We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly service, immaculate pool and surrounding area, well placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Cactus Apartments
Ranked #122 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Treat the negative comments with a big pinch of salt. Having booked and then read the write ups, it was with some trepidation that we arrived at Los Cactus,our fears were unfounded.
Yes the room decor is a bit tired but the whole place was clean, friendly and well suited to a family holiday.
There was no glass in the pool, no wild excesses from drunken parties of revellers (apart from New Years Eve, when the whole town goes crazy)!

A great, cheap location. Don't expect 4 star accomodation unless you pay for it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zigimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2006

My husband and I visited these apartments on a last minute bargin in late April 2005. We knew they were only 2 star and expected them to be basic. Which they were! We had no insect or cockroach problems (possibly as we were the end of the winter season). The apartments were tired and seemed to suit teenagers or those in their early 20's. I would definitely class the hotel as being in the middle of everything e.g. for those wanting a partying heaven. Not ideal for my husband and I who have our own teenagers and we are past all night partying. Some good Irish and English pubs all within 5 mins walk maximum. Plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes nearby and boy do they want your business. The resort is a party capital by night and full of older people during the day which we found okay. (Because all the teenagers are sleeping their overindulgence off in their apartments or beside the pool). Yes you do hear the partygoers coming back from the pubs and clubs up to 6am in the morning. This is especially bad on Friday and Saturday nights. We made the best of it and used it as a base to travel and explore from. There is a bus stop across the road and you can go to Puerto Rico for next to nothing so the holiday if you decide to stay here will be what you make it.

The floors in the apartment were not very clean underfoot and we watched the staff brush the daily dust and debris from the pool area into the pool each morning. To say the least I never dipped my big toe into the water. The apartment was very tired e.g. holes in the eggbox doors etc. but had everything you needed for self catering.

I come from Northern Ireland and was very disappointed to go all the way to Gran Canaria and see Northern Irish Sectarian graffiti scratched onto the inside of the lift. The lift decided not to work occasionally - especially if two people with cases got inside. Your could barely get 3 skinny people squashed into it at the best of times. Be prepared to walk up quite a few flights of stairs if this happens - you will surely be fit by the end of your stay. Beds were comfortable although not changed in the whole week we stayed there and even though the kitchen bin was emptied daily nothing else was done to the apartment.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tamcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

The only good going for this hotel is it's location!

I was one of a group of 8 girls who stayed here in 2001. We wanted a cheap and cheerful sun holiday.....well, we got the cheap bit!

It was a great location, right between the Irish centre and the English centre - not far to walk to either!

On first impressions, the apartments were fine. Lovely marble floored reception, with leather sofas. The rooms were ok too, at first.Two bedroomed apartments, with the basics.

But, after a couple of days the nightmares began.
First we started to find dead cockroaches in the cupboards, and drawers, which indicated that they had not had a proper cleaning. Then we had a stampede of cockroaches. (I've been to the Canaries before, and although I dont like cockroaches, I know its just part of life there, but this was different.)

We were getting ready one night to head out, and someone let a squeal out - there was a cockroach in the bathroom sink. Within an hour they were coming up from the plughole in the sink, the bath, behind the toilet, in the extractor fan....it was horrible! I'm not sure if these things nest, but if they do, there was definitely a nest in our apartment. We closed the bathroom door, and they crawled from underneathe it, up the doors and walls. And then they start flying!!

We asked to be changed rooms, but no one was bothered about us. So that was how our holiday continued - with the bathroom closed, and all around it sprayed with cockroach killer. We opened it a few times to check, but we could always see at least about 6 - 7 cockroaches in the small bathroom. We had to use the bathroom in a neighbours apartment for the rest of the holiday. When we were packing to go home, the girls were finding them both dead, and alive through their clothes and suitcase.

The other incident that happened that I couldnt believe was when I cut my foot on glass at the pool. I didnt want to make a fuss, but my friend went to the reception to see about getting first aid, or a bandage, and to tell them that there was glass lying at the pool. But what did she get....a mop and bucket, to make sure that we cleared up all the blood after us!! So much for health and safety.

Although we went on a cheap holiday, because of my experience there, I always make sure toread reviews about the places I go now, and am prepared to pay extra to never have the risk of experiencing a hotel like the Los Cactus again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shell820810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zona guiri total, para un ambiente más canario. El norte de la isla, sin dudarlo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elenagarciabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank cristianap771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lägenheterna på marknivå är jättebra - egen uteplats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marie201301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#123 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cactus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cactus Apartments

Address: Av de Italia 32, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $76 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Cactus Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Cactus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cactus Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Los Cactus Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing