We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here I am again.....”
Review of HL Miraflor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Miraflor Suites
Ranked #33 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Returning guest with my Mother from last year.......so 2nd review which I feel I needed to add in favour of the hotel/staff/experience.

Few things have changed since my last visit But feel I must put a extra special mention about the new chef at the grill restaurant on the Miraflor site ....... this guy can cook a steak to perfection. So it is a must that you should book your allowed evening meal here as opposed to eating at the Rondo (that saying you are A/I - H/B and if your S/C make sure you do indulge yourself as much as possible). The multi-lingual barman/waiter Gian was still here and as helpful as he ever was last time and was also quite taken aback that he'd remembered me from the previous year. A few of the staff have changed but all very professional and very helpful/polite. I was also struck on hard the Gardener worked on the grounds around the bungalows and how beautiful it was kept.

So as a reminder of my last review of here, meals (if A/I - H/B) are taken at the Il Rondo across the road, where also you have all reception facilities and use of bar/pool etc they also serve (self-service) cakes/ pastries/coffee/tea at around 4pm each day. There has been mixed reviews regarding the buffet style food on here and I'd like to remind each traveller that 1: There is only so much you can do with Salad (here they present it well and try and keep it interesting). and 2: They have numerous nationalities here to please and cater for(Spanish/german/dutch/polish/French/English) and manage to do this, so personally feel it is unfair to mark them down on ratings just because of this.......afterall you're in the Canaries not England so don't expect it to be English!!!! The food is warm, edible, well presented and kept in good supply. I turned up 5 minutes before end of service at breakfast and the choice was still well available.

I can't say enough good about this prisitine hotel &bungalows .......... but there is something about the relaxing calm atmosphere here that made me want to return.....and I don't normally visit to the same place twice but in fact I am now pricing up to return later this year with my husband & children.

As for the area I did find myself less critical and more accepting of the surrounding area this time, the buildings I so unwrongly judged, in my last review, house local people who have moved into the resort so they can work here (and work hard they do)!

As for cigs/tobacco duty free etc I still recommend the Bazaar Sai at the c.c.gran chapparal (just round the corner) as the cheapest for those who like to feel they have a bargain.....and don't forget to drop into the Britannia/Windmill for a refreshment or bacon sarnie......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ohwhere2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Miraflor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear ohwhere2go,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to find out that you were indeed satisfied with the choice of our hotel as you found here the perfect place for your holiday.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stood 1 week with my kids, and really everything was fantastic: the place, the location, the services and of course the weather. The complex was very safe so the children could play nicely.I will come back the sooner I can.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MbrievaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the Bungalows and in my view the accommodation is excellent, simple yes but excellent and fitted our requirements superbly.

The room consisted of a living room/kitchenette, Bathroom and bedroom. Each Bungalow has its own patio area and small garden area which was great for two fold, the kids had somewhere to play away from the pool or the beach whilst waiting for adults to get ready. Also when the kids were tucked away the patio was a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a drink in the evening.

Within the Bungalow complex there is a swimming pool which is split into three pools one appeared to be an adult pool, the second a kid’s pool where floats and splashing was the norm. The third pool being a paddling pool which was more suited to the toddlers however some of the bigger kids fit in there too.

The pool area is surrounded by Sun loungers and there are toilets easily at hand and which were very clean. Adjacent to the pool area is the Bar area which is open from 10:00ish through to 22:30 (which was plenty late enough for us). The Bar was staffed by an exceptionally pleasant young lady called Andrea during the day, not the surly service you receive in the UK. However it was disappointing to hear some of our fellow British tourist forgetting basic manners. The bar had a vast array of drinks available although those choosing A/I board are limited to the local tipple (tastes the same to me), Also available from the Bar was Hamburgers, Chips and Cheese & Ham Toasties - All of which were very nice and quickly available. The evening Barmen was Gian and he was a very friendly Brummie chap, full of advice and information about the local area (quite heavy handed with the Gin I must admit). Both Gian and Andrea were excellent with the kids and made visiting the Pool area friendly and relaxing.

The Bungalows are attached to Hotel Rondo as has been previously stated. Prior to our visit I read the mixed reviews on Food etc but I have to disagree with the Negative. The restaurant is self-service from a large servery section shaped in a horse shoe.

Breakfast presented a huge choice of food from different regions; there was the cereal option which always had approximately 6 options. Your continental option with Hams, Salami's and other cold meats. A huge array of breads and rolls were available, the hot option was varied but always offered some Bacon, Beans, Eggs etc. The bacon and beans did taste a wee bit different to that in UK but nevertheless they remained palatable and pleasant. The fruit juices where from machines and quite possibly concentrate but were good. The dining room is spaced out enough that you don't feel like you are sat in each other’s pockets and there is plenty of staff on hand to clear away the dishes.

Lunch again offered a huge variety including on our visits pizza, pasta, chips, rice and local dishes for the hot option. There was also a huge range of salads available most of which I would describe as being of European descent. However there was the option of building your own salad omitting any dislikes and indulging in your likes! Again the cold meats were plentiful, all the drinks available from the bar for A/I guests and were on draught in the restaurant. However there was a wine list and other drinks available but not necessarily included in the A/I package. The desserts on offer changed regularly and were pleasant but the kids were always distracted by the options of 4 ice-cream flavours and sauce! (Well it's a holiday after all)

Supper again mirrored that of Breakfast and Lunch with the addition of the Chinese Buffet, we did not experience that of those previous reviews stating that Dinner was Lunch just regenerated. However be warned the management has an aversion to flip-flops for dinner footwear although sandals are acceptable, staff will turn away anyone wearing flip-flops. We found the options changed daily but there were always regular dishes such as chips. There was always a Soup starter option. Friday night is Canary Evening and we were joined in the Restaurant by a local native musical duo which was intruding and was quite pleasant as a back ground noise. On offer that evening was meat paella, mussels and a vast array of fish dishes.

Entertainment for the kids is second to none we wrongly initially thought the Dino Club wasn't free however it was and the staff that manned it were very friendly, enthusiastic and motivating for the children offering rewards of balloons or certificates for achievements or good colouring etc. The little club house positioned behind the bar area includes a decent play area but in the club house the kids have a HUGE option of activities from colouring to playing a Wii with the constant back ground noise of cheesy pop for them to bop along to. The staff arranged games and contests for the kids and really encouraged the kids. I couldn't believe how long they worked for as the staff from the kids club manned the Kids disco each evening in Pub Rondo across the road in the hotel. This was geared to the audience and included English, German and Spanish songs and equally noisy and cheesy but again the staff approached it with much gusto.

The Bungalows has some resident Peacocks which my youngest had to visit regularly. The gardeners were feverishly working to maintain the grounds which were very atheistically pleasing. Also resident with the Bungalows were a family of parrots high up in the palm trees and also very cheeky other birds which have a beady eye for any dropped morsel of crisp. The hotel employed an army of cleaners who kept the area very clean and tidy. The cleaners cleaned the rooms every day barring Sunday and Wednesday and made a good job of the room and on one occasion we needed a replacement bed sheet for our youngest's cot and before I managed the 2-3 minute walk back from hotel reception the sheets had arrived at our room. Reception staff were friendly and approachable and answered any questions I had of them.

Overall we stayed for 1 week with 2 adults and a 6 year old and a 22 month old and it suited all of our needs down to a tee. I would advise anyone to visit and I will consider revisiting after the positively relaxing stay we had. The Bungalows are a little oasis away from the Hustle and Bustle although within walking distance of the beach and various shopping centres Yumbo being the closest. However the little SuperMarket underneath the Hotel was well stocked and offered almost everything you could possibly need.

Well Done and Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cravinggoodsevice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Central location, minutes from Yumbo shopping centre, bit of a hike to the beach,these bungalows offer peace and quiteness in the town. Not the most spacious 1 bedroomed places you,ll get, but adaquete, also not the best for privacy as, if your sunlounging outside the bungalow you will be lying side by side with your neighbour or will have people passing by on the various footpaths.
The park is part of Il Rondo hotel across the road.This hotel is geared mostly for German / Scandanavian guests which is no problem ( except only 1 English T.V. channel - BBC world news !!!).Very good standard of food on offer for a hotel buffet,wide range of food including chinese selection & good displays of salads etc.Only let down was the charging for any drinks with evening meal including water !!!
There is an additional restaurant /grill beside the bungalows swimming pool which is very nice,this has to be booked preferably 1 day in advance.
All reception staff very friendly and helpful, and bungalows cleaned / towels changed daily.
20 euros for a weeks wi-fi !!! Also 10 euro deposit for T.V. remote. internet available in hotel reception for 1 euro / 10 mins. No kettle supplied in kitchenette but was a coffee maker.Various forms of entertainment laid on in the hotel every night at 9 o clock,aimed mostly for small kids.
In general a good, clean place with high standard food, offering peace and quiet in the middle of the town.Little bit of fine tuning would give this place 4 stars.

Room Tip: Booked 2 " Superior" bungalows, but not sure what the advantage of that was against normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The bungalows are located within the city of Playa del Ingles, offering peace and quiet. The apartments are spacious, the beds a bit too soft. Nice to have small garden and sun beds. The pools are ideal for families with a normal swimming and kids pool. If you purchase an option with food, you will eat in a nearby hotel. Buffet food is ok, nothing too special. For sure not 4 stars, but better than average. Best to have a car to easily move around the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Returning to the Miraflor bungalows after four years, I was pleasantly surprised to find the bungalows in this resort had been tastefully renovated.

I stayed in a one room studio bungalow which was spacious and nicely appointed. As a self-contained unit the bungalow had a fully equipped kichenette (microwave, 2 ring hob, coffee machine), so good for people choosing self-catering option (I elected for half-board, see below).

The bathroom was also a nice size, but only contained a lavatory, wash basin and shower (no bath). Shower gel was supplied in a dispenser, towels were a good supply and the cleaning of the bungalow was regular and to a good standard.

The bungalow I booked contained two single beds. The beds were comfortable and sheets / blankets were in good supply. There was adequate wardrobe space. Unfortunately there is no free wifi, and even the usage of the TV, Air-con and safe are chargeable - this is regrettable, and in my view a safe should be available free of charge (even if they need to secure a deposit for keys etc.).

The Miraflor is part of the Rondo Hotel which is a quick walk across the road. All food for my half-board was served in the Rondo self service buffet. They do now have an a la carte restaurant, which needs to be booked in the morning, but I did not use this option. In general terms the quality of the food both at the breakfast and evening meals is of a very high standard, and also offers a good variety. All beverages at breakfast are included, however, it is regrettable that they do not even provide table water without charging in the evening (guess I should have gone all inclusive!). Travelling alone, it was also of some annoyance that the staff were too efficient in removing my plates and seeking to reallocate my table when I was getting my dessert! Maybe a simple system reserved sign could resolve this.

Room Tip: If you require a quiet bungalow, request one towards the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed here for the first time in September, on arrival the bunglaow smelt excpetionally strong of smoke been a non smoker this wasnt great - spoke to reception who said we could move but not till Monday so decided to stay and after a good airing and plenty aftershave it was okay. The bungalow itself was great nice and clean good firm beds, little kitchen all nicely done out and quite modern. The food wasnt great at all only option here was half board, only ate breakfast twice as didnt fancy garlic bread with cheese or courgettes for breakfast.... a bit odd and after seeing the chef from the BBQ restaurant on the bunglow side dribble raw chicken juice over the cooked meat this put me off eating dinner also..... All in all great bungalows nice complex but avoid the food...

Room Tip: The bungalows near the bottom entrance seem to be better i.e 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPW2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0 mi away
HL Hotel Rondo
HL Hotel Rondo
#42 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#14 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
MUR Bungalows Parque Romantico
MUR Bungalows Parque Romantico
#31 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Miraflor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Miraflor Suites

Address: Avda Timple 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Miraflor Park)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $109 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Miraflor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bungalows of Miraflor Suites are situated centrally in Playa del Inglés, in wonderful gardens surrounded by palm trees, with sweet water swimming pool with integrated children’s pool, sun terrace, sun beds and parasol. Miraflor Suites is located in front of Apart hotel Rondo where the reception and another restaurant can be found.Distance to the beach 1500 meters, free shuttle bus service several times daily. In the neighbourhood you can find bus stops and shopping facilites. The shopping centres “Yumbo” and “Kasbah” are in short walking distance. All rooms are also accessible for elderly and disabled guests, with doors 86 cm, 90 x 90 cm and an accessible shower. Handles, toilet seat and shower chairs are available, pre reservation necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Miraflor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Miraflor Park Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Miraflor Park
Miraflor Park Hotel
HL Miraflor Suites Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing