We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steve & Jason's apartment in Iguazu, PDI”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartments Iguazu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Iguazu
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Steve & Jason's apartment in Iguazu, PDI”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked the trip through their website: http://www.holidayingrancanaria.co.uk/ and found them always friendly and quick to respond to queries. We went for a week and got back on Monday 26th November - we were a party of three males; a couple and a single.

On arrival the apartment was ready for us and was clean and spacious. The bedrooms were large and one had a large double bed (UK style). Unlike the average Canarian hotel bed these beds were very comfortable to sleep in.

The living room had plenty of comfortable seating and was decorated in a clean, modern 'IKEA-style fashion with a hifi and a large LCD TV with many channels - some of them available in either Spanish or English. The kitchen which led off was possibly better equipped than my own at home! A very welcome addition to the usual self-catering set up was a full size oven, this meant that on the days we fancied it we could cook a full meal at San Fernando supermarket prices (well worth the walk up there to get a massive choice of fresh food at 'locals' prices btw)
The bathroom was also equipped with a washing machine - we didn't use this but if you are considering a two week trip they are a godsend meaning you can talk considerably less clothes. The shower cubicle was a bit of tight for for me and rather claustrophobic the first time I tried it but my husband and mate who are a more normal size had less issues with it! On the plus side we had lovely warm showers and the availability of warm water seemed to be unlimited, though we didn't test it; knowing how precious water is on the island.

One downside was the accumulation of grime near the bottom of the shower and what I suspect is mould growing on the shower screen door. This should be attended to straight away as if nothing else it is unpleasant. The state of the shower door was surprising given the utter cleanliness of the rest of the apartment and the bathroom in particular.

The other thing to be aware of, and to their credit they make this clear on the website, is that the apartment is at the back of the building on the ground fioor and facing the car park for the apartments. The apartment has been extended fully out and onto what would be the balcony. This means you have no personal outdoor space but they have put in sliding windows which open the room up fully, providing an outside/inside feel which was nice.

The apartment blocks are private now and so there was some noise from local residents but it was never too bad. We accepted that this is their home 365 days of the year and we are only visitors.

All in all the price paid was well worth it but do think through the lack of a view; if that's going to be a problem then don't book and complain later! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cregaghbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The quality of the inside of the apartment was medium but the noise from the community, especially from the "El Asador" - Esteban y Carmelo - downstairs just terrific. Not one quiet evening. We did not even properly listen our TV with the constant singing of the supposedly trendy Canarian guitarist at El Asador. We were not even located over the restaurant but in the block next door. I don't want to know what the guests have to bear if they live in the same block over the restaurants. And its' not the dreadful guitar guy from the Iguazu restaurant, then the noise comes blaring across the street from Barbados - although to a smaler extent.
Stay away from Iguazu - unless you can stand this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trip6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I am a seasoned regular in GC but booked late. These appts are well situated but very dull, tired and extremely noisy. I would not recommend them unless it's the only thing left. "Extras" such as a kettle, toaster and iron came at 12 to 25 euros each and the recpetion staff were surly and unhelpful.

  • Liked — location to shops and bars
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Basic, dull and dated apartments that have seen better days. As a regular visitor to Playa I know that much of the self catering accommodation stock is on the slightly dated and slightly tired side however I also know that there are much better value, better equipped apartment complexes available (unfortunately they tend to be known and heavily booked). That said, despite Iguazu being very basic and dated it is reasonably well maintained and enjoys an excellent, convenient location in the centre of the resort without being too noisy.

The worst aspect of the apartments are the beds! They are of the most basic metal frame with a matress flung on top variety. Army barrack style! They are very uncomfortable and squeek on the slightest movement.

Kitchen is very basically equipped. The halogen hob worked well. There is no coffee maker, kettle or toaster provided although you can hire these from reception.

Bathrooms, like the rest of the apartment, are particularly in need of refurbishment. Shower heads etc pour water rather 'shower'. On the plus side there was always plenty hot water. Towels are changed once during a week.

Having seen inside some of the other apartments in the complex and not just the one we were in, they are all generally of the same standard. Some of the privately owned apartments do look to have been modernised, though I don't think they can be booked directly with the Iguazu reception??

Room service/cleaning seemed erratic; some days the floor was swept, others not, some days a clean dish towel other days just the patio furniture moved etc etc!

Some of the lower floor apartments have a view of the rear service road/car park - not terribly interesting. Higher floor apartments to the rear however do get distant sea views. Front apartments have views of pool and the main (and busy) Avenue Tirijana.

There is car parking for residents only (many of the apartments are privately owned) not for holiday visitor's use. There is plenty free parking nearby though.

Reception staff were fine. The apartments have a shower room for the use of checked out but late departure guests. Reception will provide you with towels too, which is useful.

All in all you could do worse than to stay here but equally you could also do an awful lot better! The biggest plus is the location.

Playa del Ingles is a great resort and is many things to many different people. It has some of the biggest most spectacular beaches in all of Spain. Gran Canaria is a wonderful island, do hire a car and drive the west coast and mountain routes, and best of all, the weather here is almost invariably fabulous all year round.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Have just returned from a great stay at these well-sited apartment blocks on one of the main avenues on the quieter maspalomas side of Playa del Ingles. There are 3 buildings, 2 tennis courts and 2 (un-heated) pools all set in some well-kept pretty tropical gardens off Everything was clean and tidy, and the staff friendly and efficient. There was good security, including a security guard based in reception, who we saw patrolling after dark, and it only cost 14E to rent a safe. Our flat at the back had a sea-view, which we hadn't expected :o)

Some communal facilities are available, there're vending machines for water and beer, a couple of pool tables, including one outdoors by one of the swimming pools!, a lounge where there's an internet point which is coin-operated, but only one booth, so although the connection's reliable you might have to wait to use it. There's no entertainment in the complex, although with everything available on the doorstep you wouldn't need it.

We were a bit worried at first that one of the blocks has some commercial use on the ground floor, as bars are sometimes noisy in GC, but in fact the 4 or 5 restaurants were not a nuisance, and it was nice to know that there was a clinic on site. In fact, the quieter Spanish restaurant and the up-market (bit pricey) Argentinian steak grill were great, and one of the best restuarants in Spain (Rias Bajas, mostly fish), was only 2 mins walk away on the Avdo EEUU. Otherwise there must be hundreds of places nearby.

Generally, the atmosphere was relaxed and it felt safe. You do have to check out at 12.00 noon on departure day, or pay extra, but that said, our flight back was in the evening, and reception offered us towels in case we wanted to spend the day on the beach. The apartments are quite well ordered, and some seem to be used as residential. They're quite strict about people not walking on the grass on the gardens, or making too much noise, which I appreciated but not everyone might. A lot of the flats seem to be used by Spanish families who come down from Las Palmas de GC (Spain's 7th city) at weekends, so there was a sense of being in Spain, although it was very cosmopolitan and relaxed, and there were lots of Brits, Germans and Dutch/Scandinavian folk there. There were 3 supermercados locally (although 2 were Spars!) along the main avenue within 5 mins walk of reception, and plenty of banks, including a Barclays.

I'd like say something about the taxis on GC - they're all merecedes or bmws, very clean, the drivers are generally courteous and they don't mess about .... best of all, fares are very cheap - 3E to the Faro 2 complex, 4.5E all the way down to the Costa Meloneras strip, and about 35E to the airport.

I look forward to going back - weather in the 80s and 90s in April, what could be better?

  • Liked — location, tidy, quiet, secure
  • Disliked — only one internet point, towels didn't seem to get you dry quickly!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jackSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Just got back from the iguazu with my boyfriend and we had an amazing time. We had a 2 room apartment so had loads of space, we overlooked the pool and had mountains to the left and the sea to our right, it was lovely. the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed daily which was good. it is a 2 minute walk to the yumbo and you dont hear any noise. across the road are some smaller bars and english pubs which are handy and cheap for eating and drinking. The kasbah is a 2 min taxi ride for 3 euros which was a bargain and tazis are plenty for the way home no matter what the time. The beach is a 15 - 20 min walk or you can get a taxi for 3 euros. We would def go back to gran canaria and these apartments, we had a great time with no problems!! plus only 2 small cockroaches in a week!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bumblebee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Absolutely Brilliant.

We loved every minute of it until our money ran out the day before we were due to leave!!

The room service was brilliant. Even though they used to come in whilst we were still in bed!! Well.....we were on our Honeymoon!!

Stayed May 2002
Helpful?
4 Thank CheekyLittleLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Teneguia Apartments
Teneguia Apartments
#101 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Parque Sol
Bungalows Parque Sol
#97 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Camelias
Apartamentos Las Camelias
#43 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#17 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Iguazu

Property: Apartments Iguazu
Address: Avenida Tirajana 24, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Iguazu 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Iguazu Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing