We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lufhansa Colour Scheme, Well run, Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I agree with all the positive comments others have written. All the staff we met from reception to cleaners are exceptional and a credit to Axel group.


Updating from previous guests concerns/problems. We had no problems with free wifi (from 4th floor or the pool ) You will need to go to reception for another code after 5 days.

Axel have obviously taken on board previous remarks and are continuously improving the experience for guests so you have nothing to worry about now, I would like to add the following suggestions however:-

1-Although music around the pool is relaxing and enjoyable, the volume should be reduced especially after dark when everyone has left the pool area and wish to have a sleep before heading out in the evening to the yumbo centre. We were on the 4th floor and we had to close the balcony door and window to block the volume.Even ear plugs if i wanted to sleep before Yumbo fun.

2-Although i can tolerate a cold pool, in jan-feb it was freezing as unheated-probably 17 Celsius . heating it for a few months to a tolerable temp would make a world of difference. We did however do a Nordic tradition and boil in the steam room and then swim for a few minutes which was refreshing especially if you have a hang over from the night before.

3-A welcome information leaflet in the room would be appreciated. I did not know we had to get a key to operate the safe at $2 euros a day. Also helpful information like using/updating wifi codes, nearest supermarket, car hire, opening times of axel restaurant, gym, sauna, restaurant recommendations,

4-Also as apartments are self catering, it would be less wastage to the environment if there is an area where previous guests can leave items such as olive oil, peppers which is unused for future guests rather than throw it the bin on the last day.

Finally,
tip 1-We gave a tip to our cleaner as she was exceptional. Be nice as well!

tip 2- taxis to hotel from airport cost about $38 euros. BUS's 66 and 90 from departures level at airport cost $3.50 euros to yumbo centre. Bus 66 slightly faster as only one stop enroute. 30 mins.

Room Tip: not a room but how to get here: taxis to hotel from airport cost about $38 euros. BUS's 66 and...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert-Chiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Robert,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
To AxelBeach Maspalomas customer's opinion is the most important. We work every day to meet the demands of our customers.

Hope to see you again,

Best regards,
Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
There are newer reviews for AxelBeach Maspalomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is self labeled as, "Hetero-Friendly", which we found to mean mostly gay, with some hip/trendy straight guests as well. However, unlike so many other gay only hotels, this property was in excellent condition, and very professionally managed. Rooms are recently renovated, and are all 2 room suites with full full kitchen, and balcony, along with a modern bathroom. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Steam room, sauna, whirlpool, and pool were all meticulous. Bar staff were exceptional, offering drinks and snacks poolside all afternoon. I also recommend you consider upgrading to a poolside room, where your balcony has significant more value than the street side facing rooms do. Also, this hotel is perfectly located 5 min walk to the Yumbo Center, but yet not so close as to have noise associated from it's nightlife. I recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to a poolside room to avoid street noise, and thereby be better able to enj...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2GuysTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank the time have to write your comments tmado your last stay in Maspalomas AxelBeach.

We are pleased that everything was to your liking. I will pass your congratulations to the whole team, especially to the Bar staff..


Hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Regards,
Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for a week in the middle of January and were very happy with Axel Beach. The rooms were very clean and kept so each day. The location is great and even though we had a room overlooking the road it was quiet.
We had previously stayed at the Axel Berlin which we were very disappointed with so were very happy with this new addition to the Axel group.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for opinion.
The customer´s feedback is very important to us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in AxelBeach Maspalomas and we hope to see you on your next visit to the island.

Best regards,

Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the axel for one week from 18th of january The staff were very polite and friendly . The breakfast was good and the rooms very clean and well equiped.the steam and sauna was an added bonus where you can relax after a day on the beach.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank shonk1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your last stay at AXELBEACH MASPALOMAS. WE all work very hard to make the most of your Axel experience.

We hope to see you again soon,

Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel has been refurbed and despite clearly being an old resort the rooms are clean nice, not as nice as Axel Barcelona but for the price could not fault it. Pool view rooms are worth the extra as the others face a busy street, The staff were all friendly. Breakfast are good value. Only thing I could fault was that my "king bed" consisted of two single beds pushed together, only to find out on my last night that some rooms have proper king beds. Literally minutes to the Yumbo but a fair walk to Las Dunas and the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

The time to write your comments about your last stay in Maspalomas We thank the AxelBeach been taken.
We are pleased that everything was to your liking.

Kind regards

Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A great, gay friendly resort in a good location (for the Yumbo) Well managed with excellent facilities & a very cute receptionist (Alejandro es guapo). Modern & comfortable accomodation. Try the breakfast & use the gym but don't jump in the pool unless you're a penguin! Best for friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roccosdad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. In AxelBeach Maspalomas customer satisfaction is our main goal.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to the island,
Regards

Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here 6-13th January and found the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. I agree with previous reviews regarding a poor paint job on the rooms, but the beds are the most comfortable I have stayed at in Playa Del Ingles, however extra pillows would be a good addition along with 2 blankets not just 1. It was chilly during January this year and the 1 blanket provided was only big enough for 1 person. The kitchen requires some attention as the equipment provided is not sufficient. There are no sharp knives or scissors. Sky TV is a great addition as it rained all day on wednesday so British TV was welcomed (not that I go on holiday to watch TV). Great location for the Yumbo Centre. The pool area is the best feature of this hotel and the cafe bar gives a relaxed chilled atmosphere. Suggestion would be that the service is provided around the pool as when ordering drinks etc at the bar they ask where you sitting for them to bring drinks over. It is almost impossible to give an exact location but they managed to find me. For 8 euros a cocktail it would be advisable that staff take orders at my lounger. The wifi is unreliable but its free and I found it acceptable. Street view rooms are adequate, however going on the balcony it is noisy from the traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXELBEACH M, Director de Recepción at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion of your last stay in Maspalomas AXELBEACH.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and inform you that we are already working to improve all those things that require it.
Hope to see you soon,

Receive a greeting

Natascha von Enzberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,794 reviews
28.3 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $76 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing