We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of IFA Dunamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IFA Dunamar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

An all round good hotel. Service was good. Most staff spoke english. Lots of german visitors if that bothers you. I was fine with that. Food was ok. Breakfast was good. Dinner not so great. Have to pay for drinks at dinner. Have to pay extra for safe and tv channels. Deposit for pool towel. Rooms clean and safe. Pool was ok. A good week.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bergy_404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    294
    97
    48
    12
See reviews for
132
452
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boyle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay and enjoy. We had a wonderful week here 3rd to 10th of march. All the hotel employees are first class, NB. courtious at all times .The hotel was full of northern europeans germans french ect ,but my wife and i both irish found no problem with any of our fellow guests.we also enjoyed our visits and danceing at oscars bar. The location beside the beach was also a big plus for us the food was excelent with one small prop' the water was never hot enough to make a nice cuppa tea.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great . jim
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

stayed for a week lovely view pool etc but one bar was reserved for Germans only which ruined it a bit. We were the only Brits there and felt very pushed out.couldn sit by the pool as you have to reserve your seats. Every meal was German related we were asked to move once as the dinner table was reserved. Dont come here if you are British u maybe slightly offended. Some staff were lovely small room no bidet. Wont be returning to gran canaria in a hurry but if we do we'll stay in gran canaria princess.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taimarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here from the 4/02/2012 to 10/02/2012 by accident( a different story ) and had a wonderful time. Hotel perfectly located for beach, shops etc. Reception staff couldnt be more helpful, a special mention for Stephanie the waitress and Aaron the entertainment manager. Resaurant and food more like 5 star with plenty to choose from. Would highly reccomend it would definately stay again. Very few Brits and even less kids, great for couples and adults, probably not so for kids. Pools nice and warm, rooms clean with comfy beds. All in all we had a fab time

Room Tip: Seaview rooms well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

arrived on my husbands birthday which he likes to ignore that evening recieved a birthday card & at dinner we were given a bottle of our choice a lovely surprise and very nice our daughter & son inlaw were with us cannot fault this hotel the staff the food the accomodation the location what can i say had a super holiday & we are waiting for the dunamer to start showing prices for next christmas so we can book again we have been spending christmas in grand canaries for the last twenty years and after this holiday would not stay anywhere else

Room Tip: all first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benji008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the Dunamar for 10 day just past Christmas. The hotel is a bit tired but was very clean and the breakfast was quite nice. The hotel is in walking distance to many things which was handy also. The pool was great as well as the pool side bar. Got a massage at he spa which was quite nice as well.

Wifi was unreliable and you had to pay per day, not good. The beds were very uncomfortable as well as the pillows which you if you like them firm ... Forget it. To me, beds are fundamental to good sleep and a good holiday. These were terribly uncomfortable with springs popping out and ensured back and shoulder pain when waking up.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationManagr, Public Relations Manager at IFA Dunamar Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for your leaving your evaluation at Tripadvisor regarding your stay in Hotel IFA DUNAMAR. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great holiday in IFA DUNAMAR.
Like you stated: “it is very important a good night sleep and therefore a good mattress is fundamental”. We choose in our latest reformation a firm kind of mattresses instead of too soft. Nevertheless, we have still soft mattresses or alternatives for those with back problems. Just mention it to the receptionist or your cleaning lady.

We thank you very much in advance for having chosen our hotel on the occasion of your visit to Gran Canaria island and we hope be able to welcoming you again in the near future.
Yours Faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

we stayed at this hotel from 14/09/2011 - 28/09/2011 and must say we had a great time the staff and food at the hotel were excellent and a great array of different food at breakfast and dinner was excellent we would go back again. our rooms were on same floor as the pool and were clean and tidy the cleaning lady was lovely and discreet we also used the sauna and gym the equipment was also of a high quality we used the pool area very often and it was very clean through out the day

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationManagr, Public Relations Manager at IFA Dunamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you for leaving a great evaluation at TripAdvisor regarding your stay in Hotel IFA DUNMAR.
We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay in IFA DUNMAR.

We thank you very much in advance for having chosen our hotel on the occasion of your visit to Gran Canaria and we hope be able to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,823 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Dunamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Dunamar Hotel

Property: IFA Dunamar Hotel
Address: Calle Helsinki 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Dunamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Dunamar Hotel is the only hotel situated next to the beach in the famous Playa del Ingles area of Gran Canaria. This privileged location gives the hotel amazing views of the Canarian coast, as well as 6 kilometers of golden dunes. Its original architecture, in a pyramidal shape, gives the hotel an elegant and distinguish atmosphere. Equipped with all modern comforts and very close to the centre and shopping and leisure centres, it constitutes the ideal place for a memorable stay close to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Dunamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Dunamar Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing