We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mainly rude germans”
Review of HL Hotel Rondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HL Hotel Rondo
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed January 25, 2012

myself and my family found this hotel fantastic, the rooms are brilliant and the food is lovely, we used mainly their sister hotel across the road which had much better pool and bar, the staff were lovely, the german guest are something else. They dont really like kids, especially noisy ones, they stare at you constantly, they barge passed you and just generally irriate you if you british. Most of them to be fair were older more grumpy germans, there were one lady and her little boy who was much nicer, but as i say majority are germans,who are awful. The animation team were fantastic and work hard, so my love to them

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann-amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor so I was really disappointed when I arrived in the hotel. This is a very dated, jaded hotel in need of a complete overhaul. The bathroom is not spotless, the toilet needed to be replaced as did the tiles on the wall. The carpet tiles- where would I start- they need to be replaced - especially the ones on the small balcony, they were filthy. I was on the all inclusive package. The food was good but it was never hot, its a pity that food cannot be served piping hot. I stuck to the salads and the chinese was delicious. At night we sat in the reception area, the seats in the bar are filthy and the entertainment was harmless. I got the idea that most people don't stay around in the evening and find their own entertainment locally.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, I would not return to PDI- it could use some refurbishment and has not changed much since I was there 28 years ago. The reviews made this hotel out to be brilliant so I won't be reading TripAdvisor reviews in order to book a hotel in future

Room Tip: Stay across the road in bungalows. Too late for us but do not make the same mistake as us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Near Jumbo centre, great rooms with kitchenette, friendly staff, and the half board option is worthwhile.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spinniecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just came back 9th Nov 2011. reception staff excellent speak very good english and helpful. We were all inclusive food all good quality. Drinks never had to wait and all bar staff speak good english. Mainly german hotel guests but not a problem as we done our best to communicate and so did they. Towels were not allowed on sun beds before 9am. Not much entertainment at night but if you just like to drink and chat this will be fine, we just went to yumbo were its wild and lively when we finished our all inclusive at 22.30. Rooms very spacious cleaned every day and fresh towels. Would recommend this hotel to any one, try and find a fault you will struggle. Yumbo only 5mins walk. Beach 15mins walk

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank archie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just returned from my second stay at Il Rondo, and, if anything, it is even better than in April.
As the other reviews confirm, everything is kept clean, the staff are very friendly without exception and all speak English in spite of us being in a minority. Rooms are spacious, as are the balconies, but these do vary depending on location.
More of the activities appear to have moved to the Miraflor site across the road which means the hotel's pool is relatively quiet, as is Pub Rondo.
Food has definitely improved with more fresh fruit (rather than tinned fruit salad!) and lots of variety. I don't think that PDI is the greatest place to eat out so you won't miss much by eating in the hotel.
The lack of air conditioning could be a problem at night but it isn't a secret and if it's important to you, spend more money and go elsewhere!
One of the two lifts was constantly out of order but with only five floors this wasn't a significant problem, it just meant a slightly longer wait at peak times.
As the hotel is very popular, it was full on our leaving day so a late checkout wasn't available, but the facilities provided (locked luggage store and a shower room by the pool) meant this was no problem and saved us twenty euros.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micksw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just back today from a 2 week's stay at the Rondo. The hotel was brilliant - clean, tidy, spacious including the room! The food was excellent - plenty to choose from every night from soup, salads, pasta dishes, cooked meats and casseroles through to even a chinese buffet! This is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in Playa, the only downfall was no aircon. It was very hot at night and you needed to keep the patio door open. The only problem with that is the noise all night which was a shame.
This aside, it was great. The rooms were cleaned spotless and beds changed every cleaning day and clean, fresh, new towels every day! the staff are also very friendly too. Mainly german here as with the whole of Playa!
The other drawback for us personally was the long walk to the beach (1500m then approx 500m over the dunes). we love the beach here and this trip we walked most days (at 8.30am to be sure of sunbeds!) and in the heat this is quite a way. there is a shuttle service available but we didnt use it as it was too late for us.

Room Tip: There is a water dispenser at the hotel. Use an empty water bottle and fill it for 20c! its also mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happybunny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just got back from a week's stay at the Rondo. What a great holiday (we have just booked to go back again next year!). Location was ideal - 5 minute walk to the Yumbo! The hotel itself is friendly and clean with big rooms and individual balconies. Air con would have been appreciated but certainly wasnt a deal breaker. The pool is a bit dated, but this did not matter as you are able to use the facilities at the Miraflor Apts directly across the road which are great (plus use of the bar etc). We stayed all inclusive and were not disappointed with the food which was quite varied (would recommend the chinese buffet!) and there was always something we liked. A good selection of drinks too helped to make this a fantastic holiday. Can not wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justmotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.0 mi away
HL Miraflor Suites
HL Miraflor Suites
#38 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#27 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#52 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Hotel Rondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Hotel Rondo

Address: C/ Timple, 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Hotel Rondo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $96 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — HL Hotel Rondo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Hotel Rondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Il Rondo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Hotel
HL Hotel Rondo Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing