We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still not convinced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still not convinced!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

2nd visit to the Axel beach in Gran Canaria & not sure as of yet wether i will return. Had 1 week booked witha pool view room & confirmed on the same day of arrival that everything would be in order - IT WASN'T!! Arrived to be told the only room they could offer us was on the 1st floor overlooking a tacky tennis corn - ok if u looked sideways with a binocular glass u could see the pool but still, i specifically asked for a high floor overlooking the pool so we could absorb all the atmosphere of the pool parties etc. The manager wasn't available to speak to us as their was a pool party in place & she was busy so we agreed we would stay the 1st night in this crappy room. Following day we were moved to a better room but i had a bad taste in my mouth because of this lack of customer service from the previous evening. Anyway, to cut a long story short we had enjoyed our well deserved holiday (even tho for a Gay orientated Hotel - their wifi connection was crap, slow,etc) & in my opinion the Axel Beach lacks personality - yes the facilities are good but its quite a cold atmosphere - So maybe next Pride i'll do what everyone else seems to do & save money, sacrifice a bit of luxury and go for a 'cheapie' hotel.

Room Tip: Middle Hotel - higher rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blennerhassett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, I've seen that was resolved the next day.
We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.
We really appreciate your time and your opinion.
I hope to see you soon in Axel Beach Maspalomas or at one of our Axel Hotels around the world.
Yours Sincerely,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    406
    168
    63
    26
See reviews for
18
705
276
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
strasbourg
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just returned from this Axel where we stayed during the gay pride week.
We comme go bacl home on sunday 25th May.

Positives:
The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the Jumbo.
The apartment is nice, spacious and clean.
The views to the pool are beautiful.
The staff is very friendly.
Modern gym and well-equipped.
Masseurs and massage are good.
WIFI rooms is perfect, no break during the week.

We are very happy with all the entertainment around the pool all the week.
It is important to say that the externals speakers and DJ are excellent, as other events of gaypride ...

Negatives :
The pool and the jacuzzi are not hot.
The small steambath doesn't work.
WIFI at the pool is very bad.
Flowers missing in some flower pots are empty.

No security for your luggage, beware !
The last day, we left our luggage at the reception because our flight left in the evening.
We stayed all day at the pool because there was a big pool party (with possible access for everibody got tickets)
First, we were surprised because we don't receive a ticket for our 4 luggages.
Second things, In the evening when we wanted to get the our suitcases, we were surprised because it was moved to a other place! The receptionist accompanied us there and what a shock to see that the door of the reserve was wide open to everydody !
At this time the receptionist told us: "help yourself ..."
We could have taken other bags or somme bad people can steal ours during the day ..
This lack of security is a pity and management must change it urgently !

For the rest everything was OK for this week, and big thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pscsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Maspalomas. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are really near of Jumbo and your opinion about our location is very helpful for us, but specially for other Trip Advisor visitors.

We are happy you enjoyed our pool view room, our great massages and gym.
As you know, our staff is 24h free to solution any problem you have, nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

For your negatives comments, first of all thank you for your review and I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard to don´t have any other problems like this.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Brilliant stay here, the staff are the best I have met in any spanish hotel, even the house keepers are helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough to help. Pancho who works on the night shift is an absolute gent!
Fantastic location for the Yumbo, very gay crowd but chilled out and relaxed.
Only thing i didn't like was the bar food which was very overpriced and definately best to get a pool view room instead of street view but it was fantastic and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisI5970OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Maspalomas. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.
We hope to see you very soon,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Axel beach Maspalomas has one of the nicest pool bar in Gran Canaria: good music and nice people all day long. Sometimes you do not relly want to go out.
Rooms might need to be refurbished but they are more than OK. There is a kitchen, but we have never used it :)
The staff make this place a special place, always helpful and available.
The quality of the wifi is quite low, but this is common to all the places on Gran Canaria.
The restaurant is probably one of the best in Maspalomas, even though they do not have such a big choice. I really suggest to have snack there and avoid the Jumbo centre.
There is also a small spa and a fitness centre, but I have not tried them
I have already been there 3 times and looking forward for the 4th.
I have not been in either Axel Berlin nor Axel Barcelona, so I cannot compare.
Dxxxx xxxxx xxxxxx xxxxx

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gattopippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects.
Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels.
Kind Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel was just great, not a single bad thing to say about it, and its so close to the yumbo centre too, could easy stumble back at 5am and not have a problem, staff were great, pool was great, everything just great, going to go again in august, I hope :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
I'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for coming!!
Best Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and we just loved the property! it is exactly as shown on the pictures and the perfectly described in the website. It is definitely paradise... the pool, the garden, lovely staff! Near to yumbo.
Everyting was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects.

Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms bright and cool. The swimming pool is the highlight. A very relaxing and friendly area with drinks and food services during the day time. The staff was excellent, helpfull and sympha. It's a surprise in the island, definitely i will return at Axel Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
i'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for comming!!

Best Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,379 reviews
28.3 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
676 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Property: AxelBeach Maspalomas
Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing