We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 3 star hotel with fantastic staff”
Review of HL Hotel Rondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HL Hotel Rondo
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Rondo for 9 nights from 25th August.
Our party consisted of 3 adults a 9 year old and a 1 year old.

On arrival at 9pm the receptionist who greeted us was lovely and very helpful. He made us feel very welcome.

We ate most nights in the main restaurant. The food was OK although it became repetitive and i found the kids ended up eating pretty much the same thing for lunch and dinner each day. A wider variety of food, especially more fresh fish, would be a benefit. There was a Gran Canaria night which had live music and there seemed to be a lot more food choices available. The staff in the restaurant are fantastic and made us feel very welcome. They always smiled even when they were really busy.

We ate at the Mirafloor one evening. It wasn't good. The restaurant is sooo hot and the food choices were poor. However, the staff in this restaurant were also lovely.

The entertainment was not great. The reps worked really hard and were lovely but the shows were poor. There was no kids entertainment at all at the Rondo, everything was over at the Mirafloor which meant that there was nothing to keep the kids entertained during the day. I think it would be better to split the entertainment between the 2 hotels rather than having nothing at the Rondo at all.

The rooms were very nice. We had clean towels every day and our linen was changed twice. They could definitely do with air conditioning but it is Gran Canaria and you are aware it is going to be hot when you book so booking somewhere without air con is your choice and not the hotel's fault!

Overall this hotel is nice but is made into a lovely hotel by its friendly and attentive staff.

Would we go back? Probably not as we will be booking somewhere with air con for next year and with a good entertainment program.

Having said that we did have a lovely holiday and met some lovely people (Scottish and English) and would recommend the Rondo as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sp0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just stayed here for a week with my 14 year old daughter - hotel only seems to cater for German and Dutch guests. Rooms were clean and tidy but bed linen was not changed at all during our stay and towels only changed twice in the week. Rooms desperately need air conditioning - we did ask at reception for a fan but apparently there were none available so we have to suffer every night the traffic noise by having the doors open. Our request for a late check out room was also refused - we were given the use of the shower room and supplied with two hand towels to dry ourselves on! We were never informed of the fact that we could use the facilities at the hotel over the road. Food is boring and service in the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired - our drinks bill arrived one evening 10 minutes before the drinks were served and on one evening we were never asked if we wanted a drink at all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Hotel Rondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest of the Aparthotel Rondo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with your holiday.
We always strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests, and we have of course forwarded your comments to the respective hotel departments, in order to have a look into the matter and to improve the respective level of service.

We do hope that on a future visit to Gran Canaria you would allow us to demonstrate to you our normal high standards, and we are sending our best regards

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just got back from this hotel with my family and two other families, hotel seemed great but what spoilt it was the salmonella poisoning. my wife and five others all got severe salmonella food poisoning after eating a spanish omlette.. had a good 1 day then rest was two and from hospital to help care for my wife....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at the il Rondo for a quick and havent got a bad word to say about it! All the staff are lovely, the food was okay and had a variety of choices. You can use the accommodation over the road were all of the entertainment was where we started speaking to other guests from the hotel! Only thing I could say was, there needs to be more sunbeds by the pool as you were trying to fight for sunbeds and we noticed there were a lot of unused sunbeds on the roof terrace which could be used around the pool, apart from that it was really good!

Room Tip: Make sure you get up extra early to get a sunbed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olly3143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Rondo is very nice Hotel,I have no complaints and I recomend it.The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very nice and clean.The food is brilliant there is plenty of choice two resturants one serving chinese,yum yum.Also breakfast is very good I dont normaly bother to get up for it,but idid at Rondo.They have entertainment on and games which is good I dont normaly bother to join in,but i did at Rondo.I played bingo with other guests.The swimming pools are nice and clean i enjoyed swimming there.I would like to visit there again.It is in a good situation in the centre of everything,Yumbo centre short walk away.A nice walk to the beach or you can gat a taxi if you prefere.Thankyou to all the staff at Hotel Rondo for a nice Holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NICHOLAS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just got back from a 4 day stay at this hotel,the staff are very friendley & helpful,the food is good with a varied choice for Breakfast,Lunch,& Evening meals Just make sure the men wear shoes for the evening meal.
Our room was clean and spacious for a 3 star & well furnashed.
The only slight let down was the evening entertainment OK if you like Bingo!!! However Klouse and the entertainment team are very friendly & are only at the start of there season I am sure it will improve.
It is 10 -15 min walk to the Beach & a in walk to the Resturants & Bars.
If you are looking for value for money this is the place to go.

Room Tip: South faceing rooms are probably a little quieter,we were in room 221 pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

got dropped off at main entrance quite a few steps to go down into hotel, no slope so had to carry case. lady on reception was really good.rooms are big,clean,only prob we had was a few of the lights didnt work.the beds are hard as rock.we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the main road...under us was a supermarket...so a bit noisy.
the food was well worth the money, a bit repetative (stews) .but the breakfast made up for it...full english.
entertainment...bingo....on the plus side you have access to the hotel next door they have spot on entertainment....much better pool and bar .
not too far from yumbo and cita centres.
15 mins walk to beach.....hotel does put on a free beach bus.
would definately go back.

Room Tip: ask for a pool or side veiw the main road is busy 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leedsmarc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0 mi away
HL Miraflor Suites
HL Miraflor Suites
#35 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#15 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles
HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles
#17 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Hotel Rondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Hotel Rondo

Address: Calle Timple 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Hotel Rondo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Hotel Rondo 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Hotel Rondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Il Rondo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Hotel
HL Hotel Rondo Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing