We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality/price => high value”
Review of Hotel Europalace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europalace
Ranked #67 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spend there 12 days during July 2014 and had great time. Location is excellent: beach is few meters, bus station with departures almost anywhere and fun center few minutes of walking. Food was great (and a lot of it), rooms clear, staff very very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank michaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

3 star hotel offering services of a 4 star hotel, everything perfect!!! excellent food, with lots of plates to choose, impressive views from terrace, very comfortable beds, nice and kind staff always ready to help

Room Tip: try to choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luis20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is a good location for the beach, with a lovely view. However, there is not much else around. Just a little shopping complex at the top of the stairs. For entertainment, it's quite a walk along the promenade and another load of steps, these ones worse. If I were to go back I'd go to a hotel more to the towards Maspalomas, by the Irish centre. The Irish centre is a great place to meet British people by the way.

Pool area is nice, not busy at all and we went in June. The 'gym' they have is rubbish. I didn't go in there but my OH's mum said the rowing machine was broken. Not a gym at all, just two or three machines. Also not sure why it's giving me an option
I liked the food, lots of choice for dinner. The hot food different every day. Breakfast, not so different every day but then again you can't really expect it to be. Still, quite a bit of choice.
The staff all look grumpy especially the guy at reception. No facial expression at all. Very clean, I think our room got cleaned every other day. We stayed in an apartment with a kitchenette on the fourth floor. Lovely apartment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheGreenFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

typical 3 star H old furniture but perfect location near the beach. Good pool and reasonable food. Other than that all decent, at least is clean even if the furniture is old. reasonable places to leave a car if you rent one

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeloo_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First we booked holidays and then I found all these bad reviews on Tripadvisor.

Now I am after 11 days holidays in Europalace and I have to admit (my companion too) that as many people as many opinions.

First of all you have to know that it is 3,5 star hotel (not a 5 star) - so do not expect level as for example Westin Hotel present. We got room 707 with an amazing ocean view (it is worth to pay more to have room on higher level). The apartment cosists of 2 rooms with 4 beds, kitchen, bathroom and big terrace. We did not spend much time in the room (as we preffered sunbathing and trips) but it was not as bad as in previous opinions - for example towels did not have holes and there is free wifi in apartment.

The placement of the hotel is (in my opinion) one of the best in Playa del Ingles. Actually it is not even one minute to the beach. Later after trips through Playa I did not find any hotel as close to the beach - and as high - to have such a nice view.

In some of the pevious reviews people wrote bad opinions about food. And again - I do not understand why? The food was really various. Want sweet breakfast - you can have sweet one. Want salty breakfast - you can have it as well. The only disadvantage was that you have to pay for drinks to dinner.

All the staff was very nice and helpful. They also speak english (not only german and spanish).

I would recommend hotel for everyone who wants to spend their time on sunbathing and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Take a room on higher level (7-9th floor) to have nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gosia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Where do we start?
Shall we start with the cracked tiles in the kitchen?
The fan that is about to fall down?
The hole in the wall?
The toilettpapaer you have to ask for?
No, let's start with one of the more important things, the food!
The "restaurant" feels like the lunch-serving in school, but the food belongs in the pens with the animals. It's downright horrible sometimes. Everything is either fried or tastes just bad since they laced it with oil or spices that shouldn't be there. The food is so basic, and made on what seems like a budget that wouldn't feed half the guests.
When you pay for the stay, and dinner is included, you expect some form of drink, like at least water, to be included with the meal... No.. This is where the feeling of how cheap the hotel is, starts. Not only do you pay for basic drinks for the meal, you have to pay for towels for the pool, remote for the TV, key to the depositbox and so on... Things you normaly take for granted.
If this level of service is what you expect, this IS the place for you!
What you don't even expect, is the run down state the basics are in... Your bathroom towels are worn and full of holes, that match the holes in the bed linnen.
The beds are very hard, and if you ask for an extra pillor or madress, they look chocked and say nooooo.
That is.. If they KNOW the word "No".
The amount of english, the staff speaks, is very limited, and pretty much the reception is the only place they will understand you. The resturant staff speaks very basic english, the cleaningstaff near to none... You get the picture.
The sunbeds by the pool is occupied by 07.45 am, dispite the hotel has rules about not allowing towel-reservation, a rule they don't enforce. Until 10 am, the entire pool area is a exhibit of towels in all colors.
During our stay, we wouldn't find any emergency exit other then the mail entrance, nor any fire-map or gathering location. With a hotel filled by 90% elderly people, this is a disaster waiting to happen.

In all: Would NOT recomend anyone to go here and expect other then a cel.. Room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Get earbuds, because you can hear people two floors above you move a chair. First and second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ABTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this holiday in January and spent 6 months waiting for it to arrive and were not left disappointed.
This hotel is promoted for Germans and Spanish which we knew when we booked. I think we were the only English family there, but that did not put us off as having two children we really wanted to be close to the beach and this hotel really didn't disappoint, you came out of the hotel door down a path and you were on the beach.
The pools were ideal, you had a main pool, a small round baby pool and then also a jacuzzi (fab) so again nothing to complain about.
The room was out of this world PLENTY of space, we had a twin room, a sofa bed and also 2 beds which folded away and looked like a big wooden unit when closed away, a tiny kitchenette but big enough, the view was stunning we however paid extra for this room but am sure normal rooms would be just as nice maybe a little smaller.
The food however was very much the same salad, cereal, cooked, bread, fruit for breakfast and salad, soup, pasta dishes, cheese + ham, bread and again cooked, very limited for my children though who only ate bread and chips for 10 days, about 5-7 different puddings too.
Entertainment I don't think they had any but that didn't worry us as we would go for a walk every night.
Location the hotel is on the edge of Playa Del Ingles so you had to climb a lot of steps up onto the promenade and them about a 20 minute walk to the Kasbah which have restaurants and bars etc and night life, about 30 mins walk will take you to the yumbo centre- shopping and bars etc, so this hotel is in the quiet part.
WARNING- stay away from the African Ladies who gather towards the end of the promenade, they get your attention and then whilst distracting you by trying to read your hand and place a bracelet on your wrist the other ladies crowd around you so watch your handbags, once the bracelets are on your wrists they demand money off you, it is scary, if this happens to you contact the POLICE...
Overall we had a really nice holiday, however we wouldn't go back again next time we need to have an English Hotel for my children to be able to play with other children.
Don't be put off by the amount of German and Spanish guests, if you are looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday and you like SALAD this is the place for you, not forgetting the beach on your doorstep.
Hotel staff were lovely too even though it was only a hello and goodbye, the rooms are cleaned everyday and the maid we had was very polite again limited speech but pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gitto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#66 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos El Palmar
Apartamentos El Palmar
#51 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europalace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europalace

Address: C/ Hamburgo, 12, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $114 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europalace 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europalace The building is located in a quiet residential area in front of natural sand beach, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and listen undulating, radiant sunrise and sunsets, with splendid views of the dunes of Maspalomas. Apartment: Between the 1st floor and 9th floor (approx 46 m2,.), for up to 4 people, have a separate bedroom with a fan and (safe extra charge), full bathroom, hairdryer, salon - dining room, with two built-in beds, electric stove, refrigerator, kitchen, telephone, satellite TV, balcony / terrace and sea view from the 1st floor. The studios (40 m2 approx.), Up to 3 people, with room-hall two beds and a sofa bed, fan, safe (extra charge), full bathroom, hairdryer, electric stove, refrigerator , kitchenware, telephone, satellite TV, balcony. The complex has a supermarket, restaurant, features air conditioning, fan, half board, with buffet service (breakfast and dinner), Jacuzzi and children's pool with umbrellas, deck chairs, mattresses and free playground, solarium sea ​​view, custody of bicycles, free gym, in the hotel CONNECTION wi-fi free and 24 hour security, 3-star officer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europalace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Europalace Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Europalace Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Europalace Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing