We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Amazonas
Ranked #66 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My self and Hubby back after one week staying in Sunsuites Amazonas, I cannot fault these apartments, not one bit, just loved it all, pool fantastic, staff lovely, very quite and relaxing in May, fresh bread rolls every day on door, coffee machine, fridge, tv, your own private balcony, very central to shopping centre and nightlife, just minutes away from beach taking short cut down to beach, cannot wait to go back and stay again, Thank you Sunsuites Amazonas.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor apartment overlooking pool= perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nessa11100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Good budget place to stay. Well equiped self contained units with all that you need. Serviced every day except Sunday. Welcome pack of water & wash up stuff !! Two bread rolls on the door handle each morning - nice touch. Seemed to be mainly occupied with long term (retired?) clients. Good pool bar & eatery, but is very underused - don't know how they survive on such a low level of support. Helpful at reception & can't fault the recommended car hire firm.
Overall a good place to stay, you could find fault if that's what you want to do - but then you can anywhere.....love watching the sunbed reserving game each morning!!

Room Tip: The lower level rooms (floors 1 & 2) open out onto the pool side or sunbathing area. Better to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekay555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We come to Playa del I ngles at least once, often twice a year, always staying in budget accommodation. Usually the accommodation is ok - you get what you pay for!. This time however, at last we have discovered accommodation in the centre of Playa that goes the extra mile to make sure your holiday is a good experience.

The location is fine, near the Kasbah although you would never guess, no noise whatsoever can be heard from there. 10 mins walk to the Yumbo, 10 mins walk to the beach

Staff - very friendly, a special mention to the cleaners who visit most days, always with a smile and 'hola' greeting.

Apartment - For the money, excellent. Mattress looked new, good quality furniture inside, large patio with plastic table & chairs outside. Kitchen had everything you would expect, all in working order. A TV with 2 or 3 English speaking channels Great shower, big enough for two, powerful and always hot water.

Pool seemed fine although we only use the beach. Seemed to be that strange tradition of putting towels on sunbeds 7am thing going on!!

The small things make a difference, - washing up pack waiting when we arrived, liquid, sponge etc PLUS fresh bread hanging on the door knob every morning!

After years of staying in whatever is the cheapest in future we will definatly be searching this one out!

Highly recommended! x

Room Tip: We always request high rooms, more secure and usually a bit quieter. There are six floors here, we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manchesterguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel was good, cleaning exceptionel and we got bread every morning. BUT the grandchildren of the hotel managers ruins everything. When they are out by the pool area they cry and scream so much that it is impossible to stay near the pool. For that reason, I will never go back to that hotel. Furthermore, the pool bar wasn't really open, the entertainment they said would be there every wednesday and sunday didn't happen and if there had been more guests at the hotel there would not have been nearly enough sunbeds around the pool.
I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
3  Thank Annekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The female Spanish receptionist has three boys for grandchildren. They fight, shout and cry every siesta they are visiting. Which makes it impossible to be anywhere at the hotel. No one corrects them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sigbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Although most of the other holidaymakers there were Spanish we had a lovely stay all due to the lovely staff. They don't speak a great deal of English (enough to get by) and appreciate it when you try to speak a little Spanish, and they are very helpful. You still get the 2 free bread rolls every morning, and we even had a free 2 litre bottle of water in the fridge on arrival. We got 2 sunbeds and a parasol no problem - at 1 p.m. (August surprisingly isn't their busiest time). Paco the barman (and general handyman) is a gem. We were allowed to pop in a week after leaving (to be picked up by the bus) and were even given a key to use a spare room for a shower (free!!). Really handy for the beach and the bars, yet you don't hear any noise from the bars even at 2 a.m.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I want to say thank you for the wonderful time we had while staying at the Sunsuits Amazonas.We found the apartment spotlessly clean and very comfortable, as a matter of fact the whole building both inside and outside was in the same condition.All the staff were very helpful especially Lotta on the reception deck (who spoke English) and a special mention to Francisco and his wife who run the restaurant, they served us wonderful food at very reasonable prices.The location of the Amazones is superb, 5 minutes to the beach, 5 minutes to the Kasbah/Metro shopping centre and at the same time it's a quiet location as it's in a dead-end street with very little passing traffic so a good nights sleep was assured. Another plus for me was the age group of the clientele, most were retired people (like myself) so I would have no reservations about recommending it to any of my friends.Another nice touch was the welcome pack when we arrived and every morning two bread rolls delivered to our door. All in all we had a most enjoyable holiday, we were there for four weeks (all of Feburary) I wish we could have stayed longer.
Ron O'Mara

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Tamaragua Apartments
Tamaragua Apartments
#90 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#77 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#89 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#60 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Amazonas

Address: Avda. Marruecos 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Sunsuites Amazonas)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $50 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsuites Amazonas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Amazonas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing