We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good service, value”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Not the fanciest hotel on the island, but the staff is super friendly and knows how to treat their guests. Fluent in multiple languages including Spanish, English, and German, they are eager to please. Our room was on the 7th (top) floor, so our view was very nice, facing the water and overlooking the Maspalomas dunes. Breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate, and I have to say the food (both quality and variety) were at a very high level. Having these meals included makes this hotel a great value overall. The walk to the beach is just about 10 minutes or so. If I come back to Gran Canaria, I would definitely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible, in order to get a better view. Definitely take the package th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dkirsch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    215
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
110
233
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you want a relaxing holiday in a first-rate comfortable hotel and excellent service, then the Riu Palmeras with its sub-tropical gardens and easy access through the gardens to the pool is for you.
Bedrooms in the main hotel building are comfortably furnished with balcony, satellite tv,mini-fridge,phone and hairdryer. A safe is available for a small charge.Higher floors, overlooking the pool, have a sea-view.
The hard working domestic staff ensure that everywhere is kept immaculately clean, whilst the friendly restaurant, pool and bar staff endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Meals are buffet style with an excellent variety of hot and cold dishes.An a la carte restaurant is also available.
Evening entertainment is provided nightly in the lounge-bar by an excellent resident group,supported by a variety of very good professional and semi-professional acts.
A small shopping centre, "La Sandla", is within 100 metres, whilst the main shopping centre "Yumba", is approximately 400 metres away.
For the energetic,the beach and promenade is about 300 metres from the hotel from where a gentle 20 minute stroll along the prom takes you to Mas Palomas.
As a solo traveller, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Riu Palmeras.

Room Tip: Higher floors, poolside, have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IsisWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It's the staff that make this hotel. Bar, resturant and pool staff are friendly, efficient and put in a lot of work to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The rooms, common areas and pool are very, very clean.
I had a couple of problems on check in (not the hotel's fault) and everything was put right for me by the reception staff/manager.
The Riu central reservation system left something to be desired in my experience - I had my booking cancelled with no notification. Once I discovered the cancellation (by a lucky chance), it took a few phone calls to get it reinstated. This could be a one-off problem though.
Rooms are small and, yes, you can sometimes hear your neighbours. But I wasn't disturbed at night by noise (inside or outside the hotel) at all - could be something to do with the measures in the bar!
The timed dinner sitting and the fact that you are allocated a table for your stay seem slightly odd and not something I have experienced in any other hotel. But this is not a big issue.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea, try to get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HammyHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

An excellent hotel, well organised, helpful staff, good food especially as it is cooked for large numbers of people eating at more a less the same time. It is about 20 years old and had a refurbishment about three years ago. Continuing maintenance is good and very little looks worn in comparison with some hotels which appear to have a blitz every so often. It is owned by a German group and is very popular with Germans. So what is the one thing. The sleep quality is abysmal. The walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear everything and I mean everything. Also there is a bar across the road which bumps into the early hours so much so that the bedrooms are fitted with a double front door to keep the noise out. My partner does not entirely agree with this but she takes her hearing aid out at night. Even then she can detect sounds. The silk purse and sow's ear metaphor is so true. For all the efforts of management and staff the miserly saving on sound proofing spoils the lot. So if you are deciding about this hotel, if your hearing is not as good as it used to be, you'll like it. If you are an insomniac you will not care. The people next door do not have to be particularly noisy but you will hear them snoring, walking about at night, talking, coughing. Oh and the tvs do not have any sound control which a lot of hotels have.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the evening go for the South end. The opposite is true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ResilientWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

we have just come back from 2 weeks at the Riu Palmeras we thought the food and service excellent, waiting staff seem permanently cheerful. The reception staff helpful and the whole hotel spotless . The location isn't great as it stands back from the beach but the gardens are pretty and there are always plenty of loungers and seating to accommodate everyone. This was our first experience of a Riu Hotel, but were told all Riu Hotels are run equally efficiently. We shall certainly look out for a Riu Hotel at other resorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We just stayed here for a weeks winter break and had high expectations reading the reviews on here.
Agreed that the location is good - close to shops restaurants and 10 minutes to the beach and great walks on the dunes.
Rooms are clean all with balcony and pool view.
The food is of a high standard for buffet fare, plenty of choice but we did decide to have a couple of meals out towards the end of our week.
Guess the only thing that let it down was inconsistent levels of service. In particular the checkout was really poor and we didn't find the staff to be friendly as reported on here but the were overall professional. We felt quite constrained that you are assigned to a particular sitting And table for dinner and it seemed like a hassle to the hotel staff and hard work when we asked if we could swap sittings one night as we were told it was busy but there seemed to be plenty of space. Guess though these arrangements suit some guests more than others.
Overall though it didn't impact on our holiday and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsnicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Riu Palmeras and would thoroughly recommend it.

The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant is good quality. My only criticism is that the exercise equipment is looking rather tired and the lack of showers & water dispenser in the gym area lets it down. I would say that the hotel attracts an older crowd, maybe 80% German, 20% British. Pool area & Bar are also lovely.The Palmeras is in a good location in the heart of Play del Ingles. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Property: Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras/Riu Palmitos is located in Gran Canaria, Spain, and is ideal for enjoying holidays as a family, couple or with friends and soaking up the good atmosphere radiated by the island. In the calm and central resort of Playa del Ingles beach, you will find this comfortable 4 star complex that offers the service and quality that can be expected of RIU Hotels & Resorts. Everything you could need for relaxing and fun-filled holidays is within easy reach. It includes a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace and a gym as well as many water sports and two golf courses. In the surrounding area you can also rent a bike, play squash, mini golf or tennis.Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing