We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carnival time”
Review of Hotel Parquemar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parquemar
Ranked #56 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in the studio apts last week of February 2013, carnival was on in Playa Del Ingles. Stree t( Avenue de Grand Canaria) was closed off from 1pm to 11pm. Apartment was a good vantage to view parade, I took several hours to pass, the costumes were varied and unusual, man families in parade.
Parquemar apartments are in good location within 200 yds of two commercial centres, several bars and restaurants near by. Beach is 20 minute walk as is Irish Centre. Yumbo is 10 min walk .No lift,,,,,,,,,, if on 4th floor = 108 steps (be aware)
Apartments are a little dated, and basic, but for money are good value, Maids came every day in afternoon. Pool area was peacefully and sunbeds good. studio apartments overlooking street sun from morning till mid evening, cottage type accommodation around pool various directions.reception staff helpful if not over friendly. 3 computers in foyer area, it was possible to email boarding cards to reception and they printed them no problem. fridge and hob functional, several good restaurants in area , Mackers Bar to left and Vicky's to right of entrance, cheap drink and sports coverage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micheal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week at the end of February. On arrival we were greeted by a very sullen looking male receptionist who barely said a word to us, showed us a map on where our apartment was which was easy to find. We really liked the outside of the apartment which had a long garden with table and chairs and two sun beds which was a bit odd when the apartments sleep up to five. We opened the door to the apartment and were all shocked at how old (very 1970's) you couldn't really call the kitchen a place to cook as VERY basic, the downstairs bedroom was awful very dingy and claustrophobic with just a very small roof window, the upstairs although dated was very nice with big room with balcony and the bathroom next door again very dated but in working order. That evening there was a bad storm and the downstairs bedroom room leaked all over the beds we complained to the grumpy man on reception who seemed really annoyed that we had complained but sent the maintenance man over to 'try' and fix it and failed each time, eventually buckets were filling up fast and we demanded to be moved which he begrudgingly moved two of us into an apartment with two beds, exactly the same standard as the bungalow room but were greatfull we didn't have to sleep on wet beds! The beds were tiny and really uncomfortable had the worst weeks sleep ever! The swimming pool area was lovely with new sun beds which were all tied together so you couldn't move them which was a bit odd but the area was well maintained. The apartments were situated in a lively area being close to shops restaurants and bars this was lovely in February but think in high season wouldn't be so nice. It was a good twenty minute walk to the beach but worth going to, it was very big with lots of sun beds and a huge promenade all around full of shops and restaurants. We ate in many of the restaurants and were all of excellent standard and reasonably priced. Overall the apartments were fine for a base centrally placed but be prepared that they are very old fashioned and basic but wouldn't choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow around the pool much nicer then the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank angeh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travelled to this hotel with a friend during carnival week. It is located on the carnival route so had a great view from the apartment. We stayed in the main block not the bungalows shown on the website. This was cheaper than the bungalows so was slightly less equipt. We did however have a clean room containing a fridge,kettle, toaster etc basically everything you would need. The tv was also a bonus as it had many uk channels which we could watch before venturing out at night. The yumbo centre is around 10 minutes away and the beach around 20. The only negative comments I can make are that the road can be a little noisy at times and very frustratingly the sun beds are all tied together round the pool making it very difficult to point them towards the sun! That said I would definitely return again particularly for the price we paid.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Martyp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check carefully when you book (especially, if you book via cheap platforms such as booking dot com) if your room is within the main buiding or one of the small houses/bungalow in the backyard (as seen on picture). If you want to see a picture of the (ugly) main building, just go to google street view.

I stayed in the main building, so my experience is just valid for those rooms.
negative
- very loud (aircon of supermarket in front of the building running loudly 24/7 + busy road (av. gran canaria)
- very old fashioned
- small room
- hot water in shower just for 3-4 mins (if you are a couple, you need patience)
- beds very uncomfortable

Positive:
- clean
- cleaning very often and very good!
- TV programme (if you need it), many digital channels
- thats is, sorry.

Stay was OK, but usually you will find better deals for the same money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hi9hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location of this 70's hotel is quite nice, within reach of the beach, the golf course and all shopping centers. The pool is nice with it's dolphin mosaic and green surroundings and the staff is helpful. The apartments (never saw the inside of a bungalow) are basic but functional. However, the bed is sub standard. It is way to hard and we frequently woke up in the middle of the night because some random limb had gone numb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good , well priced hotel , stayed with friends at this hotel , facilities good ,central location, clean,tidy nice pool , each apartment is quite private with a little balcony and front garden I would definitely recommend it to those who want a low cost holiay! Wifi was a good 20 € / 7 days
Not Good German pensioners who lived there over the winter and did not understand that the other was on a week's vacation , so they complained about noise !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesperdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in a Duplex Bungalow in parquemar , while grounds are fine and the pool was good , the actual bungalow was not a very good standard at all. We were put in the last bungalow next to main road and had the noise of traffic all night, it is a busy main road so not much sleep there. Beds are very narrow and so uncomfortable, got up every morning with a sore back, glad to get up.Bungalows are very basic and could do with updating, all varnish had peeled off the woodwork and doors, looked very scruffy , door frames were so old they had rotted through at the bottom and had holes in them, furniture was old and drawers were stripped inside. Stairs are so narrow and are only a metal frame with wooden slats placed on them so when neighbours climb the stairs it echos into next door , if you have noisy neighbours,,, too bad. we stuck this bungalow for a week , new noisy neighbours forced us to ask for a change,, we were given another bungalow , down the side just over the boundary of the Chapparal, a big improvement , had the sun most of the day here and a lot quieter, one noisy night from the bars over the boundary but ok. Bungalow was still a scruffy place to spend a holiday with horrid beds, anyone looking for comfort in a tidy home,,, dont go here. Home from Home,,, no!
Great location but no comfort, i couldn't go back there.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have proper holiday accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DTBluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#86 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#46 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#127 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#64 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Bungalows
Santa Clara Bungalows
#43 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parquemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parquemar

Address: Gran Canaria, 28, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $52 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Parquemar 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duplex bungalows with independent bedrooms, bathroom, living-room, kitchen and private garden. In the vicinity is the \"Gran Chaparral\" shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parquemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parquemar Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Parquemar Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing