We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Playa del Ingles
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,420)
Filter reviews
2,420 results
Traveler rating
1,527
538
222
92
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,527
538
222
92
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews axel beach gay hotel axel hotel axel barcelona pool area yumbo centre pool parties street view gran canaria steam room and sauna separate bedroom mini bar air con special thanks gay men cleaning staff great pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have always thought that gay hotels that promote the notion of being fabulous sophisticated and gay are gay rip offs living on the proceeds of the pink pound - well this hotel is no exception ! - it isn’t the cleanest of hotels, it has a poolside menu that is laughable in that it has grammatical and spelling errors rip off prices and the service at the pool bar was virtually non existent. When the barman finally decided to to appear he was rudeness personified- the only thing that can be said in its favour is he was possibly the best of a bad bunch because no one else seemed the remotely bit interested unless it involved a tip - the bedrooms are basic if not shabby and they extort a further sum of money from you to simply face the pool which has limited morning sunshine - oh and the hot tub sits squarely in an area which is off from the pool and is laughable in size - a rip off hotel at rip off prices! If you are looking for a lovely pooldeck a great location and a fabulous daily breakfast and dinner spread - go to its next door neighbour the Riu Dom Miguel - see spectate review !

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GregS478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Gerente at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GregS478,

Thanks a lot for staying with us and for sharing your feedback about your stay.

Your comments are very important to us as the well-being of our customers is our priority. We always try to offer the best quality and personalized service in order to guarantee the best experience to our guests.

We feel very sorry if your holiday with us was not completely satisfactory, since what most matters to our team is to exceed our customer expectations. That's why we put a 24hours reception at the disposal of our guests so any query or request can be made at the moment they need it.

We are very grateful about your comments that help us to improve our services, and would like to invite you to come back in order to have the possibility to offer you the best Axel Experience you deserve.

Kind regards,

Carlos Aguiar
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel five times, this was our second New Years here. We always feel very chilled here, we spend several days by the pool.
The pool area is always fairly busy but we always get a couple of beds. There is a mixed crowd by the pool of all ages and people are friendly. There was a bbq, DJ and drag queen on one of the days, this was fun but not in your face.
The bar sell a good variation of drinks, the wine and beer at prices you would expect from a hotel! The staff are helpful. We often had lunch at the pool, I’m yet to have a bad meal.
Our rooms are always very clean and cleaners always do a good job, they are friendly too, even with the language barrier. We had a problem on our first night with the safe but the lady from reception came straight away and fixed it for us.
We look forward to returning again. We are going to try Axel Beach in Ibiza at the end of June, hope we enjoy it as much as this hotel!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank adampearce445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Gerente at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020


Dear adampearce445,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as AxelBeach.


We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat your trip and be part of Axel hotels.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Carlos Aguiar
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Greeted by the lovely Carmen on reception who remembered me from 2 years ago!!!
This hotel is very clean and well positioned for the Yumbo. The staff are super friendly and go out of their way to help. Our room was clean and airy and although I chose a roadside room this time it was not noisy, however I am from a city , I had no problem sleeping. Love the pool and subbed area , with music playing . Gives a very chilled and relaxed atmosphere. I’ve also stayed at Axel in Barcelona so I’m guessing I’m a big fan of this hotel chain.

Room tip: Book poolside if you are not used to city living !
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunturnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Gerente at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear Sunturnup,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as AxelBeach.


We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat your trip and be part of Axel hotels.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Carlos Aguiar
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This is a Lovely Hotel with a Great Team,,,,all very warm and welcoming.
A nice size pool, but in winter you lose the sun around 4pm...Plus a Steam room and Sauna (I think would fit about 4 people in)
Great Bar serving well priced drinks all day with poolside service.
Breakfast was of a good standard and had lots of variety,
The rooms are painted a dark slate grey? so not very welcoming, that said it was spacious enough and had a full sized fridge.
Gym on site as well as a small massage room with resident therapist.
There is also a Barbers/Hairdresser attached to this hotel so very convenient.
The Big Question: Would we stay here again? A Big Fat YES !!

Room tip: High floor with pool views are the best.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Gerente at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020


Dear Martin P,

Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing to stay in our Hotel. We are very pleased to read your nice review. Opinion of our guests is the most important thing to help us to improve everyday our quality and personalized service.

We hope we can host you again during your next holiday in Gran Canaria.

Kind regards,

Carlos Aguiar
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Perhaps I mostly suffered from high expectations, especially given that I was coming from a different, nice property in the area, and that this property was rated so high in TA. But it is very much a bare-bones hotel/resort experience, nowhere near as nice as higher end properties in the general area (perhaps the better recommendation is just stay away from Playa del Ingles altogether, get a hotel/resort somewhere much nicer in Maspalomas, and come to this area for the nightlife). The property is clean; but beyond that, not much to recommend it. Here are my main criticisms:

1. The room might be big, but it sure isn't comfortable -- the sofa is low-end Ikea, the bed had only very minimal acceptable linens (and no blanket/comforter). It is functional, but not much beyond that.

2. The walls of the room are painted...black (!). I don't think I've ever seen that before in a lodging. It's downright depressing. The rest of the decor is circa 1980s (especially obvious in the bathroom).

3. There is no lobby or someplace to just sit and relax, other than around the pool, which at night can be quite cold.

4. The pool area -- when some reviewers call it spacious, I wonder what kind of standard they are using for comparison. It's not tiny, but it's far from spacious, especially at a holiday destination. And for those of us who have not been to Playa del Ingles before, putting the name "Beach" on this hotel is really misleading -- the hotel is located nowhere near the beach, even though loads of other properties in the general region are actually near the beach.

Basically, this is a clean and functional but spartan apartment hotel. Very few services or luxuries, just a decent place to sleep and maybe cook some meals. Maybe that's good value for money, but kind of a shame to be at a holiday destination and settle for bare bones. At least know in advance that's what to expect.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 914bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Gerente at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear 914bj,

Thanks a lot for staying with us and for sharing your feedback about your stay.

Your comments are very important to us as the well-being of our customers is our priority. We always try to offer the best quality and personalized service in order to guarantee the best experience to our guests.

We feel very sorry if your holiday with us was not completely satisfactory, since what most matters to our team is to exceed our customer expectations. That's why we put a 24hours reception at the disposal of our guests so any query or request can be made at the moment they need it.

We are very grateful about your comments that help us to improve our services, and would like to invite you to come back in order to have the possibility to offer you the best Axel Experience you deserve.

Kind regards,

ICarlos Aguiar
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews