We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but very clean rooms with a big well maintained pool.”
Review of Corona Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corona Blanca
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Basic but very clean rooms with a big well maintained pool.”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed in room 115 and found the staff friendly from reception to cleaning to pool bar.

Basic living and bedroom but cleaned almost daily with fresh towels most days too. Beds were a bit rickety. Plenty of space for a couple but if you had another couple of bodies on the fold down settee it'd become pretty cramped. Good balcony with a pool view.

Self catering facilities just adequate. 2 electric rings and a kettle. If you want a toaster, microwave or grill dooda you need to hire them from reception. The rep says some self catering places are not even supplying a kettle anymore!

Great 25m pool with daily cleaning of it and the sun terrace. Usual bit of a bun fight for the best sunbeds and location which would probably be worse during peak season.

Less than 10mins walk to the beach and about the same to the Yumbo and Gran Chaparal centres. 100m away from the kasbah centre so plenty of eating out and drinking choices. Only thing is can be noisy till the early hours if you're a light sleeper.

Grub reasonably priced 7-11 Euro for a main course but around 3.50 for a beer. Alternatively try the Spar's own cerveza, 98c/Litre @ 4.8%ABV and jolly tasty. El Rancho restaurant practically next door and best meals of our holiday. At the dearer end of the price range but worth it.

Liked the pool, central location and general cleanliness.

Disliked walking the gauntlet of bar and excursion reps and the guys selling watches, sunglasses, bracelets at the beach commercial centre. All becomes rather monotonous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    183
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
74
199
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

we have been going to the corona blanca for five years now excelent value for money very clean appartments staff are so helpfull especially ma we pal pepe would recomend these apartments to anyone but the bloddy pool is freezing lol keep up the work pepe john lorraine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just back from a week there with my boyfriend and young baby and after reading some negative reviews before I was pleasantly surprised. Apartments are lovely, pool is gorgeous and staff are friendly. Not alot opens till six and it can get quite loud late at night but all in all was a great holiday and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidaloonwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We only stayed at the hotel for 24hrs and asked to be moved.

The staff at the hotel were realy helpful, Thomas Cook Rep fab. I think we were just unlucky with our room. The noise from the road was unbearable, couldn't shut windows, graffiti on the table, no air con etc...
No way is this hotel a 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Had a good holiday here with my 2 teenaged kids 17 and 18. Rooms were fair sized and balconys large, and although we didnt get a pool view it wasn't a major problem.
YES, it's very near the plaza shopping centre and if you are a light sleeper you might find the noise too much but closing the windows was enough for me to get to sleep. Location was my main choice for choosing these apartments and was not dissapointed. Beach, 10 shopping centres and restaurants all within 10 min walk.
YES the pool was cold, and even the sea was warmer, but when it's 29 oc in october you need somewhere to cool off!!
YES Pool bar not up to much but the bar tender was so polite.
YES, no air con, but what do you excpect in a 2 key establishment??
Best bar for me was Mackers in the jardin del sol centre, a mere 10 mins away! 1 Euro for a large beer and 3 euros for a bottle of magners!! Happy days indeed but the sunday roast topped even the bar prices!!
My only gripe is with the beds. More fitting for a torture, rack than sleeping in!! Sort it out guys cos apart from that you have a great place to stay!!
YES i would recommend staying here but buy a lilo to sleep on!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1970cumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Nice and straight forward review. Good Points 1) Fantastic location. The apartments are just arond the corner from the Kasbah and Metro centres. Very little noise disturbance to say we were so close. 2) The apartments were clean to the eye when we arrived but within five mins of our baby girl crawling round her legs were black bright. We went downstairs and they sent a maid right away to clean the floors and every day after that for the rest of our stay. This was fantastic service on their part. Maids were helpful and unobtrusive. 3) The wardrobe space for shoes and clothes for us ladies was fab. 4) The balcony was simply furnished and a real suntrap. 5) The pool area was spotless, more than enough sunloungers and a very good happy hour at the pool bar where between 3pm and 4pm all alcoholics drinks were 241. The pool was cleaned every morning and it was spotlessly clean and very cold which was just perfect after sun bathing. They also allowed lilos which i love. 6) Our rep was fantastic and could not do enough to help us out.

The area of Playa De Ingles has lots going on and there are plenty of cheap and really good places to eat. Highy recommeded for home from home food is The Britannia which is a ten min walk or 1 min taxi ride. It is located in Gran Chaperal shopping centre. Another good choice for English grub is The Red Cow this is situated just down from the Yumbo centre opposite The Had Rock Cafe. The places both have high-chairs which was a huge help for us. Not everywhere does have high-chairs so its always advisable to ask abefore you sit down otherwise they try do convince you to stay and want you to put the baby in an adult seat.

Right onto the negatives. 1) The apartments are a little dated and could do with a bit of a refurb. 2) The man on the main desk with the gingerish coloured hair is very grim, if you ask him for something he tends to just dismiss you unless its a male speaking to him. The other people on the desk are fab and very helpful. 3) The lifts are tiny and only fit two people in them. It was impossible to fit the pram plus two so one of us would always go up after or walk up the stairs. 4) The pool bar was seldom open before 12 noon which was inconvenient for us with a one year old baby who wanted breakfast at 8am-9am. 5) The PR'S who try to get you into the bars can be quite pushy but they were all fantastic with our daughter who loved all the lights and colours of the bars and restaurants as we walked around. 6) The worst thing at the apartments has to be the beds. They are very old, very uncomfy and the matresses are very thin. We spent most of the holiday sleeping on the sofa bed in the living area. This could have done with been replaced too.

Overall a spectacular holiday,a wonderful location and clean,good and decent apartments.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

These apartments were very basic if you wanted a bit a peace and quiet these apt are not suited, as they are very noisey, and right on top off they Kasbah which is very lively at night. Staff were friendly you had to pay for use off safes and TV which was a rip off. They pool was very cold and they rooms had no air con which did not compensate for they cold pool.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Blanca

Property: Corona Blanca
Address: Avenida de Tenerife, 11 | Avenida de Tenerife, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Blanca 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Corona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Blanca Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Blanca Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing