We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food poisoning, at best bland food.”
Review of Veril Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Veril Playa
Ranked #109 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed June 16, 2012

we have literally just got back from our holiday...june 2012, i have very mixed feelings about this hotel, we had read a few of the reviews on this site, so we knew or had a pretty good idea what to expect. The room was very clean, the bathroom is in desperate need of something doing to it, but with that in mind, acceptable for the price we paid, personally i would only do self catering in this hotel, at a push breakfast. The same things others have complained about happened to us, if your quick in the shower, then the water lasts. Towels were only changed every other day, and on one of the days, they only left one towel for 2 adults for 2 days????? The view from all the rooms face either the pool or the sea or both...and is a beautiful sight..we asked for extra pillows and had no problem getting them. The sticking problem for me was the food, it is under no uncertain terms, less than adequate, not a lot of choice, very basic, catering mainly for the german market i felt. sadly for me 5 days into our weeks holiday i ate something in the hotel that gave me awful food poisoning, i didnt leave the room or bed for a good 24 hours, and had to leave within the 48 as it was our departure date, my partner informed the reception that i had taken ill, he was told that the manager would be informed and given an emergency doctors number to phone if i got worse. The following day no member of staff asked if i was ok, or what was said, we were then told by other guests that the manager wont do anything he has no interest.!! the hotel is a fair walk along the prom to the resort centre, a good 20 mins i would say. The good bits were for us in june, there was no problem getting around the pool, there was always plenty of room, the view was gorgeous, that pretty much was it. If you want just a quiet base thats basic then this is ok, i dont think after the food poisoning i would return again even if it was self catering, there is so much more in the resort to choose from, shame it could be a nice little hotel with a bit of consideration to its guests from the owner/manager.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank franstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

@tomil69 I was there the same time in room 201.

Only restaurant you can use is the buffet one if you're all inclusive which the description didn't say. Food was horrible. Would not go all inclusive if I was you, you ca get a steak in the yumbo for 5 euros!

Staff were rude, and you could only have a small selection of drinks. You had to pay for cocktails. Didn't get clean towels until I found a maid to ask. Got shouted at coz I lost my roOm key and had to have another one. It's a half hour walk to the yumbo, when the description had told us 5 minutes. The beds r rock hard as well. Entertainment was disgraceful. Consisted of a man with a mic pressing buttons on his keyboard and singing rubbish songs.

Only bonuses were that the pool was clean and the computers were newish. Other than that I'm sure we could have got more for less and something closer to where we wanted to be!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethangus89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Veril Playa from 27th - 31st March 2012, travelling with a friend. Was a bit worried after some reviews on other sites, but needn't have been. Really nice, large twin room with sofa bed, separate kitchen and bathroom. Large balcony with sea view. Kitchen was basic but perfectly adequate. Bathroom slightly small and in need of upgrading but everything worked and it was fine! Beds were comfy and there was plenty of storage space. Literally 2 mins walk to the beach. We were half board, which wouldn't really recommend as the evening meal was pretty poor as others have said. Food was only ever luke warm at best. B & B would be best bet. Good soup though! Hotel has it's own Italian Restaurant (not available on half board) and this was very, very good and reasonably priced. The snack menu is also very good and the prices for the toasties are the cheapest I've ever come across and they are made with proper toast!Local restaurants within easy reach and all are so cheap it's not worth paying for half or full board. The hotel is located at the quiet end of Playa del Ingles and is perfectly situated to be far enough away from the nightlife if you don't want it, or just 20 mins walk or short taxi ride if you do want it. We paid 254 Euros for 2 people half board in a studio with sea view and it was excellent value for that price. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor and above with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT26Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here in March and had a great holiday. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. most of the staff were very friendly especially Adrian. Little Billy was great on a good day but you never really new what mood he was going to be in. The drinks were plentiful and the food was ok for what we paid.The location was great and had some lovely walks along the front. we went as a large party of 25 and always found room to sit around the pool no getting up early to lay your towels out. We would return and pay for the all inclusive even if it was just to cover the cost of drinks as there are plenty of nice places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pontybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at Veril Playa.

The first impression of the staff wasnt great, when we checked in we had to remind the guy to give us room keys as he forgot. We had upgraded and paid extra for a room with a sea view which we would recommened as the othet side of the hotel has a main road going alongside it and is noisy.

The room itself was clean and tidy, however there were just thin sheets to sleep with and no quilts or substansial bedding and it was rather cold at night. The only substitute which we found in the cupboard was a wirey old scratchy blanket, which to be honest had probably lived in that cupboard since the hotel first opened....
The TV is ancient but we only really watched it when getting ready to go out, which actually took longer than anticipated because of the shower. There is literally enough hot water to have 2 and a half minutes of a decent shower before you freeze, as the hot water has run out. ( this proved tricky when it came to washing my long hair and wanting to shave my legs so i had to learn to alternate the days) The tank then takes 30mins to fill back up which meant that if there was any more than 2 of you in a room, it would take forever to all get ready. One morning we put outside that we didnt want our room cleaned, this was ignored and we we returned later the beds had been made and the towels changed. I had left my phone in the room and some money, but this was all still there - the cleaning staff are trustworthy and were always happy to say hello, which is more than what could be said for the waiters.

THE FOOD IS DISCUSTING, even though we had paid money to go all inclusive - we ate out every night and lunchtime. Breakfast was just about passable, but everything was fried and caked in so much oil, we actually ended up thinking we may as well go and buy a bottle of oil and just drink that..... The cucumber and the salad was so dry it could have been out sunbathing with us all day and I didnt feel confident enough to try any of the meat. The waiter, ( on the first evening we went down to the restuarant to have a look) was cooking a fresh steak for someone (these people were paying for this meal and werent on the all inclusive plan) at their table and started to sniff over it and then sneezed over it and served it up...... I asked for a vodka and orange juice to test out the drinks and what i recieved was orange cordial (neat) topped up with vodka. During breakfast the waiters decided to service the coffee machines and one of the toasters didnt work. The restuarant felt quite grubby and needed a good revamp.

The location is amazing a 20min along the beach, from the main nightlife area and Maspolomas sand dunes. A stone throw away from the hotel is the beach which leads you to Maspolomas which is very ideal for anyone who wants to "pop to the beach" or go there just for a couple of hours. There is also a bus stop right outside and all the main buses pass it.

The pool area is cleaned daily, but the water is freezing.

We missed be able to have a decent shower and a hot cup of tea ( it was luke warm water) and missed simple things like comfy bedding. The hotel is in serious need of modernisation and the staff could of been so much more welcoming. We wouldnt go back to this hotel and next time wont be going all inclusive.

Room Tip: room with a sea view is a lot quieter, as the other side is a main noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed in Veirl Playa for a week. First impression of the room was poor and we wanted to switch the rooms but didn't. At the time of the booking we asked for the room on the top floor and didn't get it 2nd floor was given. The TV in room is ancient, plug in room 214 was loose so image was unclear sometimes. Bathroom needs refurbishment and the last day we found a cockroach sliding down the floor... Awful!!!!
THe good things about this hotel is Lacation, food & STAFF. Hughes compliments to the staff we felt very welcome.
Average hotel, if you are after the value not the comfort...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

hi we have just come back from the hotel, the staff are lovely, the rooms are very basic and quite old fashion, the shower in room wasn't very powerful and wasn't much hot water, and jelly and ice cream for tea every night.
But overall we enjoyed our stay here rooms cleaned every day, views are really good and got the sun on the balcony all day and the location is right next to the beach and close to bars also the hotel has it own supermarket

Room Tip: on the right side if you want the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beckyg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#123 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#55 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#77 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#66 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
#41 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
480 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veril Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veril Playa

Address: C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $79 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Veril Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veril Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veril Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing