We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Barbara Apartments
Ranked #113 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the middle of resort Playa del Ingles but quiet and relaxing itself. Spacious bungalow with rustical decor. Kitchen fully equipped. A small flat screen TV. Amazing sun terrace with sun beds, garden table and chairs. Sun operating here all day - all the bungalows' terraces facing South. Every bungalow has a small but cooling swimming pool nearby. It's a big advantage. Only 3 minutes walk from Avenida de Tirajana with all shops and restaurants, only 5 mins walk from Yumbo Centre. 20 mins walk from the beautiful sandy beach Playa del Ingles and Dunas of Maspalomas. The on street parking available for free at Calle Barcelona where the main entrance is. Very friendly staff. The bungalow cleaned regularly with fresh towels in the middle of 7 days stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The complex was very basic, but you get what you paid for. Location was great for the Yumbo centre.
We arrived and had to wait for someone to arrive with a key (just 1 key for a two bed apartment) Its a mixture of private and holiday lets. Was nice and quiet around the pool (5 to choose from) No bar, but a restaurant that seemed shut most of the time. Maid service was non exsistant and apartment infested with ants.

Beware of dogs running around though.... was chased by two crazied terriers a few times!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived around 12.30am and had to be let in to complex by security guard and then wait for 'manager' to turn up with key.When we went into bungalow it was the biggest disappointment i,ve had in the last 6 years of going on hols with my family(2 adults 3 children),we,ve had larger rooms in hotels/apartments.Don,t believe they are big enough for more than 4 because they are not.It,s a shame because the complex is nice with each section having its own pool<but it just seemed that being (GB) tourists we were given the bungalows that needed updating(yes the other 2 GB families had the same).Be aware that most of the other bungalows are privately owned so if your used to hols where you and your children make friends this is fairly likely not to happen.The cleaning of the bungalows is also very poor,in 2 weeks sheets were changed once and towels changed 4 times.Also be aware of cockroaches.
Location: Very close to the Yumbo centre,turn left out of complex to the end of road then turn right straight across at roundabout and your by the Yumbo,also close to dunes,turn right out of complex at the end of the road turn left straight across roundabout keep walking straight about 10 mins walk,this is a much better area with a family than the Yumbo.

This is a very different holiday than staying in a hotel or apartments,its more like having your own villa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorbrooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for 2 weeks just gone in july. Nice bungalows and pools, basic but got everything you need. Bedding only got changed once in the 2 weeks and towels 3x. Towels are small and worn but it didn't really bother us. Beds were alright but the pillows were flat as pancakes and soo uncomfy! We hired a fan from reception as it gets too hot at night. Not many utensils in the kitchen but enough for a basic meal, most nights you'd eat out. Good location, near the yumbo and shops. Taxi ride 2 the beach unless u enjoy walkin in the heat and up a hill on the way back. Can't really complain about anything EXCEPT the spanish residents, most were polite said hello and gave you a wave in the morning, except one family. Everyday they'd walk past our garden and just stop and stand there and stare at us!! We said hello but they just ignored us and made us feel uncomfortable, they were extremely loud and rude to guests. They liked to have the pool to themselves so made the people in the pool at the time feel so intimidated they'd move, there parents weren't much better either. They would hurl abuse to us in spanish and thought it was ok for their children just to stand at our garden pulling faces and staring at us. That was the only downside to our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieandkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 10th-17th June.
On arrival, dropped at gate but reception closed, had to trawl over to Tinache apartments to get keys. First impressions, nicely maintained sprawling bungalow complex with small (ish) pools, lots of established gardens and palms.
Allocated Bungalow B-08. Good spacious lawned area front and rear. Furnishings were the standard Playa del Ingles furniture, plastic table and chairs on terrace, inside slightly shabby sofa and chair, lots of scuffs and marks on walls, bad lighting everywhere!.
Beds not bad, but linen very tired and pillows horrible. Flat screen tv on wall but need to get remote from reception and it only plays channels in Spanish until you laboriously try to navigate the language button on remote to play in English, but this reverts everytime tv is switched off.
Considering its very central location in resort, the complex we initially found to be completely quiet. However, things changed for the worse after workmen started intensive renovation on the bungalow to our left (power drills, cement mixers, jack hammers) for a sustained period of time which drove us insane, and at night, the walls and windows do nothing to block out sounds of lots of yappy dogs and girls clomping around drunkenly in high heels on tiled floors for half the night in the bungalow to the other side.
3 days into the holiday, started to get slightly irritated that we'd had no cleaning done or fresh towels and we kept missing the reception staff to let them know. Finally we managed to get towels by waiting at reception , then came back later to find the level of cleaning was a bin emptied and only one bed made!
Cockroaches seem to be on the increase as well. Im not particularly bothered by them but theyre still not pleasant to find in lounge or bedrooms.
On the plus side though, when it was quiet, it was very quiet, The pools and pool areas were invariably empty. They also offer a free late checkout if you have a late departing flight which we appreciated.
The Yumbo centre is 5 mins walk and theres a Spar around 3 minutes walk.
Also, Playa del Ingles is not cheap at all anymore, drinks especially seem to have gone up by around 20% in 6 months since we were last here.
At a push, i'd stay again, but wouldnt rush to come back.
Finally-weather was superb. Didnt see a cloud for 7 days and humidity lot lower than September when we were last here.. Around 25 degrees temp in day and dropping to around 20 at night,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

got a cheap price, got exactly what you pay for the only thing missing was a bar, their is a restaurant but was closed, recepction opening times was awful, great location couple mins to taxi rank and main bars/clubs

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mullen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Been at the bungalows since 21/05/13 and depart on 4/06/13. Problem at first getting the keys to the bungalows. Had to phone a nearby pub and someone fetched over the keys had to wait about 45 mins tho! Bungalow itself (A17) was spacious and clean but was let down by the very old bed linen and lack of cooking utensils but did have a microwave. A lot of cockroaches on arrival but they moreorless vanished during the stay. Very quiet place even tho only 5mins walk from Yumbo. Very pleasant patio which had the sun all day and lots of swimming pools to choose from which were very clean. Staff generally helpful but reception only open from 10 till 2. Would recommend this for those on a tight budget plenty of room for four people in this bungalow. Cant really complain for the price we paid shame the flights couldn't have been so cheap!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Parque Sol
Bungalows Parque Sol
#92 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Camelias
Apartamentos Las Camelias
#43 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teneguia Apartments
Teneguia Apartments
#99 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Apartments

Property: Santa Barbara Apartments
Address: Calle Barcelona 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Barbara Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Barbara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Barbara Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing