We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corona Blanca”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corona Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corona Blanca
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Corona Blanca”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very good apartment
Clean
Maid service most days
Bath with shower attached
Shower very powerful
Bath - water not so hot in 2nd week
Pool well maintained, covered every night, cleaned in the morning
Beds very comfortable, but noise from the road & people very easily heard
Handy for a number of buses
5 minutes walk from promenade with steep steps to beach & bars & restaurants (may be a lift available)
Close to Kasbah centre & plenty of restaurants on nearby roads
Beware of African women attaching wrist bands as they shake your hand!!
Not as many birds as we hoped for, but the walk across the dunes or bus to Maspalomas lagoon resulted in Greater Flamingo, Spoonbills Little Egrets, Greenshanks, Whimbrel etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBikersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    182
    72
    31
    20
See reviews for
73
192
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I lived on the island for the best part of 9 years and mainly in maspalomas because it was so quiet. However, when I return for a holiday I like to stay in Corona Blanca for a number of reasons
* It's central to all amenities: Beach, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, pubs, car rental etc
*Although it's right beside the ever booming Kasbah, it happens to be a very quiet complex
*Reception staff are very friendly
*Rooms are cleaned regularly
*Cleaning staff are very nice
*I love the pool

Just a few things there, but I could go on and on.....

Very nice complex,

Regards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonygrancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

You get exactly what you pay for - clean, basic, limited room facilities and a bit dated decor.

Reception staff were a bit rude when we asked to change rooms but apart from that no complaints

Great central location and a decent sized swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohmygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Essentially this is a good basic self catering apartment complex - a mixture of long term renters owner occupiers and hotel guests. It's location is very good round the corner from the Kasbah and 10 minutes to the Yumbo Centre and 5 minutes to the beach. The apartments are clean and the maid service is regular with towel changes every other day. If your idea of self catering is to actually cook then you may be disappointed as there is a fridge, kettle and 2 hot plates which can take an eternity to heat up - toaster is available at an extra charge. But the main question would be why are you cooking when there is so much choice within easy walking distance - the same goes for the TV which you have to feed with euros in order to watch anything.
The pool area is not the best and resmbles a scene from Cocoon surrounded by very elderly guests who don't really move and with a pool that due to remaining in the shade for most of the day can be very bracing ( the sea was far warmer).
Overall the hotel is a good budget base for what Playa del Ingles has to offer and should not be seen as a destination in itself.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AndasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is perfect. Few steps from the Kasbah and only 7 min walking to the sea. Room was clean and the personnel very nice. I certainly recommend this hotel.
The maid even washed my dirty plates left after my dinner.The swimming pool was clean and there were chairs for everybody. This hotel could be fitful for everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banditodelnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 week with 2 other gay mates, it was excellently placed for the yumbo centre and all the nightlife...
The rooms were very big and spacious and kept clean daily by the cleaners with fresh towels etc...
Basic and a bit dated but it was clean and all we needed for a well placed hotel for a week of partying!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks 15th-30th September. Arrived early am and we were given our room key and safe key by the security guard. The room was large and clean, on the reception floor. Bedroom with twin beds and plenty of storage space. Living area with sofa bed which was very uncomfortable to sit on, glad i didn't have to sleep on it! The kitchen area had a fridge and a 2 ring hob and kettle. No toaster or microwave. These had to be hired which isn't really fair in self catering apartments. The bathroom was large and had a bath with shower over it which was very good.
We didn't have a pool view, our balcony looked out over to the shopping centre at the Kasbah and a small garden area of the apartments. It got the sun most of the day and was quiet and not overlooked like the pool view balconies!
We hired the safe for the two weeks and a fan as well. I would definitely recommend a fan as it gets very warm in the apartments as there is no air con. The apartments aren't advertised with air con so I think it's unfair that people mark them down for not having any!
One thing that I didn't read in reviews is that the apartments have wifi. This worked in all areas of the hotel. It was €28 for two weeks which is a little more expensive than I've paid in other hotels. But it's very useful to have if you want to connect a laptop or phone to use while in the apartments. Although nearly all of the bars we went to in Playa Del Ingles had free wifi !
We found the staff from reception to the cleaning staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was cleaned almost everyday and fresh towels every other day. One thing I will mention is that the bed sheets were only changed once in 2 weeks which I don't find acceptable, even for a 2star. They were changed after 5 days and I ended up washing them myself the second week!!
The pool area was very nice and plenty of sun beds. The pool isn't heated but was very nice to cool down in during the day. There is a pool bar that serves drinks and food. We didn't use it so can't comment on what it was like.
The apartments are right beside the Kasbah centre but I never found the noise from it a problem.
There is a Spar shop beside the apartments to the left, bedside the crazy golf and another supermarket across the road to the right.
We never went to the kasbah centre at night, always went to the Yumbo centre which is great. You can walk to Yumbo in under 10 mins (quick walk) or use the taxis near the apartments. It's less than €3 to get a taxi to it.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at Corona Blanca and found it really good value for the price we paid. £430 each for 2 weeks including flights, extra baggage allowance, transfers and pre chosen seats with Thomas Cook.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caleb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Blanca

Property: Corona Blanca
Address: Avenida de Tenerife, 11 | Avenida de Tenerife, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Blanca 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Corona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Blanca Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Blanca Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing