We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Apartrments”
Review of Corona Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corona Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shabby Apartrments”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the Corona over the new year we found them very shabby indeed cracked floor tiles, kitchen two ring hob only one worked properly no microwave or toaster and furniture which consisted of sofa bed which was really uncomfortable glad we din't have to sleep in it and one easy chair which was no better. The maid service was hit and miss perhaps because it was new year but this doesn't explain no bed linen change in seven days as for the bathroom all the panels around the bath were held together with polyfiller and if that wasn't enough on the last night we found cockroaches coming out of the wall. We were given apartment 109 if you want privacy don't let them give this one as the steps from the pool look right into the apartment. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you apartment 109 no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynneH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    192
    78
    32
    23
See reviews for
81
214
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

hotel is between kashba and irish centre,we had great apartment clean and tidy,beds done every 2 days,and we were right beside the gym perfect for the early morning workouts (haha) staff were good ,cant fault this place we will be back defo

Room Tip: ask for the type you want if they have it i,m sure the will sort you out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very dated but clean, expensive for self-catering accommodation (package holiday). A costly holiday but the only one we could get as were restricted to dates. We have stayed in 4* hotels all inclusive which were cheaper than this. Ground floor apartment was good for sunbathing but when you have loud neighbours it's not very peaceful. We could not extend the room which was most inconvenient, check-out was noon but we weren't being collected for the airport until 6pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Check in was easy and effecient. Asked for a poolview room and was given 217. Really nice apartment, Tiny bedroom but plenty of storage for clothes. Living and kitchen area spacious and very clean, only downside was lack of cooking facilities ( no toaster or microwave) so if you were there to self cater I think you would struggle as there was only a 2 ring hob , I frying pan and one cooking pot. Didnt bother us as we ate out all the time and if you have to stay in there is a chinese next door that does a great takeaway ! Lovely big balcony with table and chairs and washing line.Pool area spotless and plenty of sunbeds, again only downside ,there were only 5 parasols so if your like me and not keen on frying in full sun you have to get up early to pick your spot as the parasols are cemented in ! Pool bar serves snacks and drinks very reasonably priced but only open 10 - 4 and there is no other bar in the hotel so an early evening drink is out. Staff really nice and friendly. Maid service every other day. The only thing that spoilt the holiday for us was the noise at night. Our bedroom backed onto one of the main roads through Playa des Ingles and the traffic noise was incessant. The only time it was fairly quite was between 4.30am to 6am otherwise it was non stop with traffic and partying holidaymakers. Music from the Kasbah at weekends goes on till 4.30am. There are numerous bars and restuarants within walking distance. One tip I would give is to check out the prices if you go shopping for presents or mememtos. We saw a bag for our Grandaughter at the shops on the beach priced at 15 Euros, An identical one in the Kasbah was 25 Euros . Also a pair of sandals I wanted in the Kasbah were 30 Euros, on the beach they were 19 Euros ! If you tell them you can get it cheaper elsewhere they will drop the price so keep it in mind ! Overall a really good holiday and we would return to Corona Blanca but not in a room that backed onto the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 217, ask for pool view but not backing onto main road. There are pool view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had great hol in Corona Blanca in early Dec .Requested ground apt requeast granted.Maid service great beds changed several times a week towels changed 6 days of 7 .Nice big apt . Pool bar had nice cheap food. All staff helpful & friendly. Quiet at night .This is our 3rd visit & hope to return . Only downside was waiter in Las Pirmadas restaurant very rude as were all in supermarket next door ! DIdnt return . Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidaymaker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another great week in Playa del Ingles and was little worried over some reviews on here, however, these apartments are great.

Spotlessly clean, maid service 4times in a week, great balcony size, all bits needed for basic self catering, people moan about lack of toaster, however, when u got broncemar supermarket on corner, selling fresh rolls for breakfast, why do you need one? Not something I can do in UK, walk out every morning in t shirt n shorts!

Loved the little washing up pack, a great touch, the pool area has plenty of room, staff always smiling saying hola.

The apartments are a great base, bus stop nearby, easy for bus to airport, loads shops n restaurants, ten minute walk beach and yumbo centre, kasbah n plaza centre right on top of you.


All in all, great value apartment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pedders39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

When we arrived at the Corona Blanca the check in was both quick and efficient. We were allocated a room on the first storey overlooking the pool ( 116) which suited us both fine. No noise and a pleasant view.
The apartment itself could quite easily of been described as as a small flat with three separate rooms. Bathroom ,big double bedroom and a kitchen/living area. The balcony also was huge. All the utensils were there to prepare meals but the addition of a microwave and toaster would of meant more of a choice as to what to cook rather than limiting it to just frying or boiling.
In the bumf it said that you get 60 mins TV for 1 euro but ours only gave us 40 mins. A quick trip to reception and within 30 mins the TV had been changed.
The pool bar did do a limited range of snacks and drinks which were on the whole very good.
If you want to eat out you are spoilt for choice as there are numerous eating houses in the vicinity. I can recommend the chinese above Mr potato as they do an all you can eat buffet for 7.98 euros, the only stipulation is that you buy a drink with your meal.
While we were there the weather was inclement to say the least but that is not the fault of the hotel.
All in all we had a good time and would almost certainly go back given the choice.

Room Tip: Get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,517 reviews
0.5 mi away
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
#105 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Blanca

Property: Corona Blanca
Address: Avenida de Tenerife, 11 | Avenida de Tenerife, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Blanca 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Corona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Blanca Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Blanca Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing