We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Escorial & Spa
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
chester le street
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fab hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

hi just back from the escorial it was a very clean and well maintained hotel ! room's need updated but not a problem every thing worked well ! dinning room good, spa brill, don't have to get up to save your sunbed's as they is lot's to go round bar staff are very friendly and happy to help with your every need even getting me branded coffee ! food is excellent some thing for every one ! day time entertainment was a laugh hard work for the one entertainer but he was such a nice happy hard working man you just have to join in ! bus stop is just out side the hotel car hire just out side as well supermarket over the road it is in a good position for all your need's it was so good we are going back in November . if you like to be in a hotel with lot's of brit's don't go as it is Mostly people from Holland France Finland who are very friendly . hope this help's .

Room Tip: we had room 224 with a garden view and sleep't 4 very big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenT--x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    348
    105
    29
    11
See reviews for
220
448
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just arrived back from a wonderfully peaceful week at the Escorial. If you are looking for an action packed holiday with lots of fellow brits & entertainment, then this hotel isn't for you. If you like to do your own thing and have a hassle free time, then this is the place.

Our bedroom was lovely and clean, we paid the extra 2 euros a day for the air con - it was needed. 35 degrees outside and we did need blankets on overnight (might be a bit cold for some though as once it was on, no way to control it!). TV in the room with Sky movies on and news channels.

No getting up in the morning to save beds by the pool, there was plenty to go around. Yes, some of the pool area gets in the shade in the afternoon, but there is always another bed you can move to. Or go to the decking area, which is in the sun all day - you learn the places to sit after day 1!

The spa area is just brilliant. The dead sea pool and the indoor pool were an added bonus. As was the rooftop terrace with hot tub. We headed indoors at the end of the day for a pamper before heading for dinner.

We had a 16 year old with us, who was disappointed with the entertainment. (The entertainment team was ONE guy, who worked really hard to keep everyone happy - it was enough for us. We also headed to the Kasbah centre (10 mins walk) after dinner for a walk around, There are a couple of shops next to the hotel and the Tropical Centre is 5 mins away which has more shops, bars and restaurants.

Food was really good. With a very fussy eater, the choice was excellent. We agree with other reviewers that the desserts weren't great, but we'd have cheese and biscuits instead!

The best review we can give is that we are planning on returning to the Escorial (we never return to the same place). Relaxing, clean, good location and excellent value for money. Best 3* hotel we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec_and_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the free SPA.
The food got quite repetitive during the week but it was good. Though I received a raw chicken breast once from a chef who was cooking it inside the restaurant. The deserts were quite poor.
The rooms were really clean and well kept. The only negative would be the lack of air conditioner.
The rooftop tanning area is a great idea. It would be perfect if there was a bar there though.
Other guests are mainly germans.
Overall I would return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors with rooms 1-15 have a better view and easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family have just come back from a weeks stay at this hotel and I must say it was excellent. The Wellness Center was amazing even though we only used the facilities twice as we spent most of the time by the pool. Thought it was a great idea to only have families in the Spa from 9am-12am as all the kids could have fun together. No problems at all with the Sun Beds and we really got on well with everyone there including some English and German families that we met. Everyone was polite and it made it a great relaxing holiday. The food was good and the all inclusive included all brands but you do need to ask, as i like Smirnoff Vodka and sometime got the local brand which was stronger but after the 2nd day they knew what i wanted and served it every time without asking. The entertainment at night was good and the 12pm bar was just right. The entertainment Guy Juan was Fantastic. this guy must have spoken about 5 languages and always included everyone in everything he was doing. Great with names and a polite manner in which he would ask if you wanted to join in the activities and if you were not up to it he would tell you what was on later and would call back then. This guy puts everything into what he does and you can tell this by the hours he puts in every day. I saw him at breakfast and after all the activities he did he was still there at 11:30pm at night. I bet he slept on his 1 day off as he really did deserve it. He's a credit to this hotel along with all the other members of staff. Really looking forward to going back here next year.

Room Tip: If you are into brand drinks (Smirnoff/Bacardi/Gordons) then just ask for them as the bar staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just come back from 10 days all inclusive at the Escorial the hotel itself is nice, clean and well laid out, before we arrived we asked for a quiet room and that is exactly what we got (apart from the people running round the hotel at 4 in the morning but I'm sure my kids made up for it at 8 in the morning). Our room was on the ground floor looking out onto the tennis court, and the corner pool, just round the corner is the kids play area perfect for our kids to run out in a morning and play on while we had a cup of tea to wake ourselves up. The entertainment was good, the guy spoke Spanish, German and English, all the Staff were great and most spoke English, yes there is a lot of German's, Dutch and Spanish but only because non of the British tour operators go to this hotel (we went with Lowcostholidays.com). The hotel is located not to far from the beach but beware Playa del Ingles is located on a cliff so you need to walk down a lot of steps to get to the main beaches. Playa del Ingles is a funny little town with no proper centre but it has a lot of shopping centres for cheap boozes and fags, we possibly wouldn't go back to Playa but because of the hotel we cold change our minds!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffraff_78_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here July 4th-11th July all inclusive with a friend. I Knew it was a 3* but read fantastic reviews before hand. Still prepared myself that it may not be up to my normal standards, however I was pleasantly surprised! Polite staff greeted us on arrival, spacious and clean rooms with large balconies, wide choice of good food in restaurant and breakfast, lunch and dinner(and I'm a fussy eater!) and food was always available all day, snacks and cakes etc...

The roof top terrace is amazing to sunbathe on, and to chill in the jacuzzi. The pool has a great decking area which is nice and away from the kids splashing in the pool. And the spa!!!! The spa is amazing! Cannot believe using the facilities was included, the indoor pool and different jets are lovely and relaxing and warm.
The dead sea pool is fab, you can float on the water and it has a very calming effect.
The location is perfect, far enough away from the noise, but only a 10-15 min walk to shops and bars etc if you fancy it.
There were not many English people staying, only saw about 4, but this did not bother us at all...in fact was quite nice ;)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definately go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at thiis hotel for a week in May all inclusive. The hotel is spotless and ideally situated away from the noisy centre but within easy walking distance. Bus stop outside takes you to the centre or other parts of the island and taxis are plentiful and very cheap.

The rooms are top quality and spacious with double glazed patio doors leading onto a furnished balcony. Air conditioning is available to hire via a card from reception for 10 euros a week plus a deposit for the card but we didn't need it as the ceiling fan was perefectly adequate. There is also a full sized fridge which is a bonus.

The all inclusive meals are good quality with a very varied selection to suit all tastes with a chef on hand to cook steaks and fish to order in front of you. There is a bar menu available on all inclusive until 15.00hrs and pizza and chips on the bar to help yourself to. The drinks are excellent with brand names available eg Gordons, Smirnoff etc but you have to ask for the brand otherwise you will get the local, Water and beer are on tap to help yourself to and the all inclusive bar is open until midnight, The evening entertainment was varied and what we saw was ok. We spent most nights outside on the bar terrace so didn't see much of it.

The Spa and leisure centre underneath the hotel is simply outstanding and huge with two pools, saunas, solariums, gymnasium etc all free to use . Various treatments are also available but at a cost. There are several pool tables down there too with a bowling alley and computers, all for free to hotel guests. There is also a large roof terrace with a nudist section where it is more comfortable to sunbathe due to the breeze.

The staff are all very nice and friendly and the animations man works so hard all day and one night he even dragged up and did the entertaining!! We wondered has he got a home to go to!

There are coin or token operated washing machines in the laundry rooms with an ironing board. No sign of an iron but we had one with us so that was OK. (You may be able to hire one).

The only negative thing I can think of is the dining room didn't have adequate air conditioning and often became very warm and slightly uncomfortable.

Although you have to be out of your room at midday they allow you to keep your all inclusive until you leave which is a real bonus. Our friend was able to extend his room on the last day for 20 euros but I think this depends on how busy the hotel is.

The hotel is part of the Dutch owned Bull Hotels group and their sister hotel Eugenea Victoria is also excellent with similar facilities and again only 3* but should be easily 4*.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patsyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
#24 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#25 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escorial & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escorial & Spa

Property: Hotel Escorial & Spa
Address: Avda. de Italia, 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Escorial)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escorial & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Escorial & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escorial Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Escorial & Spa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing