We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option for Plya del Ingles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AxelBeach Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great option for Plya del Ingles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Apartments have been renovated to a very high standard, but if you are expecting the same high end experience as you would at Axel BCN or the former Axel BAires then you might be disappointed. I love it though. The bed was very comfortable, Kitchen more than adequate for a holiday and the bathroom had plenty of hot water. Cleaning staff did an excellent job.

Pool area is lovely with plenty of spaces to catch some sun or just chill out.

All the staff were great, friendly, helpful and chatty. Just like in the other Axel Hotels.

The only negative was the wifi which was constantly cutting out.

I would recommend Axel to a friend and I would go back again.

Room Tip: street side rooms are cheaper and have the sun in the late afternoon or evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AaroninDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinion and thank you for staying with us!!
We are so happy that you had a good experience with us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    360
    153
    59
    27
See reviews for
15
607
246
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Axel Beach after staying previously at Axel Hotel Barcelona. The Barcelona hotel has quite a difference between standard and upgraded rooms (never book a cheap room there!) so we paid extra for a pool view this time. The rooms are the same on both sides of the hotel but the cheaper rooms face the busy main road (less of a problem if you keep your windows closed and use the air-con). We asked for a high floor and the put us on the top which had good views over playa del ingles and you can see the see in the distance.

The hotel opened in May this year. It was previously Liberty Apartments and they have refurbished the rooms to a reasonable standard. Not very posh but comfortable. The bed was king size and very comfortable with a really good, clean mattress. Kitchenette in each room with bare basics. Fridge, 2 hobs, microwave, kettle, coffee maker and toaster. Air conditioning was good and with BBC1, BBC2 and ITV channels on TV.

Outside is the best bit of the hotel we thought - they have done a great job of the gardens, around the pool and bar, with relaxing Ibiza style chill out music playing all day, and they had a DJ on Saturday and Sunday, though I think they have had some bigger pool parties earlier on in the year. Food at the 'sky bar' (which is by the pool, not on the roof!) was good and so was the service. Continental breakfast ok, but if you like full English, definitely not worth 12 euro. Head to Buddies bar in the Yumbo (which is only a 3 minute walk) instead. Would recommend room only as the quality of restaurants around is much better than it used to be and you can order food when it suits anyway.

The staff on reception were really friendly and helpful, which is much better than Axel Barcelona! Thanks for a good holiday Axel Beach we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and pay for a pool view if you can afford it. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigelbarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for considerer us a hotel with class in Playa del Ingles or Maspalomas.
Thank you, also, for staying with us. I am going to share your opinion with all my staff.
Thank you and thank you
Hope to see you soon with us again.
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was our first visit in Axel. We've been several times in GC before in some more expensive but as well cheaper hotels. We really hoped this hotel will be our regular place to stay for the next visits. But..let's start with positives:
- When we arrived we've been welcome by nice staff then we've got our room and everything was as we requested (pool side, double bed)
- Nice food (salads etc.)
- Very friendly staff at the pool (especially one girl - sorry don't remember the name)
- Rooms cleaned everyday (great staff)
Now things which disappointed us:
- Wi-Fi terrible (probably worst I ever came across even in GC)
- Plenty of sun beds not in the best condition
- Sauna not too warm (plenty of holes all over the place letting heat goes out)
- Nice SkyBar however every evening almost completely empty (I understand it's close to Yumbo however better promotion whithin hotel will definitely keep more people in)
All of this would be completly fine and we even decided to go back there next year..until all troubles we had in the last day:
- Hotel promoting himself that there is possibility of late check out at 4pm (our flight was in the evening) However when we asked in reception we've been told that hotel is fully booked and unfortunately we need to check out at 12 and the we can stay at the pool and take shower near by (it was Saturday and there was pool party and I can't imagine you are going near by sauna to take a shower and fix yourself going to the airport). Then we asked another staff about late check out and we've got same answer that hotel is fully booked. In the same day (Friday evening) I went online to check availability and I was very surprised to find over 10 free rooms! What I did I booked myself online for one more night (€79) just to stay in the room until 3.30pm! When I spoke with other guys in the hotel I've been told that they've been offered late check out (first hour free / any additional €10). When I asked reception why I wasn't offer something similar and been forced to book one more night again I've heard that hotel was fully booked. It was just ridiculous but I didn't want to argue much as at the end of the day it was my holiday and I wouldn't win anyway.
This situation with addition of other things made our decision to not come back there anymore! Or maybe management of the hotel will try to explain me this situation and try to change my mind. But from my expirience over there looks like no one cares!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ruffjarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion, and thank you for staying with us during your last stay at Gran Canaria.
About your comments, we really want to apologize to you if you had bad experience with us.
Hope you can give us another oportunity.
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Whilst a regular visitor to Axel hotels (Barcelona, in the suite) and have normally been impressed, I was let down on this visit. I asked for a double bed when I booked, only to find 2 single beds pushed together. Reception were helpful and said we could change the next day, only to call back 10 minutes later to say this was not possible and to ask again the next day. The next day came and still no change. The hotel and rooms are ok though not as nice as Bcn, service (except for the bed situation) is very good with friendly staff. The wifi is terrible (absolutely ridiculous for 2013), cuts out constantly. Tv shows bbc and itv if your interested. Good central location. For the money axel charge, I have an expectation of them, and this time I have been let down. Will probably stay in the Cram in Bcn in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your opinion.
We would like to apologize about the Wifi Connection. Also, about the two beds, usually is on request and if its available depending our ocupation.
Thank you and hope to see you again
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

First time staying at Axel Beach Hotel but certainly not the last. Having stayed in a number of hotels in Maspalomas over the years I can certainly say Axel Beach gets my vote for professional friendly service, lovely clean well equipped but small apartments, great pool area and excellent Sky Bar and restaurant.

Great value for moment in a lovely safe environment. If I were to be critical in any way it would be about the Saturday pool party, which I am sure is a great money spinner for the hotel, were the pool area s taken over but the local heterosexuals changing the whole environment of the hotel and a little uncomfortable for some residences who felt alienated from the pool and sky Bar for the duration of the party.

However, with the exception of the pool party an excellent holiday made all the better by the friendly staff and facilities of the Axel Beach Hotel - I'll definitely stay here again and would be happy to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room to truly appreciate this hotel and to watch over the pool and the comings and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great opinión and thank you for staying with us.
About the pool party every pool party it´s different and have a different PPRR, so hope you can enjoy another one you will like it. I am so sorry!
Thank you and hope see you son
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This review is a bit late but the Axel Beach Appartments deserve a gr8 review.
We had stayed here when it was Liberty and if you have you will notice a HUGE difference. The Axel company have spent money on the refurb and now has a proper welcoming entrance at the back instead of on the main road.
The grounds have all been put to good use with extra places to sit, lie and chill out.
The reception staff at the hotel were totally amazing and made us feel so welcome and would happily do anything for you that you need. The cleaning staff are top class. Rooms cleaned every day, towels and bedding changed (even dishes done!)
The food at the sky bar at night is amazing and great faule for money (15euros for 3 course meal)
The rooms have been repainted and have flat screen tv's which make a huge difference.
I would and have reccomended Axel to friends! The hotel is adults only and has a very relaxed atmosphere but they also have pool parties with gr8 DJ's.
The mini bar in the room is great help when you want a drink b4 going out or when you get in after a night out.!!

Just want to say a MASSIVE thank you to all the staff here as you are all great and do an amazing job and I look forward to returning!! I have also already emailed the hotel when I got home to thank everyone and got a lovely email back..!!
Again THANK YOU x

Room Tip: I would defo get a pool side room for the view. It's alot quieterat night time but well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great and positive opinión!
I am going to share it with all my staff and we are really happy that you enjoy your last stay in Gran Canaria with us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Have used the liberty apartments for many years. The new Axel is now even better . The staff are all fantastic
With no exceptions. Clean rooms and free wifi ,aircondition working well.
Although I didn't see the point of having drinks in fridge on arrival ,some visitors may welcome it.
I will be back next year .

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinión and for considerer to come back again with us!
We love it!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Property: AxelBeach Maspalomas
Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing