We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would reccomend but be aware of low service level”
Review of Tucanes Gay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tucanes Gay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would reccomend but be aware of low service level”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

reception only open 09:00 - 14:00 daily, not helpful when you arrive after a delayed flight.Staff friendly, when they are around. Friendly resort,mostly german & English. Very close to Yumbo centre 2-3 minutes walk. Pool is deep enough to dive, although dirty, hot tub which is not heated. bar prices reasonable during "happy hour" bar closes early 6.p.m.
Bungalow o.k. single beds (why?) uncumfortable mattresses & pillows,no english t.v.small kitchenette, o.k. for making sndwich or salad. Close to supermarket.Lots of cats & kittens around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nacnud_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    23
    12
    30
See reviews for
1
63
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Arrived on the evening of 28/03/11, caught the bus from the airport about 4 euros, that dropped us by the Yumbo, taxi fare was overpriced around £35. There was no receptionist as it was 2 minutes to 7, but arrived two minutes later after a phone call. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking the pool, a major plus. The rooms were very very clean, new shower room and spotless kitchen. Beds were very comfortable and we had a visit every other day from a cleaner. the pool was cleaned at least twice during the visit and I would recommend this establishment for anyone looking for a bargain break. Very close to the Yumbo and it's attractions. Very relaxed and would certainly choose this establishment for a future holiday. On the minus side we had to wait three days for a kettle we brits like a kettle and the wifi was extra, we didn't bother . we would both rate it 9/10

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This used to be one of the best places to stay in Playa del Ingles. We stayed there numerous times but not again. Had to endure the stench of sewage for almost the whole week. No toilet paper. Rooms were only cleaned once. Towels have definitely seen better days. Staff tried to be helpful but overall the experience was extremely disappointing

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Tucanes is in a brilliant location but that is about the only good point. The service is poor with the poolside bar closing at 5pm and a "that's tough" attitude. Despite advertising the facility having a hot tub that also closed at 5pm so not possible to use when returning from the beach. I guess the worse part is the lack of cleaning in the rooms, old worn out towels and sheets which were not changed in the week we were there. Around the pool the tiles are black with grime so believe me you needed towels to wash.
All in all it is a great location but we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seanmartin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We were given no safe as reception did not know how it worked,our room was not cleaned for 5 days the sheets were not changed the whole week we were there.
No clean towels only on request. they would just put the towels back on the bed that we had drying.
Had to ask for toilet paper, the whole week was a disaster, had to ask for an iron which came on the 4th day.
So beware.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodgyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This bungalow resort is situated near the Jumbo shopping centre with a big variety of (gay)night life. The complex was taken over by a company called Gran Classic some time ago. The man at the reception dit not make a very good impression by suggesting that the former owner went bancrupt because he did not charge extra for the safety boxes in the bungalow. What an arrogant remark to make.

There has been done some renovation work on the bungalows. Unfortunately this was limited to replacing the windows and entrance doors. The kitchen in our bungalow was poorly equipped with not much more than 2 (partly broken) Ikea coffee cups, 3 glasses a few plates an pans, and some knifes and forks etc. We missed things like a water cooker and some cereal bowls. Cleaning and making up the beds was done about every other day. It's best to bring your own towels because the towels in the bungalow did not exactly smell fresh and clean. There was no written information at all in the bungalow about the complex.

The garden could be very nice, but needs a lot of work. There were only a few bushes and trees, and some (dry looking) lawn, but the spaces planned for flowers were all empty, and partly used by guests to get rid of their cigarette filters....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerhardNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

WOW What a week we all had 12 people 6 rooms mixture of couples and singles . It was VERY BAD ! On arrival all seemed OK efficient Airport Transfer and Key handover BUT..........
ALL 6 rooms were dirty and very basic with lots of damaged Items in the rooms like broken mirrors etc......... Limited kitchen bits toaster but no kettle ???? Power Shower was a joke and bathrooms very dangerous when wet ! Lack of towels supplied and funny smell from them. Bedding was worn and needed replacing lots of holes ! Wi-Fi what Wi-Fi it only works when the office is open 10am -4pm. NO DVD Players ! Gardens over grown in places and cut back dramatically in others covered in litter and cigaret butts ! Pool Bar was poor some staff great others bad service and attitude. Limited drinks and food available and all poor quality 3.60 Euro for a pint ! Pool Area never cleaned with graffiti around the pool side (removed once we complained) missing tiles around pool edge (dangerous) and yellow scum mark around the pool ! Jacuzzi well it was HOT but apart from that it was very very dirty and only by our complaining did it get fixed ! Pool Table broken for the 1st 3 Days. The attitude of staff was this site is mainly for Germans well fine keep that attitude and everyone else STAY AWAY ! This could be an amazing place to stay with a little effort from the owners. PS I just wish I had taken pictured I would of loved to have shown u all but I did not know I could upload ! Grrrrrrr

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonathanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exc...
#7 of 90 in Playa del Ingles
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paso Chico Gay Bungalows
Paso Chico Gay Bungalows
#2 of 90 in Playa del Ingles
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birdcage Resort Gay Lifestyle Hotel
Birdcage Resort Gay Lifestyle Ho...
#1 of 12 in Playa del Ingles
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
#1 of 166 in Maspalomas
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucanes Gay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucanes Gay

Property: Tucanes Gay
Address: Avenida Estados Unidos, 29, Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tucanes Gay 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tucanes Gay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Los Tucanes Gay And Friends
Bungalows Los Tucanes Gay & Friends Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Tucanes Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Tucanes Gay Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing