baps in the morning. local spar only a couple of mins walk away. around 4-5 euros for bread and bacon(nice hot bread as wel) Furthermore there was plenty of hot water and a large balcony and decent size fridge to put a few beers in for while getting ready. We had 3 visits from the maids. So just remember that it is a budget hotel, i would recomend going self catering as there are many cheap places to eat and drink, you just have to wander and look. Hotel also 10 min walk from main nightlife, 5 mins from bus station. We couldnt comment on food and drink as we didnt sample the hotels resturant and bar. Furthermore main road behind hotel can be very noisy early morning!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I read some pretty bad reviews of ocean ponderosa, so i was a bit dubious about it, but it wasnt actually that bad! Not the best hotel in the world mind you but what do you expect for that price!

Ocean Ponderosa is in a good location as it is a short walk from the beach and the shops (even though every single shop in playa de las americas sells the same useless tat!) Personally I would have prefered to stay in Los Christianos as the town is a lot prettier, has better shops, and you can tell its actually lived in, unlike las americas which is purely for the tourists! But it's a bit late for that now!

The decor of the hotel looks like it wouldnt be out of place in chernobyl, but that seems to be standard of the area. The room's a good size and fairly clean (ingoring one dodgy looking towel!) not the comfyest though. The maid came every other day.

The female staff are smiley and friendly, however the men seemed very rude. One barman in particular was very rude to women and seemed to ignore young people. A good selection of drinks however. Also the reception staff are a little rude to young people.

The food isnt too bad, as long as you eat it when its fresh, as it sits there a long time. Some days it didnt taste too great though, and was a bit samey, but that depends on personal choice, as my family loved it.

The entertainment is pretty awful and repetitive, but a good oportunity to use the all inclusive bar, to make it amusing! There are 2 lovely pools with lots of sunbeds; one close to the bar and in the sun, the other a little more relaxing. There are a few pool tables around the hotel, and table tennis, although it may be an idea to invest in your own ball and bats! Theres also a playstation and internet access which cost 2 euros for 20 minutes (not long enough for the playstation!)

There was plenty of information about the local water parks and zoo, however the hotel seemed to lack information about the services and activities it provided.

Overall it is what you expect for the price of it. In my opinion it would be better as a weekend resort than a week, but again thats personal opinion. Although there was several bad points i stated, it actually was a lot better then i had expected!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deadlyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We are a group of 4 - 3 Adults and one teenager aged 13 and stayed at the A Ponderosa, Aparthotel Ponderosa, Ocean Ponderosa ... yes, they have a few names for 14 nights - All Inclusive.

ARRIVAL
Upon arrival at 2.30pm we were greeted by a very pleasant English speaking receptionist who went through all the usual check-in procedures that took about 5 minutes. My only gripe was that we had to sign a sheet of A4 paper each that was in Spanish and when asking what is was for, she replied 'It's Normality for Spanish Police'. Hey-ho!

THE ROOM
Rooms vary abit. We booked two studio's, which although one was meant to be a double, was arranged as a twin - however we did just push the two beds together. The rooms we were in 604/606 on Level 6 were pool facing (like all rooms) and were on the east side of the hotel building. The room upon arrival had a weird smell, what I can only describe as that smell you get when you leave something dirty damp ... nice, I know.

The bathroom is not well lit at all. Cleanliness is a big problem in this hotel. Both our rooms had stains/marks on towels, sheets, mattresses, walls; among other things. There was dust around the skirting. The bathroom had a metal cover on the floor which was loose and had a rusty hole behind it (?).

The bedroom area itself had a very strange shelving unit which was grubby. The kitchen area was not well maintained and was badly stained/rusty. There is one storage cupboard which has your safe inside which you have to pay extra for.

The TV in the room has about 20 channels, of which 3 are English - namely Eurosport, BBC1 and Channel 4. The rest are either German or Spanish. There is a Playboy channel that seems to 'pump out' material during the night - not very good if you have kids staying in a room.

Having read previous reviews about this hotel with regards to cockroaches I can honestly say I did not come across one in this hotel.

THE HOTEL
A word of warning - I milked the use of the Free WIFI in the reception area while in the hotel which was fast enough to watch YouTube for example - however this location was great for listening to people at the reception desk. On more than one occasion, guests were complaining of items being stolen from their rooms. I spoke to one of these people and the hotel said there is nothing they can do and to contact the local police - who strangely enough do not speak a word of English? Hmph! I was luckily enough not to be targeted.

There are two lifts in the hotel which were reliable and the general area's of the hotel were well maintained. We saw painting, weeding and general maintenance work taking place so it does look like they are trying to make the complex more appealing.

There are two pools and a small kids paddle pool. A small kids playpark, various arcade machines, web access, PS3, pool etc by the bar and in main building.

THE RESTAURANT & BAR
If your travelling All Inclusive you will get Breakfast, Lunch, Bar Snacks and Dinner alongside local spirits and soft drinks. The AI drink times are 10am - 11pm, although the bar stays open until 12pm at night.

Breakfast consists of streaky bacon, fried/scrambled egg, fried bread, grilled tomato, beans alongside the usual continental variety - although we were slightly annoyed by the variety of pastries. Overall, a good breakfast.

Lunch and Dinner usually consist of similar culprits. Usually some sort of fish, pasta and deep-fried breaded thing! There is usually a steamed veg on the buffet too. At Dinner something is always cooking on the grill - usually Salmon, Burgers or Paella. The food is very bland so take some tabasco with you just incase. Out of 14 days we probably ate in the hotel about 3/4 times and ate out on the other nights. There is a salad bar too, with carrots, lettuce, mayo, tomato's etc. The rolls for all 3 sittings are always brick hard - however the daily soup is a hit or miss - the tomato and carrot soups were the best while the veg tasted abit like packet mix.

LOCATION
The Ponderosa is located on a hill, just off the main road leading to the beach. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach itself. There is a SPAR shop just around the corner if you need to pickup anything. A fab location. Again my only gripe is that the hotel is near the bus station and yes, you can hear the buses during the night.

Walking to ...
BEACH - 5 Minutes
SHOP - 3 Minutes
LOS CRISTIANOS - 25 Minutes

Siam Park is just across the road, and I heard takes about 15 minutes to get there (it's over a main road and you have to go a long way round ... ).

THE STAFF
The housekeeping staff will not even smile at you when at anytime - even if we try first! Reception staff are always welcoming and friendly and answered all our questions. The best staff in the Ponderosa by far are the bar staff - in particular a very tall blonde haired lady who I would stay made our stay at a the Ponderosa a good one! It's just a shame none of the staff wore name badges. One gentleman appeared to be the restaurant manager who was very good, and seen to everyone very quickly when working alone. A credit to the team at the hotel.

There is a small, quirky man who mans the bar during the day who is sometimes nice and sometimes isn't - depends on his mood I think and if you ever meet him, he always wears a white polo shirt that looks like it needs a good wash. The AI drinks at the bar are very debatable as to their alcohol content. My drink is Vodka and Coke - however it's official, you cannot get drunk or even slightly tipsy from the alcohol served from the Ponderosa. There are plenty bottles behind the bar and you see the staff taking off seals however ... well, you make your mind up. We ventured to a local Scottish pub for a football match one afternoon and got more drunk on 2 vodkas than we ever did.

There are pumps to the rear of the bar that produce cold water and fruit juices.

OVERALL
Having read all the reviews on here before we left we knew what to expect ... and although what I've wrote above might slate the place abit, we were honestly pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are outdated and mingin', food bland ... and well, the place not that pretty. If it's a room your after - with a FANTASTIC location from Playa Beach - I wish you luck!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RadioDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hotel rooms very dated but OK to sleep in. Found pile of sawdust from bathroom door on last morning thankfully. Something obviously eating it's way through it! Dining room very nice and service good. Breakfast full english every morning but sometimes the evening meal wasn't the best. Normally found something to eat but could do with labelling the food. Bar service good and location good. We only paid about £350 each all inclusive so couldn't grumble too much. Entertainment - they are trying but the design of the bar doesn't help! Had to hire a hair dryer. Most hotels these come as standard now. Weighing machine for luggage in reception - excellent idea as flight was with Ryanair and they are very strict!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvislover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the ponderosa from 19- 26 March. To put the record straight, the room was a bit dated but clean and adequate. we chose the area because we know it, having had a time share there for 15 years. The breakkie was great best in tenerife, bacon english sausage(a big deal in tenerife), beans tomatoes, toast decent butter. rolls, cereal, yogurt. fruit. cheese, ham, and all that stuff, eggs boiled, scrambled ,fried and omellete, brill. Lunch was fish in a delicious sauce, and chicken or beef stew, also some sort of nugget or fish or chicken in breadcrumbs, chips, fab canarian potatoes, (Lots of people were very ignorant of the way they ccok them, in salty water under a cabbage leaf) and a veg, loads of salad, pesto, olives, olive oil, if you wanted it but not if you didn't. The drinks were very good Malibu, baileys and all the normal stuff like wine soda, beer spirits. We ate out every night from our own choice but I think the evening meals were similar to the lunch. The weather was brilliant, 30 degrees on Friday when we were out of our room till our flight. A really fab holiday and now it is freezing here but I have an absolutly fabulous tan which is all I went for really. There were loads of young groups all on our floor, we heard them banging on doors in the early hours but to be truthfull not a problem as they did not make a noise during the day when I want to relax by the pool. 2 good pools, also no hair dryer but hired one from reception for 5 euros for the week, also towels for 6 euros with 1 change during the week, actually cheaper than paying for extra weight at the airport. A BRILL HOLIDAY, BUT IT IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.6 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
Hotel Villa de Adeje Beach
#55 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Apart Hotel

Property: Ponderosa Apart Hotel
Address: Avda. Venezuela, s/n, 38670 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponderosa Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponderosa Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Ponderosa Hotel Adeje
Ponderosa Apart Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing