We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Cactus Apartments
Ranked #122 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed August 19, 2012

When we arrived they did not have the room for us even though we booked it more than two months before. They get us a room in the the other Aparthotel for a few days. Then finally when we got the room in Los Cactus apartments, these apartments appeared to be very dirty (lots of cockroaches), noisy and staff is very unhelpfull (we did not have any water for two days). We would never recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Los Cactus Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

we enjoyed our stay at the los cactus,Friendly staff, rooms were spacious and clean as was the pool and gardens. close to restaurants and bars and a short walk to the beach. I would definitely use these a

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I travelled on a party holiday with a group of 5 other 19 year old girls. Although it was for 4 persons, the couch provided a perfect 5 bed.

The apartment was basic but it was clean and had everything that was needed, no complaints. Bedrooms were grand kitchen and tv room and patio were fine too!

Location was so good for going out at night. It was only one street away from both the Irish and English centres

I wasnt expecting much at all going by the reviews i had read before and was really pleasantly surprised when i got there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EimearDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

There is just one thing that we can say: if you are looking for a decently clean and quiet place (i.e., if you want to sleep at night), DO NOT STAY THERE. We could not sleep for 4 nights in a row (silly noisy drunkards yelling all night long around the pool) and were about to have a nervous breakdown - we just wanted to go home. Luckily we were able to find another place - clean, friendly and quiet - and we moved. A vacation in a place like Los Cactus is no vacation - it is hell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefaniaPavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We was in Los Cactus during 16th-24th of March 2008, we was really surprised how nice the apartment was, very clean and we didnt see not even one cockroach. Furnitures was little old but what you can expect of 2 star hotel. Hot water was always available and bathroom clean. Our apartment was on the second floor. Pool-area was cleaned every morning and it was big enough. Cleaning was 3 times a week.

Also many apartments was rent to local people for all winter.

This aparthotel was full of young people so little noicy it was on nighttime and my parents didnt like it. If you want silent hotel then this hotel is wrong choice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JaanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We travelled to these apartments in 2004 and after reading some of the reviews written here I felt I should tell my experience aswell.

We got a late deal from our travel agents and decided to give it a go as the pictures in the brochues looked quite nice - how wrong were we. On arrival they looked very old, dirty and basic and on the inside they were exactly that. There was a grotty small reception and when we got to our room we were greeted with a massive cockroach on the wall of one of the bedrooms. This was just the start of it. Throughout our stay we had several cockroaches in the apartment with us, it was disgusting. Also the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy!! We didnt even lie by the poolside once, we paid into the waterpark nearby every day.

I would never recommend these apartments to anyone even if they are quite well located. Since our stay here we have insisted on 4 star hotels and apartments wherever we go, its just not worth taking the risk when your paying all that money.

Do yourself a favour and don't bother.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lisa0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Having booked this holiday prior to reading reviews, I was petrified on arrival at these apartments, dreading what would be lurking behind the doors. Pulling up outside, I have to be honest and say it didn't do anything to improve my nerves... it looks a little dreary and run down. However the lobby was acceptable, and things started to look up somewhat. Our room was on the first floor, and I nervously opened the door, not sure what I was expecting to find. Inside was clean and tidy, a nice sized kitchen area with hob and plenty of pans and cutlery, crockery etc, a decent sized living area, 2 fair sized bedrooms both with twinbeds in, (we just did a little rearranging to push the beds together to make a double bed). Everywhere was clean and tidy, and the balcony was a nice size with clean table and chairs on. My biggest fear in any hotel or apartment is always the bathroom, but even that met with my high standards!

The apartments are well located, just a few minutes stumble from the Kasbah or the Irish centre, but far enough away to not be disturbed by any noise.

The pool was clean (not a piece of glass in sight!!) with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas available.

Overall, Los Cactus is more than acceptable for a budget accommodation option. Don't expect to go there and rest in five star luxury... if you want that, you have to pay the premium. Do expect clean, basic, good value accommodation with enough room for four adults to live comfortbaly with a child for a week or 2.

Stayed: December 2006
6  Thank krazycricketbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Montemar
Apartamentos Montemar
#85 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Orquideas
Apartamentos Las Orquideas
#68 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casas Pepe
Casas Pepe
#49 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#128 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos El Paseo
Apartamentos El Paseo
#34 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cactus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cactus Apartments

Address: Av de Italia 32, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $72 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Cactus Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Cactus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cactus Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Los Cactus Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing