We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent apartments well priced and well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamaran Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamaran Apartments
Ranked #82 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments well priced and well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed in an excellent 5th floor room overlooking pool, fabulous balcony. Room had kettle, toaster and coffee maker along with a few pots & pans if you want to do basic stuff on two rings. Cleanliness is fantastic, the maids and reception staff couldn't do enough for us. The reason some of them are probably initially grumpy as other reviewers have intimated is that they have to deal sometimes with inconsiderate people. The first day we arrived is a case in point. New arrivals were playing loud music and leaving glass bottles poolside. The staff were on the case straight away. Pool closes at 6pm. Tamaran is 5 minute walk to the (in)famous Yumbo Centre, loads of restaurants/supermarkets nearby. Take a sleep mask/earplugs as all the bedrooms are at the front and there is traffic noise and no decent blackout curtains. One downside is that you only get one room key.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jhon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
59
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Having stayed at Tamaran on several occasions in the past we were looking forward to our recent stay but it was very disappointing.
We stayed in apartment 505 from 16-30 April. Upon our arrival we had no hot water, after complaining to reception on the morning of 17 April, we were told it would be fixed. It wasn't and it took two days and a visit from one of the receptionists, who would not take my word for it and insisted on coming to the apartment to check for himself!!! Upon discovering that the water was no more than slightly warm the receptionist said " It is the same in all other apartments..."
Apart from the hot water (or lack of it) the apartments were not serviced as well as they have been in the past. They were not kept as clean as we have been used to at Tamaran and it appeared that the cleaner spent very little time in the apartment at all. The frequency of the towel-change was erratic and it appeared that the cleaner preferred to indulge in fancy towel folding rather than cleaning. I don't think our kitchen towel was changed once during our entire two week stay.
Apartment 505 was described as a 'Comfort Apartment' ... we obviously have different ideas about the meaning of 'Comfort' but I would not describe the apartment as anything other than standard.
There was very little, if anything, that was welcoming about Tamaran. Staff at reception appeared to be interested in anything other than the guests and frequently just ignored guests in the reception area.
Overall this was a disappointing experience at the Tamaran and despite enjoying several previous visits I would no longer feel confident in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Some first floor rooms are directly above the nightclub which goes on unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGraham2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

More than excellent, the view from top floor was excellent, apartment clean and cosy, housekeeping faultless. Would definitely go back and would want the same room again.
Hotel staff so accommodating and friendly, helpful on tips on where to go for entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Mona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I visited Tamaran for a week 16th April with my husband. We booked in January and got a bargain through lowcostholidays.com. We were not expecting much with it being a 2 star, but were pleasantly surprised by the size and cleanliness of the room.
We booked a double, got a twin on the 2nd floor, but it was fine, had a pool view. Well equipped kitchen, powerful shower large balcony.
The pool was nice, quiet except on the bank holiday when a lot of Spanish came for the holidays. One of the best things was the pool bar. Annali and Thomas were brilliant. They are from Sweden and do some fantastic Swedish dishes. Our lunches were the best meals of the day, excellent club sandwiches, Greek salads and toasties. We were just gutted they weren't open for breakfast at this time of year! (They are in summer apparently).
When we booked we were led to believe the hotel was 500m from the beach... it isn't! It is a good 10-15 minute walk, but that was not a problem for us. There are a couple of spar shops across the road and a few cafes to grab breakfast. Cafe Europa did great coffee and excellent scrambled eggs! There is also a mini golf across the road which was great for an hour when it clouded over.
All in all, a good holiday at a bargain price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just got back from Gran Canaria - we were really impressed with this budget accommodation.
For just over £160 for a 1 bedroomed comfort apartment they represent excellent value. The apartments are very roomy and well equipped.
They are a little tired around the edges but perfectly fine for a low cost holiday.
The "comfort" apartments have microwaves, fridge freezer, electric hob, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, iron, hair dryer. We asked for a quiet apartment as there is a nightclub in the basement..... but we never heard a thing and slept like logs!
Lovely pool and very well kept gardens.
The Tamaran has an excellent central location, around the corner from the Cita Centre, 10 mins walk from the Yumbo Centre and 5 mins walk from the Riu Hotel on the edge of the Maspalomas dunes.
There are some great German style bakeries, cafes, delis etc. just across the road and 3 nearby supermarkets.
We will definitely re-visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom comfort apartment and found it to be more than suitable for 4 adults to share. Bedrooms were ample size as was the living/kitchen area. We had a kettle , coffee maker, Toaster, microwave, iron and ironing board and hairdryer, TV and radio. A balcony with table and chairs and also cushions for the sunchairs. The shower was one of the best we have every had abroad.
In a quite location and easy access to beach or to bars and restaurants. The pool area was pleasant and there were plenty of sunbeds available all through the day. Only down side was the pool bar is not open very much and when it is it is very random times. Reception staff were pleasant there is a little shop in reception but as there is a large spar on the other side of the road we never used it. Cleaning was every couple of days as well as towel change. I We would go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool view the comfort room is well worth the little extra we were charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this apartment hotel in Playa del Ingles. The hotel is nice enough, large balcony, apartment had the basic things for a comfy stay of one week.

There is a hotel bar that is only run during the daytime and three times a week the proprietors offered Swedish dishes, which we really enjoyed. Think Thomas and Anila should do this more often as it brings the guests together and the evening can be very interesting when the discussions start flying.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and I believe that the apartments on that floor and above have more ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrún
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#49 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tagoror Beach Apartments
Tagoror Beach Apartments
#125 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#61 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#31 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Aguacates
Los Aguacates
#98 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamaran Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamaran Apartments

Property: Tamaran Apartments
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 16, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamaran Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamaran Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamaran Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Tamaran Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing