We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Arenas Apartamentos
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic but fine”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

OK there are better apartments than these but read on. My girlfriend and I stayed here during the last week of March 2007. We only booked the holiday the week before we left, so we had no choice. They only had these apartments available. I checked the previous reviews on TripAdvisor, and was very nervous about going there. But we very still excited about leaving the particularly bad Irish weather behind, so on we went.
We expected worse when we got there. But they were clean, only slightly run down. Every apartment has a balcony. We had to push 2 single beds together to make a "double" which is`nt ideal, but manageable. The apartments are cleaned every 2nd day, including towel change. The kitchen has a mini cooker and fridge. The bathroom is basic, but has all you need.
The apartments have 2 swimming pools, one large and one for the kids. They are both clean. The beach is only 5 minutes away. There is a solarium on the roof with magnificent views of PDI and maspalomas.
To summarize: we had a great week with super weather. We made the most of it and these apartments did the job just fine. If you want 5 star accomodation, they are not for you. If you see the glass as being half full rather than half empty, you will have no problem with these apartments.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
16
63
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Would not be my first choice!! Apartments are too basic, the bathroom door did not close so we all got a view of each other washing ourselves and using the loo (which never flushed!) Funny Smell in the kitchen all the time. Reception staff were very rude. Alot of apartments left abandent. The ony good thing about Las Arenos Apartments was the pool and it was so central to eveything, pubs, shopping centre, nightclubs etc....... were only across the road.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed in Las Arenas with a few friends in Oct '06. I have been to Gran Canaria a number of times and this is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in to date. The rooms were dirty, extremely old fashioned, noisy and in need of a complete gutting to refurbish them. Apartments are small, you can hear your neighbours next door, above you and below you and there is nothing in the apartment except your room. In October there wasn't even a bar or a vending machine to get a drink from in the apartment block!

We arrived and due to the construction work going on next door and our complaints to the rep about the terrible apartments and the noise from next door we were moved from these apartments. Not worth the money! Don't go there!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't even consider this aparthotel!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank one2watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

We stayed in Las Arenas in August 2006. First of all, we asked for an apartment on the highest floor possible and we also asked for two apartments together. The day we arrived, we were told that we were on the first floor and the apartments were three apartments apart. That was okay... if a little inconvenient. The guy in reception did offer to move us in a few days but we didn't want to go through the packing and unpacking again.

The locks on the doors weren't very stable and the door to the balcony stuck as you tried to open it. We were afraid that we would shatter the glass!!

The rooms weren't very soundproof. From ten in the morning, you will be greeted by the noise of kids playing in the pool and at night time, you can listen in on your next door neighbours conversation.

In saying all that, the rooms were clean... if a little shabby. I'ts quite close to the Kasbah area and the beach but a five or ten minute walk from the Irish centre... a walk that I wouldn't advise girls to take on their own! When we checked out, our bags were kept safe until we were ready to get our bus and security in the hotel was very good.

  • Liked — The everpresent security guard at the main door!
  • Disliked — The apartments need some sprucing up.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank squishypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin - Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2006

We went there in Feb '06 for a week as part of a package and it was a low price deal. The weather was mixed so when it was overcast - particularly at night , it became cold and only the blankets (with some cigarette burn holes) provided comfort.
Overall , relative to price it was ok.It was clean and the towels were changed every 2nd Day.
It is in the middle of PDI and as such is noisy into the night - you would need to be a heavy sleeper if you want to go to bed early.
There is a permanent presence on the reception desk (good) but little else in the way of facilities as one would expect of an aparthotel.The TV in the room is a "pay TV" ie you have to put coins in.
There is an interesting roof top "solarium" ie you can sunbathe up there and there is a great view from there - being 8 floors up.
Overall we got what we paid for and have little to complain about other than the weather - which I understand has been poor from late January onwards.

Helpful?
16 Thank mikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#65 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Australia Apartments
Australia Apartments
#123 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#62 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#82 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#125 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#60 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Apartamentos

Property: Las Arenas Apartamentos
Address: Avenida de Italia 23, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Arenas Apartamentos 1.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Arenas Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Apartamentos Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Las Arenas Apartamentos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing