We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location but bring your own Towels!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
Ranked #41 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Its very cheap and was surprised how good this hotel was. good location, just a few minutes walk to the beach. And for the gay community just a few minutes walk to the Yumbo Centre. Room was clean, although maybe abit more attention needed in the corners or the bathroom for hair and dust. One complaint though was about towels. They are old and worn with holes and stains, after one day when i asked at reception for clean ones i was told i arrived only yesterday and would not get any until tomorrow, fine but male receptionist was very rude about it. When the maid came and went the next day, old towels just folded and hung back up in the bathroom. I again went to reception to say we still haven't recieved new towels. The male and female receptionists told me the maid did leave new towels, i told them the dirty old ones had just been rehung on the rail and they seemed not not believe me. After they left me standing there for awhile while they spoke in spanish for a few minutes they told me the maid would bring more. When i was back in the room they rang and said the maid said she sis leave some in the room, I told them again she did not and again they seemed not to believe me. The maid then came and gave more towels! Phewww!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellybean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 492 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

I stayed here with 2 of my girlfriends. I knew very little about it before I arrived so didn't have any pre-conceptions.
I only paid £250 incl. flights, so I wasn't expecting the Ritz, so I wasn't disappointed. As a base for a leisurely, cheap relaxing holiday it was great.
Reception: Miserable as sin and not helpful in any way
Rooms: Adequate, clean, functional. No clean towels available everyday (we had to covertly pinch them from the maids trolley), no kettle. I think it was £15 euros for the safe key.
Pool: Clean, not too busy, bar cheap, free beds
Food: Only had a poolside snack - bit greasy, nothing special
Staff: Miserable, unfriendly
Location: Quiet but easy access to most places. On foot Yumbo Centre. Kasbah a short taxi ride away. There are several cafes dotted around. Bus stop is close by.
In all, it's fair to say it was fine, but don't expect anything amazing. It is what it is.

Room Tip: Chuck the towels off the sunbeds early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

location good 10 mins from yumbo kasbar and beach.Asked for a quiet room was put above main entrance,6.00am every morning emptying bins opposite side of road.7.00am every morning staff banging and talking loudly no respect for guests still sleeping,During my week stay the bedding and towels where not changed once!On the plus side reception was helpful and the pool was not to crowded and quiet although more loungers would not go amiss,decent hotel let down badly by a few things.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopdogNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We arrived at the hotel to find that our room had single beds, however the reception staff were very helpful in arranging another room with a double bed for us.

The rooms are quite basic with a kitchenette, but we didn't find the room overly clean - particularly the bathroom which often had an unpleasant fishy smell to it, and we often needed to run the bath tap for a minute or so to get rid of the orange tinge to the water. Also, the balcony area needed a good mopping regularly which didn't seem to happen. On the plus side, towels etc were replaced regularly and the room appeared otherwise tidy.

As Gran Canaria is consistently hot, the room would have definitely benefitted from air-conditioning. After our first night we were forced to hire a fan to make it more comfortable to sleep at night - something the very helpful reception staff arranged for us.

The location of the hotel is very good, with it being only 5 minutes away from the Yumbo, Plaza and Kasbah shopping centres, and also 5 minutes away from the beach - despite it's proximity to these areas it was still in a quiet location, also with a supermarket (including a cashpoint) just over the road.

One final point is that because of the location of the swimming pool in relation to the hotel, this meant that the pool area was not covered in sunshine until about 11am.

Overall it has the potential to be a good hotel, but I wouldn't return, at least until air-conditioning had been installed and the cleanliness issue had been addressed,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks during Gay pride carnaval great location 5 mins walk to stairs to beach 5 mins walk to the yumbo centre supermarket and cash machine across the road. Maid service every day. Rooms was basic but clean. Pool wasnt very busy either so that was good!!!! lifeguard at hand. The only problem i had with this hotel was when there was disruptions on the flights to get home due to ash.... when we switched on telly .......there was no british speaking channel not even the news. Thankfully they had internet.
It was exactly where we wanted to be and was clean and quiet yet close enough for nightlife at yumbo!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fruitybooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEHotels, Gerente at Hotel THe Anamar Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2010

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your information, we try harder to improve our Hotel.
We hope to see you again in Gran Canaria.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The hotel address is very misleading, it is in Playa del Ingles which is the total opposite of the beautiful little village of Puerto Mogan. If you want a lively, brash British resort stay here. If you want beauty and peace pick one of the two hotels or an apartment in Puerto Mogan.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abigailNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We have just returned from Gran Canaria and had a loverly time in the Sun - a great escape from our British winter. We couldn't fault our apartment at the Regina Mar. Room was basic but clean and functional with maid service and towels changed daily. Its in a great location with a great little supermarket nearby and only a short walk from the beach. Bus stops are close too and the bus ride to Peuto de Morgan is a must.
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelonagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tagoror Beach Apartments
Tagoror Beach Apartments
#104 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#89 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Anamar Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Anamar Suites

Address: Avenida de Estados Unidos 38 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $94 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THe Anamar Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Anamar Suites is located 300 m from the Playa del Ingles beach, its main entrance is situated in Avenida de America a few metres from the commercial areas and shopping centres CC. Yumbo, CC. La Sandia and CC. Prism. The back entrance is on the Avenida de Alferez Provisionales the main access to the beach, notable due to its quiet and central location. It has exterior apartments with excellent sea views, pleasantly decorated a place where you will without a doubt enjoy a relaxing and comfortable stay. All the apartments are exterior and are distributed along the 12 floors; there are 5 different types of apartments and 7 suites. The reception, lounge, restaurant, bar, solarium with a swimming pool for adults (heated in winter) a Jacuzzi and waterfall, as well as a swimming pool for children are all located on the 5th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel THe Anamar Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anamar Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Regina Mar Aparthotel Hotel
Hotel THe Anamar Suites Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing