We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Quiet and friendly, Great value for money”
Review of Los Aguacates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Aguacates
Ranked #92 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Los Aguacates appartments are located adjacent to the Riu Palace (please ignore the map on here) by the sand dunes in PDI. The location is great for access to the beach and only a 5 min walk from the CC Cita shopping centre. On site there is a super market I think it was a superdino which was reasonable priced and had lots of choice. The complex has a pool and restaurant, some of the appartments are residential or privately owned mainly by Germans. The appartments and complex are dated but very clean and perfectly adequate.

We would happily stay again.....any questions please feel free to ask.
Reccommendation - Argentinian restaurant top floor of the CC Cita complex, excellent Sirlion steak in sauce for 11 Euros.
When we came to check out the receptionist happily let us stay untill our pick up time, 12.45pm without extra charge, all very relaxed and friendly.

If you want 4/5* go to the Riu accross the road and pay for it!!
We would happily stay again.....any questions please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Pool side would be the preference, away from the prevailing wind..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil3865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

the apartment is very clean and although basically furnished is of a higher standard than other apartments we have stayed in in playa. the balcony is huge and well appointed.apart from a little noise from refuse collectors in the morning it is much quieter than other appartments in playa.it is very convenient for the beach and dunes and it is a pleasant 15 minutes level walk to the yumbo.we have stayed here 3 times and have booked for 2 more holidays,staff are pleasant and courteous,the pool is clean and the supermarket in the block is well stocked and convenient.a kettle and a microwave would be useful additions to the kitchen,that is the only criticism we have.i think the number of times we have been here tells any future visitors how good it is

Room Tip: we usually stay on the finlandia side as you get the morning sun and the rooms are cooler for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Los Aquacates apartmants are in a very good and quiet location away from noisy bars right across the road from the big and new hotel complex Rui Maspalomas. Is situated only 5 minutes walk from the Cita2 complex (shopping complex - shops with gifts, supermarket, restaurants, perfumeries) and just a few minutes from some nice restaurants. The apartmant was simply but very useful furnished and very clean with huge balcony. Swimming pool was very clean, the water was little bit cold but in hottest days it is refreshing. The only negative things are beds - they creak, but for 10 nights it is ok. And there is also supermarket in the same building - it is very useful. We can recommend it to everybody (family with child, young people, handicapped.

Room Tip: with children ground floors or other visitors higher floor :) in my oppinion the better site is over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just back from a few days at the Los Aguacates which I booked last minute. Price was very reasonable -£110 for 5 nights so didn't expect much. However i was given a apartment with kitchen and big lounge and huge balcony overlooking the pool. Last year I stayed in the Caterina hotel opposite which was great but as they had no rooms I though I would give this a try. It is well placed for the beach right opposite the entrance to the dunes and far enough away from the nightlife to not be too noisy but close enough to wall to it. The staff were really friendly and as I arrived late had left the key with the restaurant staff. On leaving I had a late flight so left my bags and then there was a shower to use and a room to change in. The guy on reception was extremely helpful showing me where to shower and the room to change in. Also the lady who cleaned my room was very friendly.

The only negative thing is that there didn't appear to be any air conditioning (in my room at least) but there are windows in the kitchen and bathroom so you can get a through breeze if you have the patio doors open.The road outside can be a bit noisy with early deliveries - but to be honest it wasn't a problem and much better to be there than opposite the yumbo with the disco blaring out until 6am! Having said that - this side of the apartments gets the sun mist of the day on the balcony - nice to come back too in the afternoon.

There is also a very well stocked supermarket in the basement of the block which is very handy and means you don't have to carry things far.

If I come back to gran canaria I would consider using these apartments again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CDP4Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The apartments are in a great, quiet location away from noisy bars right across the road from the Rui Maspalomas, yet are only 5 minutes walk from the Cita2 complex and just a few minutes from some nice restaurants. The apartments are privately owned and then let out so they are not all the same. ie ours had a walk in shower but another we saw had a shower over the bath. The pool side of the complex gets the sun from mid afternoon onwards and the carpark side gets the sun in the morning but is then in the shade. The reception staff are very helpful but they don't start until 9am. There is a coonvenience store onsite selling eggs, bread, cheese, wine etc but it is expensive although its great to be able to pop round the corner for bread for breakfast. The pool is fairly large but not heated. There are plenty of free sun loungers to use. The apartments themselves are quite small but whilst it is officially a 2 star property I would rate them as 3 star compared to other places I've stayed. The beds were ok, not brilliant and the sofa was rock hard but since we didn't spend much time in the apartment we didn't mind. We cooked using the rings but the cutlery and crockery was a bit sparse and rather old but no worse than other places in Gran Canaria. There is a restaurant on site which does breakfasts (6 euros) but it didn't look very nice - sliced processed cheese and salamis etc. They also do a daily 3 course set menu for 9 euros but we didn't try it. There are lots of restaurants within 10 minutes walk on Ave de Tirajana such as Mundo. For those who are self catering there are also plenty of small convenience stores within 10 minutes walk but for much cheaper prices and a far greater choice I suggest going to the large Mercadona supermarket which is about 30 minutes walk away on Ave de Galdar. Its about 3 euros in a taxi. I would definitely stay at these apartments again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrythehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Can't fault the place, apartments are simply furnished and very clean, maid came in everyday (not Sunday). Nice pool. Friendly staff. Everywhere very well maintained. About 1 minute walk to the edge of the dunes, 10-15 mins walk to Yumbo. Superb location. It really was a hassle free stay. Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Perfectly placed for the beach and dunes and only 5 minutes from CIta and 15 from the Yumbo Centrum. A bit noisey at the weekend when the Spanish arrive fr there weekends away but for everything else its worth it.
Very very clean if not basic but again worth it - what more do you want other than to have a base. After the long walk over the dunes its soooo perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pantsnorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Montemar
Apartamentos Montemar
#88 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#58 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#126 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Faisan
Faisan
#63 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#78 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
#41 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Aguacates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Aguacates

Address: Calle Finlandia 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $54 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Aguacates 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Aguacates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Aguacates Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Los Aguacates Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing