We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating”
Review of Veril Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Veril Playa
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“needs updating”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

October 2013
This was our 2nd visit to the hotel in 2 years.The rooms definitely need refurbishing as they are out dated.Went half board ,the breakfasts are ok but the evening meals are poor and only just warm.The location is good as being the last hotel of the resort along the beach front and in easy walk of the shops bars and restraunts.The pool area is very good and cleaned daily.
The weather on this island always seems to be fantastic and the locals friendly.If you decide to go go bed and breakfast only and eat out. Tv has Mainly German programs with a gb news program.staff friendly

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heklawalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    49
    32
    21
See reviews for
30
94
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel recently for two weeks half board and for the price we payed we really can't fault the hotel or the staff. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean by a team of dedicated cleaners...yes the rooms could do with a revamp ie..furniture needs an update but hey ho its only a visit and not your room for life! The food is decent and varied and the staff are very helpful. Would we stay here again... most definitely!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view and you will also have a sea view which is only 300mtrs away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We returned from a weeks holiday inn September which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel was clean and comfortable although the rooms could do with some updating. However the pool, restaurant and bar areas were lovely. We enjoyed the company of the bar staff who were very pleasant and only to happy to help. There was a busy road outside the hotel which didn't bother us but could bother some. The area itself was fairly quite although a 5 euro taxi ride to the Yumbo Centre is worth a visit. The beach nearby was lovely. There are a few restaurants within a 5 minute walk but the best one we had was the Italian which is attached to the Hotel a bit more expensive but well worth a visit. The bar staff were fantastic but I have to say the reception staff need to attend a course to improve their people skills even a smile would help.

From Linda and David - Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 127Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went all inclusive last time we visited Gran Canaria in Barcello Margarita Hotel, very nice, excellent , cannot complain.. This time we decided a week of self catering would do so we searched around and found this place, cheap and close to the beach and off the beaten track slightly. We arrived checked in and went to our room, basic kitchen, fridge, hob, coffee maker.. no kettle :( luckily the wife is a dab at this and had come prepared.. (take a travel kettle with you.. well worth it) the room was plenty big enough for us and had a chair come sofa bed, 2 single beds :( we pushed together to make 1 a tv and a balcony which faced the sea which was literally across the road. The pool is sufficient although no diving or lilo's allowed in it but it is cold at first no matter what time of day you decide to jump in it.. the sun hits the pool area all day basically and getting a tan is easy peasy. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and at times playful too, they gave us a few free shots as we paid our bill for any food or drink we decided to buy . The supermarket on site has friendly staff and is reasonably priced (we checked whilst out and about). If you walk along the front up to the right youll come to the bus station and some bars, walk across the bus station and to the left and youll come to "Cheers Bar" great for really good food, entertainment and friendly staff.. you can also earn (really easily) a couple of free tickets for a free limo ride around Playa Del Ingles from there just for visiting it and buying a meal or drink which is always buy 1 get 1 free .. we practically lived there at night , meals with a free beer, entertainment which "made the night" and plenty of English people dropping in to mingle and enjoy the fun.. We totally enjoyed the whole experience Veryl Playa is worth every penny and my wife and I and our Friends who came along too had no complaints .. You go self catering for a room to sleep, somewhere to eat in at times and to freshen up and shower etc.. this is brilliant.. we went from Oct 9th to Oct 16th, it was quieter and still roasting.. i gave it 4 *'s because although we ate there and the food was done perfectly the menu had limited snacks and the buffet they had on offer wasnt up to much as me being fussy didnt like alot in there. Taxis into Ingles to the main beach front cost 4 euros and are well worth it. San Augustine is to the left of the hotel, maybe a 15 min walk along the front.. a few restaurants and tat shops to check out one morning / afternoon .. we have no idea what "peak times" would be like here but our stay was great no noisy music at night, no screaming and shouting or traffic noise.. its close enough to get a good nights sleep yet still close enough to the night life to have a great evening out .. if youre on a budget this will suit you fine. We found it clean and the rooms were cleaned and changed daily , even to the point of washing our pots for us if we left any . No pestering lucky lucky men, well there is one but he soon learns youre not interested, and any other about had like a stall set up and sit and let you go to them rather than pester you to buy. Go on, if youre considering the place.. DO IT!!! You wont regret it. Oh and another plus.. from the airport youre normally first dropped off and last picked up :) and you never here the planes.. 20 mins drive to the hotel... magic ;) Go on... treat yourself :)

Room Tip: We had Rooms 201 and 202 .. 2nd floor.. perfect see the sea, close enough to the ground floor if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RBrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My cousin and me have just got back from our annual fly n' flop to Gran Canaria. This year, we chose the Veril Playa because of its proximity to the beach, and were'nt disappointed. Also because it's a "low rise" hotel, I don't like heights! We asked for a low floor, the second, and they were happy to help.
We always go self-catering, as we're a pair of skinflints. Ok, so the appartment was a bit dated, the bathroom was out of the ark , a kitchen door fell off and part of the hob didn't work but it was clean and I've had worse crash pads and for 70 quid a week each, I'm not complaining!
No naff entertainment, just the gentle sounds of a local radio station wafting up to our balcony in the evenings:- AC/DC, Metallica, Guns n' Roses, even CAMEL! Just like home! Brilliant!
The staff were friendly ( hint:- be nice to them and they're happy to help) the local Tropical beer was cold, and the pool was inviting. No complaints from us, we're coming back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to Veril Playa with my daughter for a girls week away last September. We booked through Ice lolly .com and got a good deal at £300 each all inc. When we arrived we were quite impressed, lovely studio apartment with sea view. The hotel's all inclusive was very limited and the trainee manager called Aidrian watched you like a hawk. I asked for 2 white wines for my daughter and myself and he told me I was a liar and that he knew they were both for me. You dont go on holiday to be verbally abused by some jumped up spanish waiter. The food was very repetitive and not very nice. We ended up paying for bar snacks as the food in the restaurant was awful. The bar closed at 10.30 . The hotel does not cater for british tourists the Germans loved it with the table loaded with drinks they sat up til the early hours. The whole resort of Playa Del Ingles is not a patch on Las Americas in Tenerife. we were glad we only had a week there, some poor Brits had 2 weeks and were mortified! You get what you pay for but don't go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isobel486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on an " all inclusive" holiday earlier this year. Unfortunately our idea of all inclusive differed somewhat from the hotels. I was drinking beer, my wife wine and our daughters water so it meant that we would be finished at different times but the bar staff would not give us a drink until we were all finished.Also if someone came from outside the hotel to get a drink they where treated well while most guests were almost ignored. It became a standing joke between all the guests At one stage my wife compared her bare sangria to one that someone had paid cash for (which had fruit etc all over the glass) she was told that they had paid for it! So had we- at the time of booking!. Staff VERY rude (apart from cleaning lady). Location not good either. You are fairly close to the centre - once you get up the 87 steps at cardiac hill. Won't be back!

Room Tip: Pay extra and go to the Corona Blanca or somewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulo365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#111 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#43 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parquemar
Hotel Parquemar
#46 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#89 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#129 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veril Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veril Playa

Property: Veril Playa
Address: C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Veril Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Veril Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veril Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing