We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Sun Break”
Review of IFA Dunamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Dunamar Hotel
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Sun Break”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at the Dunamar 5th-10th November for a short winter sun break. On arrival we were dealt with quickly and taken to our room on the 10th floor. The room itself was spacious and the bathroom nice with 2 wash basins, bath and shower, hairdryer. I had requested a sea view which i thought we might get given the time of year but here comes the disappointment our balcony overlooked the delivery entrance and bin area, we were awoken with the sound of smashing bottles and workmen hammering at a steel construction between 7 and 8 in the morning. Breakfast was quite varied but we found apart from the bacon and eggs everything else was cold ie sausages,potatoes mushrooms. You could get free internet access in the bar area but if you wanted it in your room it costs 8 euros a day! you have 1 English world news channel if you wanted anything else that had to be paid for, all other free channels are in German.. I think we were the only English quests here but that did not really bother us. All in all the Dunamar is a lovely hotel with a great location and we would stay again but only if we could have a sea view room. Bar staff are very friendly and could not do enough for us. To cap it off we never had a day of rain and the temp varied from 28c - 32c on the beach!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hardings_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    279
    94
    47
    10
See reviews for
124
430
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Best location in Playa de Ingles,close to beach,dunas,shopping centers,promenade.
There is two buildings:main with sea view and second with swimming pool&quet street view.
Mean age of tourists are 50 y.o.
Not many chieldren.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavel9645406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

this hotel is in a perfect position,100 yards from the beach,and prob not much more than 200-300 yards from the busy kasbah area.there was some noise late night from people coming back from the bars on the beach strip,but you cant be in a central place and not get that .the main advantage is that you dont have to climb the steep incline from beach level(the main swimming pool is at the rear on the ground floor,and reception is on floor 7),trust me i wouldnt fancy the walk up that slope in hot temps loaded with beach stuff,you will understand when you see it!!the restaurant was very good(we were half board) and even our 3 teenage boys found something to eat!!reception was polite and helpful tho i wasnt happy that we had two rooms booked and they were 2 floors apart.another thing on reception,it didnt seem to have any aircon,if you have to spend more than a min or two at the desk you will melt.rooms were fine,and the cleaning was daily and excellent.the pool area was also spotless.the hotel has a no towels on sunbeds till after 8am,but soon after this time many of the sunbeds have towels attached and no sign of the towel owner.the resort is a massive favourite with germans,brits definately in the minority here.there were also a lot of spanish on their holidays,so if its where they go for some sun you know its gotta be hot!!overall an excllent hotel,and for the great location we would definately go back.

Room Tip: try and get sunbeds on the beach side of the pool,the sunbeds hotel side lose the sun 5pm ish (july...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WINKLE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey,USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We (wife & myself) were looking for a difference type of beach vacation (other than the Caribbean) and decided to take a big chance and try a location where Western Europeans go, Canary Islands! As Americans, we surely stood out as our hotel last saw Americans 5 months previously. I bought a vacation package on Expedia (air & hotel) with Half board. We flew from NYC via Madrid, Spain & then to Las Plamas, and took a bus from the airport to the hotel.( This was the only negative of our trip, 12 hours of flight travel).Once you get to the hotel, RELIEF.. this place is fantastic!! Although we paid for a standard room, we got oceanview + pool view from the 8th floor, great, great, great! Half board at IFA means a full buffet breakfast and dinner nightly, WOW!
The food was quite good, although geared to German palates. it's OK because selection is so large.. You only have to pay for your drinks (dinner only) , we had either a half bottle of wine or Sangria and our bill at the end of the week was only 65 euros! Booze is cheap on the island, you can buy a good bottle of wine for 2-3 euros at the local "spar" supermarket. IFA has daily entertainment, one nite they had various entertainers singing well known American songs, another nite there was a group of entertainers performing dances from different countries, and the key is it was FREE, all part of the room price. Location is golden, an easy walk to the huge beach. The beach is very clean, with soft waves and food and drink available everywhere.You can bring your own beach blanket and umbrella if you like, or pay E 7.50 for two lounge chairs and umbrella on a daily rental. Note: this is Europe, all Spanish beaches are topless, and they also have a large nude section as well!
The hotel staff is friendly and professional and speak English, so you need not worry about communicating. Expect to pay for a safe in your room (E2.00 per day) and a E5.00 deposit for your beach towel if desired (refunded at checkout) It's good to know that the Europeans are kind of party animals, but don't start until after midnight, but they do party hardy! A must is the Yumbo center and the Female inpersonator show. The whole island is gay friendly and liberal, and as a mature married couple we found our vacation one to remember in all the positive ways. We will return, and there is no other choose than IFA Dunamar. Hotel.

Room Tip: Convert your US dollars for euros at a bank in the states (such as BOA) before leaving. Euro is kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationManagr, Public Relations Manager at IFA Dunamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guests,
We would really like to thank you for taking your time and writing on Tripadvisor a positive commentary about your recent stay in Ifa Dunamar
We apreciate that there are also american clients enjoying and giving value on our service in Ifa Dunamar and our little but beautiful island Gran Canaria.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again in order to organize your next stay with us.
With best regards and a big Hasta la próxima.
Ifa Dunamar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My first real holiday for some years, and though I would probably not choose Gran Canaria again as such, if I did it would definitely be back at the Dunamar. Excellent hillside position, a stone's throw from the beach, and a variety of pools and sunbathing areas on different levels in terraced landcsaped gardens. Excellent breakfast choice, clean and very well maintained throughout all public rooms and no one could possibly fault the cleanliness and facilities of the bedroom and bathroom. One small gripe - €2 per day for the room safe; room safes are common in many mainland continent hotels without charge, often in hotels without 4* ratings (many Ibis, for example), and though the service generally was excellent, I was surprised that there was no pool waiter service around the main ground floor swimming pool. Very friendly, however, and worth a very good rating.

Room Tip: The hotel faces all directions! Try to specify a sea view, but this will cost more of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went to stay at the IFA Dunamar after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor. And I must say it didn't disappoint. Very clean hotel, helpful staff and our room was cleaned daily. We only had bed and breakfast but I would have felt confident going all inclusive. The breakfast was amazing. Had literally everything you could think of and more (roast beef and turkey!?). The hotel has 2 pools and 2 bars. Great big pools with jacuzzi area and poolside entertainment like water gym and bingo. Free spa and gym which we didn't get round to using but looked lovely. Room was great with large modern tv, fridge and safe (which you have to pay extra for but it's only 14 euros). Nearly everyone who stayed at the hotel was German which isn't a problem but there were no more English people there. Might be a problem for some people. The hotel is literally over the road from a long strip of restuarants which are right on the beach. Great restuarants available. Beach was lovely too. Tide is always close in so it's a nice cosy beach even though it's massive (attempted to walk all the way down it and gave up!). Behind the hotel is an area with bars and clubs> Be careful of these.. outside they tell you it's 'happy hour' and 2 for 1 but then you go inside and it isn't at all. Also Yumbo shopping centre nearby. Lots of gay bars if that's what you're interested in. Lots of opportunities for boat trips and activities too. Overall brilliant stay, but we were definitely glad it was only for a week as we felt like we saw and did everything we wanted to in that time as it's quite a small area. Not so good for young friends as the nightlife isn't the best, but very very good for couples and families. A very worthy 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilyrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I will be back. Central of everything and 20 meters of the beach. Wonderfull food and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iAlexanderG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Dunamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Dunamar Hotel

Property: IFA Dunamar Hotel
Address: Calle Helsinki 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Dunamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Dunamar Hotel is the only hotel situated next to the beach in the famous Playa del Ingles area of Gran Canaria. This privileged location gives the hotel amazing views of the Canarian coast, as well as 6 kilometers of golden dunes. Its original architecture, in a pyramidal shape, gives the hotel an elegant and distinguish atmosphere. Equipped with all modern comforts and very close to the centre and shopping and leisure centres, it constitutes the ideal place for a memorable stay close to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Dunamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Dunamar Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing