We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* service, 4* surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Escorial & Spa
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Absolutely fabulous staff. Good food (although repetitive after a week). Impeccable, enthusiastic animation with Audrey during the day and Audrey plus others at night. Great Wellness centre. Fine gym.
So many positives and only let down is that hotel and decor are a bit 1970s ish.
Nevertheless, would still i) recommend and ii) go back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74W_Family74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Escorial & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 886 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I usually visit different destinations every time I go on holiday. However, this autumn I had decided to come back to Gran Canaria.

I had been so happy with this hotel first time I stayed, that I didn't even look at other hotels - and I wasn't disappointed at all. Actually, my stay was even nicer than first time.
I was given a room in the area where I had asked, the room was nice, cleaned daily.
I went all inclusive and always found the way to have something I liked - as there were plenty of options, even though some things were repetitive.
The staff were very nice, polite and dealt with any requests/problems efficiently.
The hotel is very close to a bus station and the beach, local buses and taxis will get you to other areas cheaply.

Even though I would probably not come back to Gran Canaria again any time soon, I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in oktober for 8 days, the hotel is very good with nice staff, clean rooms and a very good restaurant, so no complains about the hotel.
The area where the hotel is located however is over the top and going downhill, because of the all-in policy of the hotels in play del ingles there are a lot of closed restaurants and shop wich are empty.so it's not really nice to go walking around in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janssen-helmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had high expectations because of all the good reviews, and yes, the hotel was very nice, quiet clean rooms, good air condition (you have to pay extra), nice pool, lots of things to do: snooker, pool, bowling (though it was in quite bad condition), computer games, minigolf etc. The spa was UNBELIEVABLE! Went there nearly every morning!
The only thing we didn't like was the staff. There were some women in the reception who I "nearly heard saying: This work would be nice, but unfortunately there are clients!!" I even told to one receptionist "SMILE!" but didn't get any... Most of the time they were just talking with each other and I had to waite and waite and waite... Not my opinion of good service.
The breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice. At the dinner there was at least 50 degrees (at least it felt like it) ... no air con or fans even. Food was average at dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirpa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

LOVED this hotel!! Went with my partner us being a young couple wanting an all inclusive pure chill out. We found the hotel was everything we could have wanted from a chill out holiday. The food was great, lots of variety and yummy. The staff were really nice and bedrooms very clean getting cleaned on a daily basis. The entertainment wasn't brilliant more suited towards kiddies but there's plenty to do away from the hotel we were just happy to drink away outside. Air con is a must!! We only paid 12 euro for this for all our stay which was 7 nights. Overall really good hotel and we couldn't have expected more!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniellemurray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

hi just back from the escorial it was a very clean and well maintained hotel ! room's need updated but not a problem every thing worked well ! dinning room good, spa brill, don't have to get up to save your sunbed's as they is lot's to go round bar staff are very friendly and happy to help with your every need even getting me branded coffee ! food is excellent some thing for every one ! day time entertainment was a laugh hard work for the one entertainer but he was such a nice happy hard working man you just have to join in ! bus stop is just out side the hotel car hire just out side as well supermarket over the road it is in a good position for all your need's it was so good we are going back in November . if you like to be in a hotel with lot's of brit's don't go as it is Mostly people from Holland France Finland who are very friendly . hope this help's .

Room Tip: we had room 224 with a garden view and sleep't 4 very big room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelenT--x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just arrived back from a wonderfully peaceful week at the Escorial. If you are looking for an action packed holiday with lots of fellow brits & entertainment, then this hotel isn't for you. If you like to do your own thing and have a hassle free time, then this is the place.

Our bedroom was lovely and clean, we paid the extra 2 euros a day for the air con - it was needed. 35 degrees outside and we did need blankets on overnight (might be a bit cold for some though as once it was on, no way to control it!). TV in the room with Sky movies on and news channels.

No getting up in the morning to save beds by the pool, there was plenty to go around. Yes, some of the pool area gets in the shade in the afternoon, but there is always another bed you can move to. Or go to the decking area, which is in the sun all day - you learn the places to sit after day 1!

The spa area is just brilliant. The dead sea pool and the indoor pool were an added bonus. As was the rooftop terrace with hot tub. We headed indoors at the end of the day for a pamper before heading for dinner.

We had a 16 year old with us, who was disappointed with the entertainment. (The entertainment team was ONE guy, who worked really hard to keep everyone happy - it was enough for us. We also headed to the Kasbah centre (10 mins walk) after dinner for a walk around, There are a couple of shops next to the hotel and the Tropical Centre is 5 mins away which has more shops, bars and restaurants.

Food was really good. With a very fussy eater, the choice was excellent. We agree with other reviewers that the desserts weren't great, but we'd have cheese and biscuits instead!

The best review we can give is that we are planning on returning to the Escorial (we never return to the same place). Relaxing, clean, good location and excellent value for money. Best 3* hotel we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bec_and_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
#24 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escorial & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escorial & Spa

Address: Avda. de Italia, 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Escorial)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $127 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escorial & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Escorial & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escorial Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Escorial & Spa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing