We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be improved...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
STEVENAGE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but could be improved...”
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The hotel was in a great location and was very clean. The restaurant food was fantastic with a wonderful selection at every meal time. The staff were friendly & always cleaning & tidying.
I went with my parents and my 2 children aged 7 & 12 and the children were quite bored about 90% of the guests were German and all activities were in german most of the time.
The real big let down was the evenig entertainment which was almost non exsistant !!
started with a kids sing along for 10 min's and then aprox an hours entertainment ! so done & dusted by 9 so we went out every night which added a lot of cost to our all inc holiday ?
The bar closed at midnight and by ten past you were told to leave the bar area which was a shame as we were on holiday & not looking for a curfue...
Had two bad nights with large groups of drunk teenagers comming home in the we hours & throwing tables ash trays etc off balconies & playing music loud !
Would't recomend as a family destination really.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADHOUSE154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    215
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
110
233
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed here for a week in april. The hotel is absoloutly lovely and the bar staff are really freindly. The food was great and fresh and served throughout the day. The problems I found were the entertainment staff only really cater for the germen families as the majority of customers are german and not so much British.

The entertainment on the evening wasn't the best and stopped on the dot at 11:30pm every night along with the all inclusive drinks service, then you were rushed to drink up and get out of the social areas by security. I didn't like the false advertising on the boards saying "karoke tonight" only to find nothing but a amateur comedy sketch then 10 mins of music at the end of the night with the Disco lights being left off as if to force you to leave and the feeling you got was go to bed time.

Theres plenty to do within the hotel, from 5 aside football, tennis, pool, table tennis to golf. The kids loved it around the pool with the animation team constantly entertaining them.

Be aware of the german holiday makers leaving there towels on the sun beds early as 6am in the morning! Even though there are signs around the hotel saying this is not allowed, they still did it. We couldnt get a sun bed at all after 10am.

The entertainment in town best suits the british with irish karoke bars open till 4am, and the captial gay yumbo centre in Playa del Inglés justa taxi away. The nights there were the best for me and my girlfreind as the drag queen comedians were the best, very lily savage. But the yumbo centre is best to be avoid =ed if you take a offence towards homsexuals.

.........Oh and one more thing, avoid the african woman around the beach giving out human hair bracelets for free (I did'nt realise it was human hair, eww) then demanding cash! We ripped the bracelets off straight away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koski316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We've stayed last year in this hotel for a week with our daughter( 4 years old) and I can say we've had a wonderful holiday; some people might have a problem with the large number of german people in the hotel but i can assure you that staff will make no difference and you will get same treatment like others. Relaxing atmosphere, no noise, no fight for sunbeds, no loud music, no rude people and yummy food including sea food, caviar and champagne...also every evening entertainment for all ages. The beach is only 10min from thew hotel...enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

we have a little bungalow in maspalomas but it was booked up and we desperately needed a holiday so we decided to go half board here and what a great holiday it turned out to be.

Friendly greeting at reception, glass of bucks fizz while we waited 2 minutes for our keys. Room was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. Great view from the 5th floor overlooking the pool and caberet area. All the staff without exception were extremely polite all the time and so friendly. Food was fresh and varied with lots to choose from so didnt get bored of the choice, easy walking distance to the beach or shops and yet just nicely tucked away from traffic and any loud noise etc etc. very definately recommend to any age.

  • Liked — The frienfdlyness and professionalism of the staff
  • Disliked — 90% German
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I don’t know if it is because it’s a Riu, but what a great decision to go to this hotel . . . we cannot fault it! The standard is very high across the board. The staff were unfailingly polite and cheerful and always greeted us with something appropriate to the time of day. The rooms are of a high standard and cleaned to an equally high standard, the pool is fabulous and we were always able to get a sunbed in the sun. Towels are provided for the pool and sunbeds cannot be reserved before 10.30am. Us Brits were rather a minority but this in no way affected our stay – most of the other guests were German with a few French, Italian etc.. Several languages were used of which English was always one. We stayed on half board and this also worked very well as the food is very good, well cooked and well presented with a good choice. We usually eat out as we find hotel food not to our liking, but not this time. You keep the same table for dinner during your stay which is very nice. Again, the staff were cheerful, very polite and seemed happy in their work – quite unusual. Their ability to switch from one language to another is remarkable. Breakfast is until 10.30 – fantastic when you’re on holiday and don’t want to get up early! The evening entertainment varied but wasn’t bad. Only one very small grumble – we didn’t get 7 evening meals. We were on a night flight and arrived at around 3.30 in the morning (we got a wonderful cheery welcome) and were offered food. This was cold meat and salad and turned out to be our evening meal for the previous day before we had even left England. On the day of our departure, we did not get a meal in the hotel and had to eat out.
THE RESORT – the hotel is in a residential area so it is very quiet. Taxis are quick and cheap. There are a couple of small supermarkets nearby and a few bars, but that’s all. We were told that Playa del Ingles is the 2nd biggest resort in Europe but it doesn’t feel like that – the streets are largely deserted around the hotel. For shops and bars, you need to go to one of the commercial centres or down near the beach. There are many centres but we only went to the Yumbo Centre – it is an easy 10 minute walk or E2.05 by taxi. We went once in the evening – it gets quite lively and fun, but not for children as the night wears on.
THE BEACH AND SEAFRONT – it is true that the seafront is 350m away, but you then have to descend 92 steps and cross a car park. It is worth it however , the beach is lovely - sandy and wide - getting wider as you head towards the Maspalomas dunes. You can walk for a great distance along the seashore, paddling in the sea and a stream of people do this all day every day.. As you walk along, you become aware that certain people are wearing less, and then you realise you are walking past the nudist section. No-one takes any notice, though. To get to the beach, you have to pass the beachside bars and restaurants and a few shops. This is a good place to have some lunch at a reasonable price and it has a lot nicer atmosphere than the Yumbo Centre. It is also a great place for the evening – there are restaurants if you want to eat out and a lot of the bars have live music and entertainment such as “Elvis” and “Abba”. Again, the atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming, and it’s a nice place to be. There are the usual sunglasses salesmen but they were polite and not pushy, and we saw no timeshare people here.
ELSEWHERE – we didn’t do any organised trips as we have been before, but we did take a taxi to Maspalomas – it is more picturesque than Playa del Ingles and well worth a visit. Look out for the huge lizards among the boulders. The taxi cost E4.50 – very cheap. Go to the lighthouse (El Faro) and then walk along the lovely promenade. The bars there are very nice and well kept, and surprisingly well priced. The shops are mostly designer labels with prices to match.
The weather was normal for September – high 20’s/low 30’s in the day and around 22/25 degrees in the evening. Perfect.
I hope this is useful – do go to the Riu Palmeras – it lived up to all our expectations..

  • Liked — Superior surroundings, feeling pampered, visible management gving the impression they care
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crossfire3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed for 7 days, half board, at Riu Palmeras, (palmitos = the bungalows). The bungalows were a bit worn, but very clean, (once a day). But the best part was the service in the mail restaurant: I think it was the best I have ever experienced! For real. The food was also abowe average, changing from day to day, with two theme-dinners. The breakfast was plenty (!). The pool was fine but a bit crowded. I really liked that you were not allowed to "reserve" sun beds in the morning, (and then going to breakfast for examle) because the pool man removed the towels! :) Otherwise: Gran Canaria is NOT my cup of tea, but it was a dedicated pool vacation (for our daughter's sake) and she really liked it.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — few sunbeds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Älmhult
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We have stayed in quite some hotels in Gran Canaria, but Riu Palmitos is really the best one! Friendly staff, good serivce, clean rooms, not far from the sea and a very nice pool area. And don't miss the buffet in the restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vichy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Property: Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras/Riu Palmitos is located in Gran Canaria, Spain, and is ideal for enjoying holidays as a family, couple or with friends and soaking up the good atmosphere radiated by the island. In the calm and central resort of Playa del Ingles beach, you will find this comfortable 4 star complex that offers the service and quality that can be expected of RIU Hotels & Resorts. Everything you could need for relaxing and fun-filled holidays is within easy reach. It includes a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace and a gym as well as many water sports and two golf courses. In the surrounding area you can also rent a bike, play squash, mini golf or tennis.Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing