We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach; adequate but not thrilling”
Review of HL Sahara Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Sahara Playa
Ranked #70 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to beach; adequate but not thrilling”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Good things: Can't beat the proximity to the beach. Room was clean and bright (but quite basic). Good shower. Decent staff; not overly effusive but no problems with them either.

This was my first experience with an all inclusive vacation, and I was disappointed with that aspect. Food was definitely plentiful; breakfast was good, lunch was okay, dinner not so good. Food sits on buffet until congealed and everything kind of tastes the same; very ready to not eat that anymore after a week! Felt like a second class citizen as an all inclusive guest; my husband asked for coffee after dinner (which is on the list of approved AI drinks) but was told he had to go outside. During the day, drinks are only available from a special AI only pool bar, which serves basic drinks in throwaway cups--and is RIGHT NEXT to the "real" pool bar which serves gorgeous cocktails and beers in real glasses. You have a choice of 3 cocktails as an AI guest (pina colada, tequila sunrise, san francisco); I like margaritas, white russians, and mai tais so I was disappointed. I have pretty low standards as far as wine goes but the house white was horrible.

Pools are tiny but the beach is right next door. We had bad weather, which was disappointing, as other than the beach and sunning there's not a lot to do. We're not party/disco folks. We're in our 30's; most guests were in their 60's (and german) which was ok with us but might not appeal to other younger people.

I would stay there again but I wouldn't do the all inclusive option.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
36
58
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We went, all inclusive and that's a good choice for here. We walked the 5 minutes ti the Yumbo Center most nights and it's rigth by the beach too @Playa.

The food's from a good, buffet selection. To give you an idea how much it's focused on German clients, they have a German-speaking radio station and signage is in Spanish, and German. We asked for a kettle for our 'superior' apartment (to make tea), there were none to be had! Not a huge problem but it illustrates the point.

Staff are helpful, courteous and the rooms kept very clean. I liked that their are three separate pools scattered about the complex. If like me by the week's end you hanker for a British accent this may not be for you but it's a place I would return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

this hotel is lovely, it is literally 2 mins from beach, there is two sides to this hotel, the bedroom side, and the apartment side, the apartment side is fab, the rooms are huge, very clean, and cleaned everyday, i was half board, that was enough for me although they do all inc, the food was really nice, lots of variety, and they have a lovely open air area where yo can eat, this hotel is very german orientated i did not have a problem with this, i find german people very friendly once you get to know them, i even learned some german words (no not rude ones!!!!!!!!!!!)....so please if you are looking for a really nice 3 star hotel in PDI....then look no further. i dont and hope you wont be disapointed........

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — pool area only gets sun until 2.30pm,but beach 2 mins away
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank staffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Myself and my partner booked this hotel last minute and were very concerned with regards to the location, cleanliness ect. When we arrived at the hotel we were very plesantly suprised. It was very well mantanined from the outside and looked suprisingly good for the money we paid. Once inside we were greeted by a welcoming lady at the hotel reception who checked us in quickly and efficiently and gave us our room keys. Our room was extreemly large with a beautiful bathroom to match, we were also given at no extra cost a balcony with a sea view and all the amenities you could need/ want.

The hotel mostly caters for German guests and only one other English couple were staying at the hotel but all staff spoke English and were very accomodating. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets.

The food was buffett style and not the most exciting although well cooked with lots of variety.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, the hotel is a 3 minute stroll to the Beach, shops bars and resturants and the main centre Kabah is approximatly 7minute walk away. It is also approx 2 minutes to the main taxi rank, here you can get cheap taxi's to nearby maspalomas, water parks, golf corses, animal parks or to puerto rico where they have many great boat trips from booze cruises, to dolphin spotting.

Overall we had a great holiday and we were extremly inpressed with the hotel and all the staf there.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank xxGxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

I and my partner have been there from Dec 27,2006 till Jan 7, 2007. I am strongly recomend this hotel to you. We pay 1215 euro per 10 days, Half Board and New Year diner was included. We have nice view to the sea from our room - two large rooms, it was apartments building - its realy well renoveted. The rooms was clean and had mini-kitchen with microwaive and coffe-maker. The hotels is near IFA Dunamar - but rooms in Sahara Playa apartments building are more morden and large, than in IFA Dunamar.
The staff is very healpfull: Iberia lost our baggage, and found it only in 3 days. The staff help as every time. The food was good and different every day. I like this hotel - if you would like go there - choose the apartments and booked it directly to the hotel, its realy more cheap.

  • Liked — large rooms in apartments
  • Disliked — Elevator was broken ))
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EgorSafrygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos El Paseo
Apartamentos El Paseo
#35 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Pa...
#13 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
HL Hotel Rondo
HL Hotel Rondo
#51 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Sahara Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Sahara Playa

Property: HL Sahara Playa
Address: Alfereces Provisionales 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Sahara Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in the area of Playa del Ingles, only a few meters away from the main beach and a few minutes walk from the shopping centers “Kashba”, “Yumbo” and “Cita”. You can find several bars and shops in the direct surrounding of the hotel.The hotel consists of 56 tastefully designed rooms in the main building and 65 Apartments in two neighboring buildings. Facilities include a lobby with reception, lifts, internet corner and wireless internet access (against charge), a restaurant with smoking area (on the terrace), bar and terrace. At the sheltered backside of the hotel you will find the swimming pool with sun terrace. Another fresh water swimming pool is located in the apartment complex belonging to the hotel. Sun beds and umbrellas at both pools are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Sahara Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sahara Playa Del Ingles
HL Sahara Playa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing