We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive was a waste of time.”
Review of Veril Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Veril Playa
Ranked #101 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All inclusive was a waste of time.”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

All inclusive was more like full board. Food choice was poor and children not catered for. I ended up having to pay for snacks for my 6 year old as he would not eat from buffet. Cannot blame him really, the choice was poor. No soft drinks or ice creams/ice lollies for children. This was probably due to there being an on site shop from which to buy ices etc. Meals from buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, anything else outwith buffet has to be paid for. Waiting staff were very nice and friendly but shop staff and receptionist couldn't have been more stand offish and unhelpful. Lots of germans staying at this hotel and staff able to speak german but no staff spoke english! Location of hotel is great, not far from the beach but I would not return to this hotel. All inclusive was a rip off, ended up spending so much more than intended on food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeniwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    50
    32
    21
See reviews for
31
95
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I could say where they bought the stamps from the letters they have placed in this hotel, was bought in the supermarket?
Thank you very much

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank planta95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Having spent 2 weeks half board at this hotel with my wife I feel reasonably qualified to comment on it. The hotel, or apart-hotel, is situated with its back to a main road and its front to a quiet cul-de-sac/service road that has single story dwellings on the opposite side. In front of these are the promenade and the beach.

General observations

The hotel is quit small with just 5 stories on 3 sides which encompass the front of the hotel. This is fully tiled and contains tables and chairs for eating or watching the evening entertainment and houses the main and children’s pools. Large planters are used extensively for the flora and fauna.

Accommodation

All rooms have balconies and most have sea views. The only ones that do not look directly over the sea face the access road connecting the main road to the service road. However, the sea would also be observable from these to one side.

We had a two bedroom apartment which was of a generous size. The accommodation comprised two bedrooms each with 2 single beds and built in wardrobes. The lounge area had a bed/settee plus table and chairs and a TV, (this has only a few mainly Spanish or German channels). The kitchen had a sink, 2 ring hob and fridge plus cupboard space. The bathroom had a bath with shower over, toilet and bidet plus hand basin. Our bedroom window faced onto the main road so yes, there is some traffic noise. However, unless you live in the countryside there is probably no more noise than you’d get in most towns. Double glazing would be an advantage here.

The balcony has small patio table and two chairs and a clothes airer.

I can only speak for our apartment but, aside from it being a bit dated and showing obvious signs of wear, it could do with a refurbishment, it was spotlessly clean with no sign of mould or other nasties.

Maid service

This was 6 days out of 7 with towels and bedding changed every 3 days or on request.

Food

This is served buffet style in the restaurant with breakfast from 8 until 10, lunch 12 until 2 and dinner 6 until 9. The main dining area is on the small side meaning some tables are too close to the serving areas. There is an overspill area adjacent to the adjoining bar area and you can also eat outside.

Breakfast was the same every day other than they alternated between fried and scrambled eggs. That aside there was a choice of around 4 cereals, 2 or 3 cold meat slices and cheese slices, hard boiled eggs, baked beans, mini sausages, sliced tomato and cucumber plus bread rolls and toast. There were also fruit juices and hot drinks.

Lunch I cannot comment on as we were half board.

Dinner. It has been mentioned elsewhere that this hotel only serves fish and pork. Of the 14 nights we were there I’d say this was true for around 9 or 10 nights. Fish was every night although there was beef or chicken instead of pork. My wife doesn’t eat red meats so had the fish or chicken when available. There was a variety of fish served over the 2 weeks and was generally fried, though not as we know it. Vegetables tended to be limited in choice i.e. one or two per night. There was also soup each night plus a salad bar. Desserts were limited but there was always a choice of ice creams, jelly, some fruit and a couple of chef’s concoctions.

Staff

We did not find the staff rude. By and large their English is not brilliant but they understand you and carry out your requests. We take it that we are in their country so it is up to us to make an effort. The highest percentage of guests are German and we feel the staff tend to cater for them, seeming to cope better with their language.

Hotel supermarket

Yes, you do pay a bit more. 5 litres bottled water was 1 Euro 25 compared to 95 cents at the next nearest supermarket. However, it’s convenient and carrying 5 litres of water for ½ mile tends to make your arm ache. If you want cheaper, go over the road to the promenade, turn right, walk along there and up the flight of steps, turn right along the next road and walk to the end. The supermarket is in front of you to the right.

Overall

Is it worth going to? It depends on your point of view.

We went on 19th March for two weeks which cost us less than £655 for half board accommodation. This equates to little more than £23 per night each for a large comfortable apartment with balcony and sea views, daily maid service, use of swimming pool and sun beds, 2 minute walk to the beach, bi-nightly entertainment and adequate breakfasts and dinners. All that for around the average cost of a Travelodge room for a night in England. I know where I’d rather be.

If you want cordon-bleu dining, waiter service, luxury apartments overlooking the sea and dancing girls you are going to have to pay an awful lot more.

One last thing. We posted all our postcards in the hotels post box in reception. Over a month later and not one has arrived!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PhilAnthropist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Where do i start.... Firstly the hotel is very dated but is clean (thats the positive),
there is a very small lift that services all floors to the rooms, clostrophobic and in need of updating (probably safer to walk the stairs). The first room we were given did have a pool view, The extra fold out bed, was stained with holes from years of wear and tear and unusable, the safe was not working and they expected us to wait 3 days for an engineer, we asked for another room and was given a motorway view (nice),! but at least the safe worked, there was no extra bed for our guest this time... we waited 3 days for a fold up bed with 7 slats missing (over half)!! there was a bench seat that we decided to use as a bed for the duration of the holiday.
The shower was awful, after a couple of minutes it was cold no matter what time of day or night, sometimes towels were not changed and just hung up to dry, and our rooms were not cleaned the day before departure... Oh and the lights in the apartment along with the phone and TV did not work.

The food was absolutely swimming in oil, mostly cold and unidentifiable, although toward the end of our stay and after much complaining they managed to get it a little warmer. We went all inclusive but only ate in there 3 times in the whole week as it looked and smelled so awful, almost all that were there complained of the same.
Beans on toast was a winner for us and the only thing that didnt have oil on!!
beware .... despite what you read in the travel accomodation details, dont be fooled into thinking there are snacks between meals, theres not! these snacks are actually (peanuts) and are given only on request in a bowl... i guess on the upside these were available from 10am-10.30pm, sometimes it was the only edible thing! Drinks were inlcusive in our holiday however you were watched at times if you asked for more than the right amount of drinks for the number in the group.

The poolside was clean, however unless you were up at 6am to get your towels out the sunbeds are taken.
This was our first and probably our last time in Gran canaria, we did meet others that gave great reviews for different hotels but in general for what we paid it was very very poor!

Room Tip: Avoid the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mltjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The only positive thing about this hotel is it's location. Beware of rooms on extreme right as there is a motorway directly behind the hotel ,on our first night we got no sleep because of the traffic noise,although we were given another room when we asked to be moved the following morning. Showers are a nightmare you get about 4 minutes of hot water ,rooms are cleaned every day but on a couple of ocassions instead of fresh towels the ones we had used were hung back on the rail. This hotel is definitely overpriced

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odense denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

if you´re looking for a reasonable place to stay, lovely service, spacious studio with kitchenette, close to beach, ok food, quiet location, near public transport/shopping and in walking distance of nightlife - without going bancrupt - its perfect!
if you want luxury standards, fancy entertainment, fitness/wellness facilities, fourstar meals, or love being in the middle of every possible party - its the wrong place for you.
bathrooms older and could do with a modernisation. some minor defects but everything is functioning ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rikkemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Veril Playa and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this small and friendly hotel. The staff were friendly, our 5th floor room clean and spacious and the food nice. We would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#119 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#48 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
951 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#82 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#128 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veril Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veril Playa

Property: Veril Playa
Address: C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Veril Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veril Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veril Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing