We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay, but nothing more”
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The location is good, some of the staff were friendly, others brusque. The chalets are very basic but kept clean enough. The grounds and pool are very pleasant & well maintained, but small details like the shower by the pool not working without a fight, grubby sunbed mattresses, and worn through mattresses on the beds let the standards down.

My biggest gripe is that the bar seems to be run as a separate concession, where residents come a very poor second in service to people wandering off the street & into the complex. On occasions the music from the bar could be incredibly loud, even *inside* chalets well away from the pool area. The bar person would turn the music down on request, but within a short time would be back up to full volume. If you want loud music, there is plenty of it available in the Yumbo!

The other annoying thing is guys coming into the compound and cruising up & down the chalets. Fine if you want to stay in a knocking shop; irritating if you just want to chill out for the afternoon. Again, there's the dunes & saunas nearby if you want daytime action.

Also having to pay extra for the TV, the safe, the sauna etc. is irksome and adds to the cost.

Overall, it's an okay place to stay, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingTrevLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    106
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
140
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed here first week in march. first time i've ever stayed in an all gay complex, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Made it a really sociable event as you were guaranteed to see faces in the yumbo that you knew. good mix of couples, singles adn groups of friends, and I only heard compliments from everyone else about the place. Layout adds to the socialness of the place, and the bbq on a thursday evening with everyone round a table was a great idea. it's a quick 5 min walk to the yumbo, or Cita is literally over the road. couldn't hear any noise from there though.

can't fault price, cleanliness was good, wasn't sleazy and grubby. Staff were all great and really friendly. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffRuggerhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I think a lot of people are uncertain after a few of the previous reviews whether this is complex is Gay and I can assure everybody it is. Over the 10 days I stayed the 33 bungalows were fully booked, I think that says something!! I found the overall service fantastic. The manager Raymond is very helpful and co operative and if you are a bit of an explorer speak to him as we did and he told us the places to see on the island.
The bungalows are cleaned every day and the complex is well manicured and has a lot of nice trees etc. The complex is about a ten minute walk from the Yumbo center with its nightlife, if you are on your own I would highly recommend getting a cab back in the early hours as there is no one about. If you are with somebody there isn't a problem.
The complex is on a side road and the traffic noise is not a problem, and is opposite the Cita centre where you can buy fresh food. Also try Cafe Wien on the first floor around 3.30pm when everyone stops after coming back from the beach.
The gay beach is about a 30 minute walk down the beach and I was happy sitting on the beach by the complex.
I must admit that restaurants at the Yumbo and in general are pretty average and are not worth the money so I would recommend cooking your own food, sounds a pain, however every bungalow has a small patio with table and chairs and a small kitchen which is workable and alcohol is very cheap so have a few before you go to the Yumbo!!
We had a rented car from the airport and the car park which is free is about a five minute walk from the complex which was great.
The only thing I would say is that the bungalows are slightly dated, however when are you in your room??
Compared to other gay complexes Los Almendros for cleanliness and convenience is probably the best.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sputwesthampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Los Almendros has gained something of a reputation for being one of the best gay complexes in Playa del Ingles in recent years and is one in which I have stayed many times. This indicates my high regard for the place, but recently it has had a few problems and a change of management, so this visit was about seeing whether Los Almendros still had the charm which has brought me back year after year.

The complex comprises some thirty or so one bedroom bungalows, some set beside a nice pool, jacuzzi and bar with the others in a quieter setting on the edges of the campus in the modest, but very pleasant grounds. The good atmosphere around the pool and bar has been an important selling point in drawing me back year after year.

The bungalows themselves are a pretty standard arrangement of a bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchen area with a shaded patio to the front. They are very basically equipped, compared to other similar complexes and begining to feel somewhat tired. A significant annoyance, unique to Los Almendros in my experience, is that the TV comes at a significant extra cost and that the service fails to deliver all the advertised channels and the reception is often poor as well. Another annoyance is the charge to use the safe, although this isn't unique to Los Almendros. The double beds have always been notably comfortable, but this time we had twin single beds which were anything but comfortable and the bedding had seen better days.

The atmosphere is generally peaceful, but there is some noise from the street. However, a new development is the regularly unacceptable level of noise from the music system from the bar. My room was about as far from it as it could be and on regular occaisions it was extremely intrusive and I twice made representations to the barman and the manager about it.

The good atmosphere around the bar and pool has been one of the unique selling points of Los Almendros, and a reason why I have been prepared to forgive some of its faults in the past. However this appears to be at risk as the current arrangement means that the bar appears to be run as the personal fiefdom of the somewhat surly barman, whose friends (who also seem to have free reign to cruise the grounds at will) take precedence over resident guests. The less than welcoming approach of the said barman meant that our bar bill was much reduced on previous visits.

Finally, Los Almendros is probably as good as any other gay accomodation in Playa del Ingles, but it has lost much of the charm which was a competitive advantage and brought my loyalty over the years and which for me justified its premium rates. I might stay there again next year but I feel its used up its goodwill, when there was a time when I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wapping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Just stayed in Los Amendros over Xmas 2009. I must say some of the previous reviews are very picky.
The place is well run, clean and great location. The Jacuzzi was nice and warm and the pool was swimmable - it was December!
There is free wifi, which works within a designated area near the bar.
The rooms are fine, the towels work, and the beds were very comfortable.
The ONLY gripe was the barman. A number of guests complained about him, His manner towards Brits left a little to be desired. (maybe it was lost in translation)!
Anyway a good week, and not a woman in sight!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brighton Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We have choosen Los Almendros Resort, because on their homepage it says (exclusivly GAY)!!!
On arrival the same slogan is written on the entrance door, but as you enter you see also women and heteros staying in this resort. Also the staff is mainly females.
The next thing we discovered is, that you have to pay extra for the use of TV (no special channells as promised, only BBC, CNN and some spain channels were working).
At the bar they have a rainbow menu card with very high prices (aparently they change it in winter for the scandinavians with cheaper prices).
The bungalows are basic and clean. The towels were very thin and looked like used allready since 25 years !
Room service is also very, very basic and only every second day. As advertised the great hottub turned out to be a small pool filed with very icey water ! So nobody could use it.
And then the thing about their sauna : hold yourself, in this "gay"resort you have to pay 30 euros per hour, if you want to use it !
Conclusion : For the price you pay at Los Almendros, you may easy find a very good accomodation in a 4 stars hotel, including breakfast in Playa del Ingles.
It's a pitty that they use the slogan "GAY ONLY RESORT" just to make money !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean-PhilippeetUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I have stayed at Los Almendros many times again and have been twice this year 2009.
The complex is built in very attractive gardens and consists of blocks of bungalows. If you want a peaceful time book yourself a bungalow away from the pool as the pool area is the social part of the complex. Staff are very friendly and efficient. The cleaners are very good. Los Almendros is ideally located between the Yumbo and the maspalomas dunes. The pool is lovely and there is also a big spa pool. Bungalows have safes and airconditioning. I would recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurpoetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#28 of 216 in Maspalomas
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club

Property: Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club
Address: Avenida Francia 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Almendros is a wonderful complex of bungalows, private and exclusively designed for the gay community, offering high quality accommodations. We give you all services that you need and the best amenities so you can enjoy unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing