We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Strelitzias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Strelitzias
Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Booked this apartment through booking.com from Boxing Day 2009 for a week.
As said in previous reviews their reception was locked with a sign on the door saying to call at the hotel accross the road to check in, which we did without problem.
The apartment itself was very spacious, however the furnishings were a bit dated and looked like they had been tarted up with a lick of white paint at some point.
The beds were uncomfortable and the pillowsand linen not great either.
No kettle or hairdryer provided so take your own if you require these, oh - and although there was a television this was not tuned in and had no remote to do so either.
The maids were very pleasant indeed and the apartments were kept very clean as well as the communal and pool areas.
The location was convenient for the beach and the Metro, Casbah and Irish centres are literally on your doorstep. This is great if you want to party to the early hours but not so great if you go to bed before as the music pumping and people coming and going create a great deal of noise which can be heard clearly from these apartments. If your looking for a bit of peace and quiet in the evenings, i would recommend not going here.
There were no problems with other guests being rowdy etc, however the walls are a bit thin and you can hear pretty much all thats going on from the neighbouring apartments beside/above/below you.
All in all i probably would not return to Strelitzias, however at the price we paid around £260 for the week at that time of year i feel it would be cheeky to complain!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We expected the worst but got a surprise! The place is just renovated. Everything had been painted and looks clean and fresh. All balconies are on the south, so you can enjoy the sun the whole day on a spacious balcony or terrace (lowest floor). There's no restaurant or entertaiment, but nightlife is just around the corner. The place is very clean, the kitchen well equipped en the staff friendly and helpful. There wasn't any noise when we were there, but maybe that's different in summertime.

  • Liked — balcony, location
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

Was a little concerned having read some of the previous reviews, however all my worries were soon put to rest. We are a family of 5 so we took two apartments over Xmas ‘08 . On arrival (7:30pm) checked in without any problem and shown to our apartments which were neighbouring ground floor and both opening up onto the pool side. It did appear that the complex has been recently freshened up and as such there was no sign of any of the problems stated in some other reviews. The apartments were cleaned daily by a team of very friendly and efficient maids. All staff were all very helpful and friendly. Over the Xmas period Playa del Ingles is relatively quiet so the noise from close by bars and clubs was not to intrusive during the night, however if you are looking for a quiet spot during the busy periods this may not be the place to go. Strelitzias Apartments are well situated with plenty of small bars, shops and restaurants near by. A small supermarket is directly opposite the entrance. The pool was a little cool however with the direct sun light hitting if from about 10am to 3pm it was bearable, however with the beach only a 3min walk away you do have a choice. Overall I would have no objections about staying there again at that time of year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den84
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed here last year for a week mid july with my boyfriend. Our apartment overlooked the pool and was relatively clean.
Did not visit the pool as it was taken over by a horde of intimidating/ drunken/ loud spaniards the whole week.
Couldnt believe my eyes when I saw a spanish guy swimming with his 2 yr old ( nappy wearing) child in the pool, he then took his kids dirty nappy off (still in the pool) and left it at the poolside, and continued splashing about.
Needless to say it was the beach from then on for us! Only good thing about this accomodation was its location, across the road from the kasbah centre with the main nightlife. holiday was average, playa de ingles itself is good I think we might have enjoyed it better if we had booked more decent apartments. If I did ever go back I would steer clear of this accomodation.

  • Liked — it was clean, no coackroches. and in a central location
  • Disliked — the pool hygiene/ spanish nightmare people who stayed there
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank den84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

Absolutely horrendous, there were cockroaches in the fridge, in fact they were everywhere, we had no privacy the maids would just walk into your room, the caretaker walked into our room at 7am in the morning and accused us of breaking the pool shower, he ranted on in spanish and demanded money of us to fix it, the reception staff were awful not friendly at all, I just found this to be the most repulsive holiday I have ever been on and will NEVER set foot back in Playa del Ingles because of this experience, I would advise anyone to stay well away from this hotel and book somewhere else

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chubby_duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Strelitzias appartments in Gran Canaria. When we arrived we had to wait around for over an hour because no one was there to check us in! While we waiting we had a taster of things to come, which included very loud and inconciderate young spanish groups which looked drunk and some looked like they were on drugs!!

Eventually we checked in and went to the appartment, which was on the ground floor. First thing which was a concern was the security aspect of the room, as we were on the ground floor the lock on the sliding glass doors did not seem sufficient to stop anyone trying to get in, and also our balcony space was did not even have a barrier wall, so not very private at all!!!

The room was kept very clean with the maids coming every other day, although some days it would be too early in the morning and even with the door locked they could get in!

Going back to the young spanish groups we saw and heard - they take over everything and think of no one, speaking so loud, playing music (trying to blow their stereo speakers loud!) at all times in the day or night, They stayed in the appartments on level s 2 & 3 and threw their rubbish (apple cores, bottles, wrappers, food in general etc...) onto the ground floor, also smashing bottles on the ground floor!!! I think you get the idea....
This noise and these idiots come on Thursdays and go on Sundays/Mondays! And for the rest of the time while they are not there, the pool and apartments are a much nicer and quieter place.

The rooms do keep cool in the day, as there is a cool breeze - however at night they seem to absorb the heat. There is no air conditioning, and it is quite frustrating when you are waking up 6/7 times in the night because of the heat (to shower, walk outside to cool down)

With the resort in general, again it was a let down from what we expected. The bars, restaurants and shops are grouped into areas they call 'Shopping Centers' which in order for you to see what is there you need to walk into the thick of it which is not nice. The apartments are 60 meters away from the 'Kasbah' shopping center and that were the nightlife is really, but there are so many different bars/ 'disco pubs' (lol) next to each other you cant hear the music of just one place, it just blends into a nonsense sound. The music on offer is R&B and a very small bit of dance. Limited really. There are a few good Irish bars which have karaoke as well.

We have been to Corfu, Rhodes, Kos, Crete, Majorca, Ibiza, Menorca, Tenerife and Lanzarote - and would go back to them again - but as for Gran Canaria, we shall not be returning anytime soon

  • Liked — It was clean kept
  • Disliked — Security of rooms, no air conditioning, no views, too loud
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chunky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#62 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Dunas
Apartamentos Las Dunas
#37 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#56 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Australia Apartments
Australia Apartments
#120 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Calma
Apartamentos Calma
#33 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Dolores
Apartamentos Dolores
#46 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Strelitzias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Strelitzias

Property: Apartamentos Strelitzias
Address: Avenidad de Italia 25, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Strelitzias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Strelitzias Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Strelitzias Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing